We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Place”
other travellers have booked this property
Garrique Cottage  surrounded by wild cherry trees in May.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garrique Cottage  surrounded by wild cherry trees in May.
South and west facing decking leading out of dining area, overlooking private cottage garden. Sitting room, with TV, books, board games etc, and view to the mountains
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Garrique Cottage  surrounded by wild cherry trees in May.
South and west facing decking leading out of dining area, overlooking private cottage garden.
Sitting room, with TV, books, board games etc, and view to the mountains
kitchen with electric oven, 5 burner gas hob etc, looking across to the dining and lounging area.
looking across the dining table to the sun deck and garden.
Double bedroom, can be ensuite with shower room. Plenty of space for a cot or spare bed (provided).
Shower room,   Can be ensuite with double bedroom  with super King Size bed.
Twin bedroom. Beds can be pushed together if requested. Close to family bathroom.
young visitors enjoy the tennis court
Ever changing skies over the mountain view from the sitting room, cows grazing in the foreground.
Garrique Cottage from the north, looking across the drive. Private parking on left of the cottage.
Another fabulous sunset as seen from the cottage. J M W Turner eat your heart out!
Garrique hens enjoying the spring sunshine
View of cattle in the farm fields from the double bedroom
Garrique bluebell woods in May.
Curling on Lake of Menteith in winter
view from sitting room on a snowy winter day
Highland cattle wintering in Garrique fields
Toboganning in field beside Garrique Cottage.
Spectacular  sunset over the woods.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kippen, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
marjenmar...
durham
2 reviews
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

7 of us just stayed at Garrique Cottage for my mothers 60 birthday and we can't recommend it enough. The place is even better than the photos show. The views are extensive and extremely beautiful. We had our 3 year old son with us and he had a wonderful time playing in the garden and exploring the stream and pond.

The cottage was extremely well located for days out and we visited Blair Drummond Safari Park (excellent), Blair Castle Highland Games, Stirling, Falkirk Wheel, Lake of Menteith and my parents even ventured to Skye.

There are also a number of good walks from the cottage and I ventured onto the hills behind the cottage where you get an even better view of the area, including 6 different Lochs/Lakes.

The cottage itself is very spacious and very well equipped and we used the sitting room as a 4th bedroom as the lounge diner is sufficient as a sitting room.

We would highly recommend this cottage.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you all here, and to see you enjoying the tennis court. Also to see your mother relaxing for hours looking out at the changing views of the mountains. Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola S
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in idyllic location”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Highly recommend this cottage, home from home.
Beautiful quiet location, extremely friendly and helpful owners.
Would recommend Gargunnock Inn for food, and a visit to the Wallace Monument is a must.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, thank you Fiona

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HazelK82
West Linton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous - perfect place to relax and get away from it all and the views - WOW”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just spent another Easter week at Garrique. It is a great place and the cottage has everything you could need. The views are stunning and lovely walks from the cottage. The tennis court is great and the kids loved it and the family tournaments were hysterical with all our different levels of ability. There is lots to do in the area with Loch Lomond and Callander not far away. We hope to be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2015
Thank you. We loved having you all back again, enjoying the cottage, garden and tennis court.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVPharm
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything we hoped and more”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Great place to stay and rest(although we didnt rest too much) Garrique was our home base for trips to Edinburgh,Glasgow,Glencoe,Ben Nevis,St Andrews,Sterling and the list goes on.
The home(cottage) is very clean, very well appointed,very roomy and very inviting. The location is picturesque,like out of a painting. The morning views of the Trossachs with the cows,sheep etc and the mist were exceptional.We found it easy to get to the areas of Scotland we most wanted to visit. The furthest destination around 2 hrs away. I hope to return to Scotland and Garrique cottage someday soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location/views and amount of space
Liked least: liked it all
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovingday...
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Home from Home”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Our family of Mum and Dad and five children (3-17) had a wonderful week in Garrique Cottage. Having read previous reviews and having seen some beautiful pictures of the cottage and its surroundings on the internet, we had high expectations. We were not disappointed. We would all love to live in this cottage all year round! It is comfortable, spacious and homely, equipped to a high standard with all you need and more. We loved the tranquillity of the area and had some wonderful walks, soaking up the sunshine and enjoying the autumn colours. The woods around La Garrique are a great mix of evergreen and broadleaved trees and the garden around the cottage has lovely trees and shrubs in it too. The owners were ever so friendly and helpful.
Garrique Cottage is a wonderful place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the cottage combined with the amazing views.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Woodbridge, United Kindom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Hidden Haven”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Garrique Cottage is everything you could wish for. Wonderful views, spacious cottage, helpful and generous hosts. There is everything you need within the cottage to make your stay special and memorable. Located in easy reach of Stirling, Perth and the Trossachs. Good pubs in Gargunnock and Kippen each providing wholesome food at sensible prices. Would not hesitate to recommend the cottage and the surrounding area to family and friends Excellent value. .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Escape from the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a wonderful, relaxing week at Garrique Cottage. What a stunning setting! The cottage is in a beautiful, peaceful location, surrounded by fields and woodland. We were delighted to see deer, hares and a wide variety of birds and butterflies in the garden.

The cottage is spacious and comfortable, furnished and equipped to a high standard. The kitchen/family room is delightfully sunny, light and airy, while the sitting room, with it's comfortable sofas and window seat, offers a cosy, homely place to relax and enjoy the stunning views and spectacular sunsets.

Fiona and Nander made us feel very welcome and we particularly appreciated the little touches such as fresh flowers, free range eggs and toiletries. Use of the tennis court, with its scenic views, was an added bonus.

All in all the cottage offers the best of both worlds - a relaxing haven with easy access to Stirling, Loch Lomond and a host of day trips. If you want to stay closer to home there are some very enjoyable walks from the cottage and a good selection of cafes, shops and pubs in the surrounding villages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The access road to the cottage is a bit rough and probably not suitable to vehicles with low suspension
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing