We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful family easter getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Garrique Cottage  surrounded by wild cherry trees in May.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garrique Cottage  surrounded by wild cherry trees in May.
South and west facing decking leading out of dining area, overlooking private cottage garden. Sitting room, with TV, books, board games etc, and view to the mountains
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Garrique Cottage  surrounded by wild cherry trees in May.
South and west facing decking leading out of dining area, overlooking private cottage garden.
Sitting room, with TV, books, board games etc, and view to the mountains
kitchen with electric oven, 5 burner gas hob etc, looking across to the dining and lounging area.
looking across the dining table to the sun deck and garden.
Double bedroom, can be ensuite with shower room. Plenty of space for a cot or spare bed (provided).
Shower room,   Can be ensuite with double bedroom  with super King Size bed.
Twin bedroom. Beds can be pushed together if requested. Close to family bathroom.
young visitors enjoy the tennis court
Ever changing skies over the mountain view from the sitting room, cows grazing in the foreground.
Garrique Cottage from the north, looking across the drive. Private parking on left of the cottage.
Another fabulous sunset as seen from the cottage. J M W Turner eat your heart out!
Garrique hens enjoying the spring sunshine
View of cattle in the farm fields from the double bedroom
Garrique bluebell woods in May.
Curling on Lake of Menteith in winter
view from sitting room on a snowy winter day
Highland cattle wintering in Garrique fields
Toboganning in field beside Garrique Cottage.
Spectacular  sunset over the woods.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kippen, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
_family_a...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful family easter getaway”
Reviewed 28 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a fantastic week here with our children this Easter. Overlooking ‘Loch Lomand and The Trossach’s National Park’, the cottage has an enviable position perched on the edge of the hill with views across the valley – the sunsets are simply stunning. Perfectly positioned for a mix of solitude and culture; it is just a stones throw away from Stirling with its impressive castle and quaint streets and equidistance from both Glasgow and Edinburgh if shops, restaurants and museums are your thing. We however, found no desire to leave the vicinity. You can walk in the mountains or through the forest direct from the door. There is a tennis court to use if you want to be even more energetic and plenty of trails to cycle along. The cottage itself was spacious and airy and brilliantly well equipped. With a large open plan kitchen and living area and a separate lounge for when the children wanted a bit of independence. The hosts were welcoming and happy to advise on activities and local walks. We have arrived home totally exhausted having had the most wonderful week and already planning our return visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2017
Thank you very much for your positive review. We loved having you here with your lively boys, and hearing about your treks up to the Spout of Ballochleam and to the summit of Ben An, and we are delighted you enjoyed some spectacular sunsets. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eileenbud...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful Rural Haven”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We've been coming here as a family for 11 years and I love it. It's peaceful, quite, homely and a real haven nestled in the hills and forest.

The log fire in the living room is welcome to comeback to after a good walk around the surrounding hills. The owners very kindly let us let us use our Archery gear in an empty field, which was greatly appreciated.

There's a great variety of birds and wildlife to be spotted at the back of the cottage, and wonderful views at the front.

Enjoy!

Eileen

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for your generous comments. It has been fun to see you so frequently over the years and see you all enjoying yourselves together. Hopefully you have enjoyed the changes we've made to the cottage over that time, notably the decking overlooking the garden. We look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archer23f...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“On target holiday”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A brilliant peaceful quiet cottage with amazing views of beautiful hills and Forrest. Excellent walking and dense Scottish forests immediately behind and a lovely dell and miniature valley behind the cottage to explore.
We were kindly allowed to practice archery in the adjacent fields using our own equipment which was a superb addition to the visit. We went walking up through the forest to the base of the base of the hills' massif where you get a great sunset and dramatic long shadows cast through the farmland far below as the sun sets. It's super quiet - you have a log burning fire in the main sitting room and sunny decking out the back.
This place is straight-up awesome and it's the third time I've been in 2 years. I'll keep coming back - even if I bought a place nearby I'd pop over here ;-)
Fiona and owners are great by the way. Book in confidence. M

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for your comments. It is lovely to have guests who appreciate the countryside so much and who are so knowledgeable about it. I am glad you saw as many different birds as before and also sighted a red squirrel and a roe deer. Come back soon, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HazelK82
West Linton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage, perfect setting”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was our 3rd visit to Garrique Cottage. The living/kitchen area with the decking outside is perfect for family living/dining. Well equipped throughout. The kids particularly love the tennis court and tell everyone about the amazing views. Owners are friendly and helpful. Kippen has great pubs and local shop where you can get anything. We will definitely be back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
It was great to see you all again. It is lovely to hear the young enjoying the tennis court, and to see you all going out on your bikes. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger D
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pastoral respite - view of the Trossachs”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We spent a week of our 3 week visit to Scotland in this secluded cottage just off the beaten path between Stirling and Loch Lomond. The cottage is well equipped, the rooms are spacious, and views from the living room and back bedroom are unbelievable. It makes one want to get up early to see the sun rise on the Trossachs and be out late to see the setting sun over the Gargannock Ridge. There are ample opportunities to hike through the woods, over the pastures, and along rock walled lanes. this cottage is centrally located for day trips to Glasgow, Stirling Castle & battlefields, the Fallkirk Wheel, Loch Lomond, and trips into the Trossachs National Park. Fiona was a wonderful host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location!
Liked least: no dislikes - full fridge and a undercabinet fridge for day to day use. Deck off the family room was fabulous, the large windows added brightness to the family room and the living room was an intimate space to relax and share our daily activities.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We love getting visitors from around the world, and sharing a bit of Scotland with them. Come back soon. Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, Alabama
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Nov 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely review. Come back soon. Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for visiting us. It was the worst weekend for weather we have had for a long time, but you always looked as if you were having fun. Great to see the tennis court in use, and to know you explored the woods. Come back soon, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing