We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and a lovely position”
Review of The Harbour Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Harbour Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Bowmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and a lovely position”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here during the whisky festival and really enjoyed it. Our room was one of the larger ones which was lovely, but there are some smaller ones without a shower (bath only). The building is old and doesn't have standard size rooms, which is part of its charm, but you should probably ask in advance for details of the room you are booking.

The food was expensive but excellent, and the view over the harbour from the restaurant is beautiful, especially during the long summer evenings!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATI_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    50
    14
    13
    11
See reviews for
22
99
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
wachtebeke
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Very beautiful and luxurious rooms, friendly owners and staff!
The price is pretty high, but it's really worth it!
Also the restaurant is excellent!
We will definitely go back to eat next year!
Islay is such a lovely Island, there do you want to always go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolineWachtebeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Had a lovely overnight stay, nice room,comfortable,big bath with great shower. Breakfast was excellent, large menu selection. The Hotel is just along the road from the Bowmore distillery, so didn't even have to drive after doing a tour and whisky tasting there!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betty3ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Just back from a mid week stay in superior room 6, wonderful location, great double, almost a suite and with its own large terrace with views across the harbour and bay. Staff all very friendly, especially Bizz. Great food in both restaurant and Schooner bar. Large portions so unless very hungry opt for 2 starters.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Beer great, local Islay ales but not willing to serve restaurant starter in bar for vegetarian. They claim imaginative vegetarian food but on our visit this was not the case. Left and went round the corner to Lochside Hotel.

Room Tip: Only tried to eat in bar, had a beer but did not stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Our first night in Scotland was at the Harbour Inn. We flew into Glasgow and drove to Kennacraig, where we caught the ferry to Port Ellen, not far from Bowmore. It was 8:30 in the evening before we checked in, but we had the first of several wonderful meals in the dining room of the Harbour Inn before we retired to a restful sleep. In the morning, we awoke to a charming view of the harbor, followed by what I must describe as a terrific shower. Really. It was remarkable. And breakfast was delicious. Don't let anyone tell you that you can't get great food in Scotland (someone tried to tell us, and it's just wrong, based on what we had at the Harbour Inn and other places).

Room Tip: We took 3 of the rooms, and each was quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kidadaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We experienced a warm welcome from beginning to end. Our room was large and comfortably furnished with a spectacular view across the bay. The bathroom was spacious and well stocked although we were unable to avoid getting the floor soaked each time we had a shower. Breakfasts were varied and huge as the staff were always prepared to provide what we wanted and how we wanted it prepared, setting us up well for the rest of the day. For our one meal in the restaurant, we found the menu, once again to be varied and locally sourced including veggies from a local centre which we had visited. We inevitably ended up the Schooner Bar most days where we enjoyed the flexibility of either having just a drink or a snack meal. Locals also having a drink there were friendly with plenty of banter taking place. The staff are to be commended for attention to detail as well as finding solutions to unusual requests; in our case, by allowing us to keep our cycles securely in the hotel van. A great overall experience in terms of the accommodation, location and service from staff; would have no hesitation in returning again

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have excellent view across the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowmore
2.3 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
27 reviews
3.7 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowmore
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
370 reviews
2.5 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
128 reviews
5.2 mi away
Glenegedale Guest House
Glenegedale Guest House
#1 of 1 in Glenegedale
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Inn

Property: The Harbour Inn
Address: The Square | Isle of Islay, Bowmore PA43 7JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Bowmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bowmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the incomparable loveliness of the Inner Hebrides - visit ISLAY – a destination for all seasons. Let the loveliness of this beautiful island wash over you – and experience the special atmosphere that is part of Islay's heritage – “Islay and its goodbye to care“ Whatever the weather and whatever the time of year, there is always the added attraction to Islay that comes from visiting an island – the feeling that you are cut off from the rest of the world – yet , it's much closer than you can imagine.And here, at The Harbour Inn Hotel and Restaurant, we hope to be part of that overall experience – offering superb accommodation, high quality award winning food and excellent service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel Bowmore
The Harbour Inn Bowmore, Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing