We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless, wonderful experience”
Review of The Harbour Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Harbour Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Bowmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Faultless, wonderful experience”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed for one night at the Harbour Inn during the very busy Islay Feis Festival and the entire experience was faultless and just wonderful.

From a warm Islay-style welcome to friendly serving staff, excellent, locally sourced food in the dining room which overlooks the loch to great whisky. It was an exceptional experience.

Our room was perfect, we enjoyed a great nights sleep in a very comfortable bed and a memorable Scottish breakfast the following morning.

We'll be back soon for sure! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSL400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    51
    15
    13
    11
See reviews for
23
103
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a drink and some food. The staff providing a beer an G n T took so long, it should have prepared us for the general appalling service to follow.
Menus were virtually thrown on to the table beside us! We opted for a chowder and a plate of haggis with fried egg. The chowder was poor; potato and leek but lacking any smoked fish flavour; and it has be said it could have easily have been mistaken for a child's portion. 5 and a half quid? Seriously?

Similarly, to serve a thin slice of haggis topped with an egg (albeit avery nice egg) and a few salad leaves - and ask for £7.50 for this is, frankly, outrageous.
When I requested the bill, I was surprised at the severity. When I queried it I was told she had charged for a bottle rather than a glass of wine. No apology was given.
Would certainly not visit again, neither would I would I recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Broadhug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Harbour Inn and enjoyed the experience very much. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant was varied and tasty. We had room 6 which led out onto a patio with a view of the harbour and unlike a previous reviewer found it charming, but then WE did not go to the beautiful island of Islay looking for a five star hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for good service, good ingredients well cooked and a clean and comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: Room 6 is great not large but a view of the harbour. The shower is great with lots of piping hot wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magifood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at the Harbour Inn at the end of August and although our stay was pleasant it lacked the 'wow' factor! Our room in the Inn Over By was small for the price and the decor was fairly basic. We enjoyed the breakfast selection and afternoon tea. Evening meals were generally well cooked, but nothing special. The best meal during our stay was a fish curry, eaten in the bar. The highlight of the Inn is probably the whisky bar, which has an amazing selection of malts and bar staff who were ken to make recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 75AT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 5 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here during the whisky festival and really enjoyed it. Our room was one of the larger ones which was lovely, but there are some smaller ones without a shower (bath only). The building is old and doesn't have standard size rooms, which is part of its charm, but you should probably ask in advance for details of the room you are booking.

The food was expensive but excellent, and the view over the harbour from the restaurant is beautiful, especially during the long summer evenings!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATI_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wachtebeke
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Very beautiful and luxurious rooms, friendly owners and staff!
The price is pretty high, but it's really worth it!
Also the restaurant is excellent!
We will definitely go back to eat next year!
Islay is such a lovely Island, there do you want to always go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolineWachtebeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Had a lovely overnight stay, nice room,comfortable,big bath with great shower. Breakfast was excellent, large menu selection. The Hotel is just along the road from the Bowmore distillery, so didn't even have to drive after doing a tour and whisky tasting there!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betty3ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowmore
2.3 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bowmore House
The Bowmore House
#1 of 13 in Bowmore
312 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dha Urlar Bed and Breakfast
9.5 mi away
No.1 Charlotte Street
No.1 Charlotte Street
#16 of 17 in Port Ellen
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
An Cuan
An Cuan
#11 of 13 in Bowmore
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Inn

Property: The Harbour Inn
Address: The Square | Isle of Islay, Bowmore PA43 7JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Bowmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bowmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the incomparable loveliness of the Inner Hebrides - visit ISLAY – a destination for all seasons. Let the loveliness of this beautiful island wash over you – and experience the special atmosphere that is part of Islay's heritage – “Islay and its goodbye to care“ Whatever the weather and whatever the time of year, there is always the added attraction to Islay that comes from visiting an island – the feeling that you are cut off from the rest of the world – yet , it's much closer than you can imagine.And here, at The Harbour Inn Hotel and Restaurant, we hope to be part of that overall experience – offering superb accommodation, high quality award winning food and excellent service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel Bowmore
The Harbour Inn Bowmore, Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing