We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inns by the Loch
Ranked #10 of 13 Bowmore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed in The Inns by the Loch for 5 nights. We enjoyed our stay very much. Carol and Neil are very helpful and welcoming hosts. The room is very nice and tasteful decorated. very nice view over Loch Indaal.The Breakfast is very good.
The place for the Bed and breakfast is perfect. It is in the center of Islay.
It is a very nice island to visit, the distances are small and there are many different things to see.
We highly recommend this place

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sandpiper, it was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 189515Christensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
776Carol, Owner at The Inns by the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review. I recall how much energy you had to explore so many parts of Islay during your stay - and we enjoyed learning about your own island home in Denmark. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

This attractive hotel is right on the water, yet you might not find it if you didn't know it was there. Our room was spacious and elegant, with a great view of the loch. There is also a common room with nice furniture, large windows and more views, where you can sip a glass of wine or a wee dram. There are a number of good restaurants in the area, and the Bowmore Distillery is just down the road, within easy walking distance. As with all the hotels we visited in Scotland, breakfast was wonderful.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the water - it's beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cabdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
776Carol, Owner at The Inns by the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review. Yes, we are tucked privately away down here by the water yet close to the amenities of Bowmore. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

From the particularly welcoming welcome from Carol, to the spotless room, and well equipped bathroom, this was going to be a good, no, great experience and it was. the place has amazing views, right on a beach, ok the weather was perfect too! great service, nothing too much bother, booking meals in other places, providing advice and suggestions, always great recommendations. The breakfast was amazing, not often you have to consider the options on a breakfast menu, here you do. A terrific variety of dishes and delicious.
Just a great experience, lovely hosts, lovley place. Oh,and Islay is stunning too, just remember if you are driving to give a cheery wave to every car you pass, a really friendly tradition that sort of summed this wonderful island and B&B up.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny b B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
776Carol, Owner at The Inns by the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We very much appreciate your comments and were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay here at The Inns by the Loch, accompanied by such wonderful weather!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic B&B, with welcoming hosts and incredible breakfasts - I highly recommend the Islay style porridge. Great location for exploring the island, lovely rooms, and a relaxing guest lounge. We couldn't have asked for more. Will definitely stay again if we return to Islay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
776Carol, Owner at The Inns by the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

.... we look forward to welcoming you back - your special porridge awaits you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Inns for two nights on our first trip to Islay.
Everything about this place is perfect Our room was the Oyster Catcher and it is the largest, most luxurious room we have ever stayed in at a B&B. The bathroom was also a treat with a separate bath and shower.
We enjoyed excellent breakfasts around the large table chatting to the other guests.
Carol and Neil are welcoming and friendly without being intrusive. They will provide you with any information you need on the island, although there will already be a very useful folder in your room and in their lovely conservatory.
They also provided tables and chairs outside where you could enjoy the wonderful view.
Bowmore itself is a perfect base for visiting the island and I doubt if I could find a better place to stay than the Inns.
We will certainly return - not for the whiskey - but to enjoy a relaxing break in such comfortable surroundings.

Room Tip: Oyster Catcher had a wonderful view over the loch but I think another two rooms will have the same v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Li60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
776Carol, Owner at The Inns by the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

..... very many thanks for your review - we hope to welcome you back sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is absolutely One of the best places to stay on Islay! Neil and Carol Are such lovely hosts: always there to Give You everything You may Need to make the Most of your Holiday. Especially recommended is also a tour with Neil Who Takes you to the best places on Islay. We definetely wouldn't have Seen so much of the Island without ihm. And also very Special is the breakfast ( try the porridge Islay style!). We definetely won't stay anywhere else when we come back to Islay.

Room Tip: Guillemot is the biggest room and with a fully equipped kitchen, Most suitable for a Family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Heike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
776Carol, Owner at The Inns by the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Guillemot is proving a very popular venue this season and we are so pleased you enjoyed all it has to offer. We were also delighted to read how much you enjoyed your Discover Islay experience, as you say, a great way to see all those hidden Islay gems and learn more about this special island. We look very forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at The Inns by the Loch and were made very welcome on arrival. Our room "Sandpiper" was very comfortable and well appointed. I took photographs of a stunning sunset from our room window - amazing. Our breakfasts were first class and our hosts were happy to make bookings on our behalf for anything from evening meals to tours of the local distilleries. I would definitely recommend this as a comfortable place to base yourself for a stay on Islay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
776Carol, Owner at The Inns by the Loch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here at The Inns and we thank you for taking the time to post a review - so pleased too that you were able to enjoy one our very special Islay sunsets!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowmore
3.7 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
277 reviews
2.3 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bowmore
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bowmore House
The Bowmore House
#2 of 13 in Bowmore
314 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dha Urlar Bed and Breakfast
9.7 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inns by the Loch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inns by the Loch

Address: The Square, Bowmore PA43 7JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Bowmore
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bowmore
Price Range: £95 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the incomparable loveliness of the Inner Hebrides and experience the special atmosphere that is part of Islay’s heritage. Enviably situated in the heart of Bowmore, yet literally a step away from the shoreline of Loch Indaal, The Inns by the Loch offers the perfect environment where you can unwind and indulge your natural senses within the comfortable setting of first class accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inns By The Loch Bowmore, Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing