We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
176
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjim and carolineexcellent hoststaxi driverplaces to visitlocation is excellentlarge guest loungesingle bedwhisky marmaladepurpose built b bquality linencome homepotato sconeperfect spotbay windowfull scottish breakfastlocal knowledgequiet location
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here three nights and It was amazing. The b&b is in a beautiful place, surrounded by nature and peace, almost in the middle of Islay island: from here you can go everywhere - and most of all every distillery - in about 25 minutes. Jim and Caroline are fantastic hosts and make you feel at home. Last but not least: great scottish breakfast.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CroMa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

This purpose built B&B has three double bedrooms with well equipped ensuites and a communal sitting room. It is all immaculately clean but a little sole less. The proprietor and his Belgian wife serve a generous breakfast in a rather echoey kitchen and hall, each couple at a different table. They were friendly and helpful. If cleanliness and convenience are your top priorities this is the place for you.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We were two couples ( English, Scottish, German & Swiss mixture), when we booked we found it difficult to find what would suit us in the local area for a 2 night stay.
Dha Urlar came tops in terms of price, location, what's included as well as the TA rating.
We can tell you it was a well deserved rating!
When we arrived, we saw that it was a little bit out of town,and the buildings looked a bit weather stormed.
We pulled up and there was Jim, The Scottish sunshine shone through and we were immediately at home!
We stayed at the property next door to Jim & Caroline, modern, clean to a fault even by continental standards.
Jim recommended some local restaurants/pubs, which we booked via him to end our 2 day whisky tasting tour of Islay :D
We were happy with the recommendations and even got him to pick us up (he is also a taxi driver and they all know him in Bowmore)
Great hosts, great place, great views & great people.

Not sure what to add to this, other than, when we looked this was the best choice, we were not disappointed, we were more than happy to stay with you.

Thanks Jim & Caroline from all of us.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank J_Traveller_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

My wife and I stayed here for four days. There are two houses and we were accommodated in a lovely room in the owner's house.

Our room was very large with a large modern en-suite. There is a large king size bed which was very comfortable. The room had a two person sofa and a small table and chairs.

Very nice views over the countryside Lovely and clean with plenty of space to unpack. All the usual tea and coffee and bathroom accessories are provided as well as is Freeview TV but with quite a small screen. Wi-Fi available but was not too fast and on my phone kept dropping the signal.

Slightly inconveniently, as the weather wasn't great, we had to go to the other house for breakfast and to enjoy the common lounge area. Because of the wet, windy weather we didn't bother going to the common lounge in the evening.

Jim and Caroline were very welcoming with helpful suggestions for places to visit and eat at night..

Breakfasts were fine with plenty of choice. The cooked breakfasts were fine if a little greasy. Loved the black pudding but wondered why the black plastic was left on during cooking! I asked my wife who said her mother also left it on - I never have!

Would thoroughly recommend and return if ever back on Islay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NIRS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Jim and Caroline are perfect hosts. Caroline is quietly efficient while Jim is a larger than life character who knows all there needs to be known about Islay. He seems to know everyone. Certainly everyone knows him. A Glaswegian, ex Army, who has returned to the roots of his father, grand father et al.
The accommodation is split between their own house and a purpose built house next door with 4 en suite bedrooms, sitting room, dining room and kitchen where we all had breakfast. We had a large bedroom (in their house) with settee looking out over the countryside through a bay window. The en suite shower room was on the small side but perfectly adequate.
Breakfast was enormous, if that is what you wanted. Lots of fruit and cereals. Almost everything you would expect from a "full Scottish" - no haggis! All cooked by Jim.
Great holiday, in spite of the rain

Room Tip: Top of the range B&B in central Islay location
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews