We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally very good”
Review of Port Askaig Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Askaig
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Port Askaig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Askaig
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed for a few nights in the single room Staffa, the room and en-suite are perfectly comfortable but the view is of the adjacent car park, it you want a sea view take someone with you and get a double room! As a digression this hotel isn't alone in providing only adequate accommodation for single travellers but at least the WC was en-suite and not down the corridor.

The hotel is generally tired but it's homely and the staff are most welcoming. I couldn't understand an earlier reviewer's comment that the cheapest bar meal was £12.95, there were main courses available from £6.95 although the restaurant menu was dearer.

From my experiences of the west coast and islands I didn't expect any more or less, if you want TV, a mobile signal and wi-fi on demand everywhere you go then consider an alternative destination.

Room Tip: No view from the single room and I don't believe all the bigger rooms had views either, best to...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAG018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Port Askaig Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Only stayed for one night as I was on business, this is just a statment not a complaint there was no tv in the room iI was in and no mobile reception in the area perfect for me.The food is excellent and very fresh. I know as I watched the chef walk across the beer garden to the harbourside and order her scallops from a fisherman who was just going out. The staff and the owners are very welcoming and certainly very friendly. This hotel makes a pleasant change to the normal chain type. Would recommend this for a true Scottish experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had a wonderfuly meal and excellent evening at Port Askaig Hotel. Our friends, who had never been to Islay before were treated to a first class meal, especially the seafood which was beautifully fresh and well presented. Congratulations to all the staff and Marion and Ian who were as usual fantastic company.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank emcintosh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just spent 1 week ending 2nd of May in the apartment.The bedrooms and ensuites had been recently refurbished and were a very good standard.The views of the Paps of Jura from the windows were breathtaking. The apartment was lovely and warm and the meal we had at the hotel was very good. On the Saturday night a local folk group entertained us and they were excellent.All in all we had a very good holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam-Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. We were aware of the location, right opposite the ferry terminal which suited us. There is nothing else in Port Askaig apart from the store.
On arrival we were greeted by a nice lady who showed us to our room named Islay. The room was spacious and we believe newly decorated. The ensuite was newly refurbished and was a good size. The views were fab over to Jura. What let the room down for us were the carpet which needed replaced, light fittings that needed fixed and the lack of a tv. It was quite sparse and not very homely.
The hotel itself is being refurbished bit by bit. It's a shame that where you park is the dump for all of the old mattresses etc. This needs a proper tidy up. It's a mess.
The corridor was musty and the carpet needed replaced. It is an old building and repairs no doubt mount up very quickly. There were only us and another couple for one night.
There is a residents lounge with a tv. However this reminded us of a care home with armchairs in a circle! It has potential to be a charming oldie worldie room, the other furnishings are amazing! Little did we know that the sky tv also served the bar downstairs...whoops!
Our first night disappointed us. We had booked dinner and expected it to be served in the bistro. No one was about. The table wasn't set. No wine list. No candle. No atmosphere. The menu was very poor and our dinner really disappointed us. We expected more after what we had read on the website. We ate in the snug bar on our last night. It was more homely.
Breakfast was distinctly average. I had mushrooms one morning which were like cardboard. My husband had a morning roll which was the same sesame bun he had with his burger the night before. Not a lovely Scotch roll!
The good points? The craic we had in the bar on our second night, the drinks selection in the bar, the nice barmaids and the new barman, the view from our room, the cleanliness of the room, the useful tourist info, the size of our room, the lovely owners and their 2 dogs. This place has such potential to be somewhere amazing and we appreciate that the redevelopment of the harbour and economy have impacted on them. We wish them all of the best with the future as when all of the work is done it will be amazing and it will be a fine place to stay.


  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alicat789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stopped here for lunch and despite looking a bit tired from the outside inside is full of old world pub charm. The food was delicious we had fish and chips which was extremely fresh and good size portion not enormous and the Cullen skink was also delicious. Worth a stop if you are hungry.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pitman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My work booked us this hotel "THANKFULLY" as i wouldnt have stayed.
Why is there NO Tv in room STAFFA ???
Very poor wi-fi to add and my wash hand basin was too small.
Went down to see the bar meals menu. Shock horror!! The cheapest meal was £12.95!!! WHAT IS ALL THAT ABOUT!!
Had to drive 10 miles to Bowmore and back and that was the NEAREST shop!!!
At least my breakfast was good.
Not recommendable

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank craig c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Askaig
7.2 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
45 reviews
13.0 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
276 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#4 of 17 in Port Ellen
395 reviews
15.3 mi away
No.1 Charlotte Street
No.1 Charlotte Street
#16 of 17 in Port Ellen
16 reviews
9.4 mi away
Dha Urlar Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Askaig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Askaig Hotel

Address: Port Askaig Isle of Islay | Argyllshire, Port Askaig PA46 7RD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Askaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Askaig
Price Range: £28 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Port Askaig Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Askaig Hotel is a picturesque, family run Highland Inn on the shores of the Sound of Islay, overlooking the pier at which daily car ferries berth on arrival from the Scottish mainland. Due to its proximity to the ferry, it offers easy access to Jura, Colonsay and the mainland. Our Starboard Restaurant offers Bistro style dining, with a full meal service in both bars and hot snacks available out with main meal times.Menus feature the best of Islay's Larder from both land and sea with 'catch of the day' fresh from the harbour here a speciality.Our hotel garden provides organic vegetable and salads to compliment your choices. Our Port Bar is the oldest licensed premises on Islay and features an excellent selection of Islay Malts and a display of old and rare bottles. In season live traditional music is oftenplayed in the Old Port Bar. Enjoy a beer or a malt whisky in the garden- relax and watch the boats sail by. Islay and it's goodbye to care ...... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Port Askaig Hotel Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing