We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped, great accommodation in peaceful...”
other travellers have booked this property
View from the Annexe lounge and bedroom - Glorious sunrise over Lochindaal
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the Annexe lounge and bedroom - Glorious sunrise over Lochindaal
The main house with the Annexe to the left, Off road parking and stunning views over Lochindaal The Annexe with stunning views over Lochindaal and to the Paps of Jura - private garden to the side
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
View from the Annexe lounge and bedroom - Glorious sunrise over Lochindaal
The main house with the Annexe to the left, Off road parking and stunning views over Lochindaal
The Annexe with stunning views over Lochindaal and to the Paps of Jura - private garden to the side
Kitchen/dining area
Annexe kitchen
Paps of Jura from the Annexe kitchen window - lots of stunning scenery and beaches on Islay
Kitchen/dining/living area
A highland cow in the field opposite the Annexe. Lots of birds and wildlife photo opportunities
Main lounge area
Main living space - lounge/kitchen and dining area
Bedroom with a double bed and a single bed with addition full size pull-out single option underneath
Single bed (with optional pull-out full height single underneath)
Bedroom
Shower/Toilet
view from the bedroom window - the Paps of Jura are also visible
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Port Charlotte, Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Swedish first
Any
English first
mlsson
Bergen, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Well equipped, great accommodation in peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Clean and tidy, beautifully furnished and decorated annexe. We had everything we needed here. The location is excellent, very peaceful place in the middle of beautiful nature. Still it's just a short drive to a local shop and great restaurants and pubs.
We love the nature and sceneries on Islay, and we could really enjoy it from the Annexe already. We saw deers, hares and even a White-taled eagle had it's resting stone on the field nearby. A couple of choughs were visiting the back yard almost every day. Maria is very kind and helpful. We have stayed here twice and really enjoyed our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2017
Merja, thank you for the wonderful review. I am so pleased you were able to experience lots of our local wildlife, including the visiting coughs, they visited last year also. Hopefully you will make it back to Islay soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BackPacke...
1 review
“Beautiful house in a fantastic location - just perfect!”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The house is beautifully furnished to a very high standard and is equipped with everything you could possibly need. Situated in a lovely location on the outskirts of Port Charlotte, arguably one of the prettiest villages on Islay. Maria the owner could not be more helpful, I'm already planning to book again!

Thanks again Maria for allowing us to stay in your lovely Annexe.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Annexe and the village of Port Charlotte; it is very much appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you again at the Annexe soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
1 review
“Fantastic stay!!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I spent the weekend in Islay and loved it! The accommodation was fantastic, the Annexe was spotless and very highly maintained I felt right at home. It includes everything you could possibly need. The views are exceptional such a great place to relax and take in the scenery

Maria the owner was brilliant she was so welcoming and helpful gave lots of advice on where to visit on the Island as it was my first time there. The Island was wonderful with so much to see I would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Thank you for your lovely review Elizabeth. I am so pleased that you were happy with the Annexe and that you so enjoyed your first visit to Islay and all it has to offer. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes, Maria.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M
1 review
“Beautiful, Beautiful, Beautiful”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Just spent the weekend here, stunning location, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean! The Annexe is perfect and Maria, the owner couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. The Annexe has literally everything you need. We had a fantastic time in beautiful surroundings and wouldn't hesitate to re-book, we will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Thank you Susan for your compliments. I will be very pleased to see you back, you were the perfect guests!
Best wishes, Maria.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

If you are thinking of visiting the beautiful island of Islay I thoroughly recommend 'The Islay Annexe'. What an absolutely beautiful home and location. The views were spectacular and it was so quiet. Exactly what we were looking for. The accommodation was modern and spotless. The owner was lovely and very helpful. All in all a great weekend away, we will definitely be returning next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Thank you William for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have you stay in the Annexe and i look forward to welcoming you and your family next year.
Best wishes, Maria.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina F
Landau in der Pfalz, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in September 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2018
Vielen, vielen Dank für deine schöne Kritik. Es ist immer ein Vergnügen zu hören, dass die Leute die Unterkunft so sehr genossen haben wie alles, was Islay zu bieten hat. Beste Wünsche, Maria.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomas L
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
Google Translation

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2018
Tack för din recension, jag är glad att du gillade ditt besök i Islay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing