We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
169
85
30
26
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
85
30
26
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews live music bar menu traditional music excellent food local musicians oysters the pub wine list hotel staff recent trip long weekend fresh seafood real fire high standard the main dining room venison visiting islay
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 322 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018

We had a large ground floor room with a large window overlooking the water. The duvet on the bed was very small, but we were given a second one which was more comfortable. Small bathroom.
There is a very nice large sitting room for tea and drinks before dinner. Dinner was generally good, except for a poor duck dish one of us had on one night. Breakfast wasn’t great.Convenient parking right outside the hotel.
Overall a pleasant stay with friendly helpful staff, would stay again if we came back to Islay.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank llewellynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allisi, Owner at Port Charlotte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you for your kind review we hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

As a couple we booked ahead for a table in the bar on a Friday night. The staff were all excellent- very friendly and helpful. Excellent choice on the menu. The service was top notch. Food superb and good portion sizes. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allisi, Owner at Port Charlotte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you for your complimentary review, this is very much appreciated by all our staff. We hope to welcome you back another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Never stay in #3 with the bar below. Asked when they shut down bar and reply was around midnight....nope it was 1:45 and the room floor vibrated till that time. We were there for the festival and very tired.

Room Tip: the amenities inside room were good
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allisi, Owner at Port Charlotte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

I suspect this review has been posted to the wrong location. We do not have a room 3 above our bar and our live music sessions finish at 11.00 pm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Its been some years since I had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful hotel but I've just recommended it to a friend who will be travelling soon to Scotland. Whilst my experience may not be recent all I can now do is share my recollections which are that of warmth and friendly hospitality, fabulous food and an unforgettable night of live Scottish music in the bar. There are hotels and there are hotels but few produce such warmly clear and distinct lifelong memories such as Port Charlotte Inn. Hopefully I will get the chance to create some more and I hope you can do the same. Worth a visit!

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are excellent
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank altrac2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allisi, Owner at Port Charlotte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for your very kind review and recollections of your time with us which is a pleasure to hear about for all of our staff. I do hope your friend will enjoy the same and that we can welcome you again on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Ate in the restaurant. Nice dining room & good service. Had been pre-warned by a regular Islay visitor that bar food was good and to expect 'miniscule' portions in the restaurant. Unfortunately that is exactly what we were served. Soup plate was an embarrassingly small portion. Main Courses also small. Food was good, not outstanding. Overpriced for what you get. Disappointing.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank ACHandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allisi, Owner at Port Charlotte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment and having discussed this with our head chef we are satisfied that our dishes are well balanced and offer value for money. We are proud to present the very best of local produce in both our restaurant and bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews