We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great live music, local ales and whiskies” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Charlotte Hotel Bar

Port Charlotte Hotel Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great live music, local ales and whiskies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The bar advertises live music on Weds and Sun evenings from 8.30pm. We visited on a Wednesday - great atmosphere and music. Very busy, pretty much standing room only for those not eating, except for a few stools round the bar. Huge selection of local whiskies and also local Islay ale on tap.

Helpful?
Thank sunstarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    18
    8
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“great beer great music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

It's always a rare delight to find a good hotel bar and it is my impression that it is particularly rare in Scotland. Fortunately the bar at the Port Charlotte Hotel is a really gopod bar. What makes it so,

Firstly it looks it. Old wood, open fire several areas discretely divided. Secondly the drink is great with really well kept Islay Ale - the Finlaggan was excellent, and Timothy Taylors as well. And a selectiuon of excellent ,malts that a shooting party from Kent was trying to drain. Thirdly the staff, particularly mine host Grahame and finally tyhe music which was wonderful. They have guests on Friday & sat but their session band on a Sunday & Wednesday are terrific. Great traditional musicians, very welcoming of Celia and I who joined in their session.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank drcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I were unable to book a room here, however we stopped by for dinner. Food was excellent and the service was the best we had during a two-week trip through Islay, Skye, Elgin and Edinburgh. If on Islay, don't miss dinner at the Port Charlotte Hotel!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jared O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Whisky!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Excellent choice of fine Islay whiskies across all the distilleries but ... Port Ellen on offer!!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allisi, Owner at Port Charlotte Hotel Bar, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Tank you for your compliments regarding our range of whiskies on offer. The Port Ellen is rare and we are delighted to have one or two on the shelf for visitors to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy and Welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Felt very welcomed and made to feel at home during our 2 night stay. The food is excellent and the live music was great. Would recommend to anyone travelling to Islay. The staff are very friendly. Isabelle the owner was wonderful to us. The whole experience was fantastic.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greghughes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allisi, Owner at Port Charlotte Hotel Bar, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and appreciation of our hotel. We aim to provide a welcoming home from home and it is heartening to know that is just what you received. Your kind comments will be passed on to the staff. It was a pleasure to have you with us and I hope that you will return again another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Port Charlotte Hotel Bar also viewed

 

Been to Port Charlotte Hotel Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing