We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like our home.”
Review of Octofad Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Charlotte
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Octofad Farm
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Felt like our home.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Octofad and absolutely loved it. We were so impressed with our room, the bathroom and the very large lounge area for the guests to relax in and treat as their own. It just felt so welcoming and we were so relaxed.
Cathy was just wonderful and so accommodating.
The view from Octofad is truly wonderful. This is the view from the private lounge.
We had such a great time on Islay knowing that we had a place like home to return to each night. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LisaSnowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
26
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I had the great pleasure of staying at the Octofad B&B in Islay in June this year. When I arrived I was made to feel very welcome and the owner Cathy was very helpful. The room was large with a superb bathroom - a bidet even! I They also have WIFI which worked well.

There is a common sitting room with a small fridge and tea and coffee facilities and just about any book or information on Islay or Jura that you could possibly want. The views are right onto the sea - so very pleasant indeed. At night the room was warm and quiet - so a solid sleep was had.

The cooked breakfast was excellent in the morning and Cathy is a great cook for sure. I had walked back from Port Charlotte the evening before so I was ready for something special and it was!

My only regret was that I was only there for one night - and it was way too short a stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavyRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We recently stayed for two nights at Octofad Farm and had a delightful stay. Cathy was incredibly accommodating and the room was well appointed and very comfortable. Would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a place on Islay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We recently cycled round Islay and stayed at Octofad Farm where we were warmly welcomed by Cathy and her husband with a lovely pot of tea and (for me) lovely gluten free cakes and biscuits. Our room was spacious, quiet, comfortable, wonderful bed and equally wonderful breakfast. On learning we were cycling on to another B and B in the northern end of the island she offered to drop off our heavy panniers for us, so that we could travel more lightly during that day.That was a great help to us and made our tour of the southern end of the island even more enjoyable. Very knowledgeable about the island, places to go, to eat, to see…a great place to stay, would recommend without reservation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibbyEH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed with Cathy at the end of September for three nights. This was by far the best B&B we stayed in on our three week tour of Scotland. The rooms were spacious and ensuite, there was a lounge we could relax in and the dining room had the most exquisite views. This is a working farm with cattle and sheep. The best of this stay was Cathy herself. She was a lovely host. Breakfast was wonderful and she was ever so nice to us four. She even worked out a route for us to explore the island.Her restaurant recommendations was spot on. If you can get a booking do not hesitate.

Room Tip: All rooms spacious with bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandiGauteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed in eight different inns/B&Bs on our trip, and Octofad Farm was absolutely the best!

As others have noted, Cathy's hospitality is second to none, and we felt completely comfortable from the moment we arrived to the day we took our (reluctant) leave.

Staying at Octofad, you not only get a sense of what life on Islay is like, you're exposed to life on a working farm. If you visit in fall, you may have the opportunity to see the farm's contribution to local whiskies first-hand: Andrew and Cathy are the second on Octofad, and in addition to raising cattle and sheep, they provide the peat for two local distilleries and dry the local barley from a neighboring farm that's used in local whisky production. We were invited to check out the barley sheds (700 tons dry with more in process), and Andrew and one of his employees both took the time at the end of a long day to talk with us about the work they do on the farm.

Cathy also has personal connections at local distilleries, and she was able to make suggestions and get us last-minute bookings that really enhanced our time on Islay.

It's an incredibly comfortable place to stay, in an incredibly beautiful location on Islay. That (plus Cathy's excellent breakfasts!) make it a great choice; if you're interested in Islay whisky, it's a must-stay. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong--all the rooms are comfy and well-appointed, and you also have access to a guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed here with friends from the mainland and we were all agreed that this Guest House sets the standard for the rest. Cathy came out to meet us, prepared tea and coffee while we unpacked, and made us feel immediately at home. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were of a good size with all amenities, and everything was sparkiling clean.

The breakfasts were delicious, all local produce, a huge selection and the most luscious fresh fruit salads.

A beautiful location, breathtaking views, wild birds in the garden......

This will be my first choice of home from home next time I visit Islay.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 762elis_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Charlotte
0.2 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
254 reviews
5.9 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
27 reviews
6.1 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Burnside Lodge
Burnside Lodge
#1 of 1 in Portnahaven
38 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glenegedale Guest House
Glenegedale Guest House
#1 of 1 in Glenegedale
520 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Octofad Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Octofad Farm

Property: Octofad Farm
Address: Port Charlotte, Port Charlotte PA48 7UE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Charlotte
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Octofad Farm Port Charlotte, Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing