We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time visitors to Islay - But not the last”
Review of The Monachs

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Charlotte
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Monachs
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was the first time we have visited the island and were overwhelmed by both the property and the warmth of the two hosts and their lovely small dog 'Cussack'.

Located at the top of a long gravel drive with cows and sheep framing either side the house appears at the top of the hill and has magnificent views over the bay below and out towards sea.
Having large windows and balconies you truly feel at one with your surroundings!

The house is a real home from home, there is a lovely guests sitting room on the ground floor with an open fire and large windows over looking the bay. The dining room allows all guests to sit together and enjoy an excellent local breakfast.

The room we had was large with plenty of room for our greyhound. It was very well maintained and cleaned to a very high standard. There was a large balcony and large en-suite with a superb power shower.

We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble.

All in all The Monachs is excellent value for money and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_O_4310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for The Monachs
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

We (Husband, wife , two boys and Hugo the dog) stayed for two nights. The welcome ,facilities and breakfasts were all excellent. The fenced-in curtilage (Other than the access road entry its a good bit up from the public road) around the house was a definite plus to enable a safely supervise a well behaved dog for a short walk around and admire the surrounding views. The two large bedrooms rooms we had were tastefully decorated with a nice shared upstairs vestibule area with seating and access balcony.
Even when we had a slight mishap with one of our children and trouble with our car occurred, Ronnie and his wife were very understanding.
Would we go back again ? Yes if they would have us!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We've just come back from islay where we spent 6 nights at Monach.
We lost while going there and arrived late. No restaurants gives supper after 9 o'clock p.m. Ronnie gave us a nice dinner and he was not obliged at all! It's was nice of him.
The room we had was large and quiet, we had great relaxing time. may be the bathroom coud have a proper glass and no a little one. Need some space to put vanity case and all the creams also but the wiew largely compensate that.
Breackfast is great: cereals, fruits, bacon, eggs, sausages, marmelade, butter. What's more, it's nice to sit around a big and elegant table with others visitors.
We had great time at Monach and we'll go back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dadadula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We visited Islay in August 2012 and found this B&B by pure luck! This is a wonderful and quiet place to stay. Although the weather was pretty bad we had such a heartwarming welcome that my husband and I didn't bother much about what was going on outside. My husband still wallows in the memory of the best trout he's ever had - for breakfast. We will certainly come back to Islay and hopefully meet Marie and Ronnie at The Monachs again! Thank you so much for making our stay an unforettable one!
Zita & Ian

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I stayed there for 3 nights between Sep 21st and 24th. It was recommended by the Kilmeny who had run out of rooms. From the 1st email, Ronnie made us feel very welcome to The Monachs and Islay. Upon late arrival (approx. 9 pm), we were greeted firstly by jumping deer on the path to the B&B, then fondly by happy and cheerful Ronnie, who offered us help w/ our luggage and drams of Bruichladdich. He entertained us in a very enthusiastic chat till 23:30 - though we believe he was tired... The Monachs has 4 rooms and we were given the one upstairs w/ a balcony. The room was quite big, had a kettle, tea and instant coffee, plus shortbread/biscuits, a nice size bathroom en suite w/ a decent shower. After a very peaceful sleep, we woke to a beautiful view of the local village of Nerabus and the sea. Breakfast is served from 8 to 9, prepared by Mari. All options of a complete Scottish breakfast were available and the owners try to keep it local, so the bacon, eggs and black pudding were fantastic! At a separate table, guests can help themselves to cereal, yoghurt, fruit, juice, jam and lemon curd. Apart from the late hours of the first night, the others followed the same routine. The room was cleaned daily, towels changed, and the couple constantly try to make guests feel welcome to their home and Islay. Though it is a B&B, guests are welcome to come and go as they please. Suggestions on what to do are available in a quite complete folder in the bedroom as well as by suggestions from the hosts who offer to help w/ arrangements. My husband's final verdict was that as long as The Monachs are there run by Ronnie and Mari, when we go back to Islay, we will stay there if they have a room for us.

Room Tip: 1 room downstairs, 3 upstairs. I believe only one upstairs has its own balcony, but partial view of...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RHOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This is a wonderful B&B. I have just read a recent posting and have to say the writer is at best unkind in the extreme or more likely unhinged. Some form of heritage would suit them The owners were VERY welcoming and helpful. The rooms are spacious and very clean with beautiful furnishings. We were invited to take a drink with the owners in a very friendly way. They advised on where to eat evening meal told us good places to walk. The breakfasts were excellent - especially the fresh fish caught by Ronnie. They have been in the business for a long time - and the high standards maintained show the wealth of experinece. They are also interested in where you have come from and want you to get the best out of your stay in Islay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malcandliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

In response to “Worst B&B I’ve Ever Stayed At!”

The comments posted were made by a woman who has very strong anti-hunting views. I hunt red deer in Scotland when I visit and was discussing the previous days hunt with her brother at the breakfast table. My wife mentioned some other hunts I have been on to her brother, at which Ms Blairgowrie screamed that I was a trophy hunter. My wife and I both apologized for discussing it at the table and she screamed “no you’re not! no you’re not!” and charged out of the dining room. She turned a cordial conversation we were having with her brother into an uncomfortable situation for my family, her family, and Ronnie and Marie. Her family took her to the ferry where she left for the mainland the same day of the incident. Her family stayed on and we really enjoyed their company and conversations over breakfast and a fabulous BBQ. I feel her comments about the service that Ronnie and Marie provide were written out of the contempt she has of hunting and those that enjoy the sport.

Our family visited Scotland for the first time three years ago and were fortunate enough to have been recommended to stay at The Monachs by friends. We enjoy Islay and their company so much that we now schedule time there on each trip we make. We have already scheduled our fourth stay in 2013. They are the most gracious hosts that we have ever stayed with and the service they provide is superb. Beautiful scenery, lovely accommodations, and Ronnie and Marie make us feel 100% at home. I would recommend you take a look at the other comments – currently 44 excellent, 3 very good and the one that prompted my response. That says it all. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, top notch accommodations with beautiful views and hospitality only rivaled in the State of Mississippi, then you will not go wrong with Ronnie and Marie.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank USCW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Charlotte
0.0 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#4 of 17 in Port Ellen
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glenegedale Guest House
Glenegedale Guest House
#1 of 1 in Glenegedale
546 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dha Urlar Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monachs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monachs

Address: Port Charlotte PA48 7UE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Charlotte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Charlotte
Price Range: £90 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a wonderful breakfast, (Mhari is an excellent cook) you can enjoy the magnificent views from the spacious balcony before setting out to explore the many beautiful and interesting sites of Islay, look up old friends or make new ones, cycle on the quiet single track roads, (we have two well equipped bikes available), or just relax on the balcony or patio, where you may spot our neighbour’s, such as the Hen Harriers, Choughs, Red and Roe deer, or the Brown Hare. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Monachs Port Charlotte, Islay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing