We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous!”
other travellers have booked this property
Rosgorm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rosgorm
Rosgorm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Rosgorm
Rosgorm
entrance hall
lounge
dining area
kitchen
coffee heaven
garden room
garden room
garden and patio
lounge
lounge
lounge
lounge
staircase
upstairs
view from landing
master bedroom
en suite to master bedroom
family bathroom
double bedroom
double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Port Charlotte, Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chrissie...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 24 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We were two couples spending three nights in Rosgorm and were absolutely delighted with all the facilities in the cottage. It has been very tastefully modernised making the best use of the available space and it’s been beautifully furnished with great attention to detail.
The kitchen was extremely well-equipped, the lounge was cosy, the beds were comfortable & the linens were lovely. There are also excellent clothes washing & drying facilities.
It's in a great location and the nearby village shop is well stocked with friendly staff.
We had a minor problem which we reported and received a very prompt visit from the proprietor's husband who resolved the issue immediately and couldn't have been more helpful.
Our every need was provided for and our only disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aerial180
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid. Deposit falsely withheld.”
Reviewed 12 January 2018 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

This cottage is lovely, on a lovely street, a stone’s throw from the beach.

The end of our week came, we tidied as we usually do (Rosgorm is 5 *, we chose this as we always stay at similar standard places), few little marks on the walls from toddler hands wiped as we do at home etc, then, as we packed up, our 5 year old broke a small shelf. We went across to see the retained local who looks after the property, apologised and said we’d cover cost ("no problem, thanks for letting me know").

We emailed Margaret, the owner to advise of the above, and to say we were shocked at her response is understating.

Margaret described a scene of utter devastation, not only was it a shelf, but the walls were apparently in such a state that 'the entire ground floor needed to be repainted'. And within hours of the new guests arriving. Utterly ludicrous.

We asked for pictures. Please see what she attached for yourself. This is what she retains £200 for. A few smudges on the wall & a small pen mark that we didn’t see on the back of a sofa (had we known we would have wiped off). We tried to resolve amicably and again offered to pay the cost to fix the shelf. She ignored & proceeded to claim we 'dirtied a rug, left soft furnishings in the garden, and our child was even kicking the front door!' All total & utter lies.

Due to the ‘devastation’, Margaret kept our £200 additional 'good housekeeping' deposit (she ask's that you pay this directly into her bank account).

This proprietor has acted in a fraudulent and duplicitous manor and in our experience, you should AVOID! She knew we had small children, and it seems we walked into an open trap. £200 is not a large amount of money, but it spoiled a lovely family holiday.

Please note, she stated 'it's always upsetting for everyone when this happens' - so clearly we're not the first.

Visit Scotland is aware and this incident is on record.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2018
I have been renting out my holiday home for 3 years and my guests have been an absolute delight, families with small children and groups of adults alike. Everyone has been very appreciative and respectful of the level of cleanliness and home comforts the house offers and I have a guest book full of wonderful comments.

What happened last July came as a complete shock to me. It took 3 people nearly 5 hours each to clean the house and repair damage to the walls after the guests had left. I had more guests arriving the next day, it was a Sunday and I count myself lucky that my House Manager was willing and able to cope.

I retained the £200 good housekeeping deposit to help pay for the costs of extra cleaning and repairs, though the actual cost to me was more and insurance does not cover it. I have never had to do this before.

Visit Scotland do not get involved in such disputes. However a representative carrying out an inspection visit in September fully supported my decision, particularly after seeing the scribbles on books and furniture which could still not be removed.

As well as this very misleading and inaccurate review, I’ve received a number of threatening emails and letters from this person. I have no wish to take part in a public dispute but they have given me no choice but to respond with my side of the story.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reg H
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“5 Star stay”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

It has a 5 star rating, and so it should.
Well located, comfortable and light, renovated to a lovely standard, a real home from home.
Above all this is a well looked after property and priced appropriately.
We enjoyed our stay immensely and would certainly book again when we return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the1garde...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely Islay base”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A delightful and very well presented and appointed cottage which makes a great base for a stay on Islay. (One point to note is that "sleeps six" means three bedrooms all of which have one double bed.)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scots61
Welton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage ”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with family for a few days in May 2017. This is a very comfortable cottage and it is clear that a lot of thought has been given to the comfort of those staying in the house. It is well-equipped and the fixtures and fittings are of a high standard.
We found the oven a bit small so planning a roast dinner was a challenge but that was just a niggle!
Would recommend this property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BM555
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Excellent location for exploring. Beautiful cottage, 3 spacious bedrooms and it had everything we needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing