We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place for an Islay break”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Port Ellen, Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Kim J
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great place for an Islay break”
Reviewed 12 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This modern, detached, well appointed self catering house is a great base on Islay. There were four (two couples) in our party but the house would comfortably accommodate 6.
It is in a great, quiet, location in Port Ellen and the three distilleries walk (Ardbeg, Laphroaig and Lagavulin) is easily done from here. Port Ellen itself is a pretty island town with all facilities provided.
We all loved our stay with Livislay and would happily recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2018
Thank you Kim for taking the time to give Livislay a review,much appreciated.
So glad that your wife Viv, Sue and Dave enjoyed your time on our beautiful island and did the walk to our 3 local distilleries, Ardbeg, Lagavulin and Laphroaig.Worth the walk ?
Regards,
Libby.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suejward
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent place to celebrate a 70th Birthday”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This modern, compact cottage in the heart of Port Ellen, was an excellent base to visit the distilleries around the island and Jura. The welcome from Terry, the birthday card and gift of a miniature malt whisky and shortbread was a lovely touch, as we were here to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday. Whilst the cottage is set back in the town, the views of the sea and surrounding countryside from the front rooms are excellent. The cottage is well equiped, warm and comfortable and the five adults all enjoyed their stay at Livislay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Happy that you all enjoyed your stay at Livislay and found it a good base to visit the distilleries and Jura.Delighted your husband celebrated his 70th birthday and hope you have some beautiful memories of your time on Islay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
648Jules4...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The location is ideal. It is within easy walking distance of the centre of Port Ellen. The house is warm, clean and comfortable. The kitchen is very well-equipped - great for self-catering. It also has a fully enclosed garden, good for dogs (or young children). Liz and Terry were incredibly helpful when we had problems getting our car repaired after a mishap on Jura. I could not recommend either the hosts of the house more highly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2017
Thank you Jonathan,
We were happy to be able to be of assistance in any way.
Pleased you would recommend Livislay after your stay in August.
Many thanks,
Liz.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdeleHann...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cottage and lovely owners”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We just had the most perfect stay in livislay cottage. It's in a lovely little corner of port Ellen but still close to the ferry port. Great sunset views at night. The cottage is very well equipped and much more spacious than it looks in the photographs. Terry and Elizabeth have tried to think of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible which it was. We were shown round by Terry on our arrival and given a bottle of fizz and shortbread which was a lovely touch. I would thoroughly recommend this cottage to anyone. We stayed with our 3 children (5, 3 & 5 months) and it was just perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
Thank you Adele for taking the time to give Livislay a review, very much appreciated.
We would be delighted for you and your 3 beautiful children to stay anytime.
Regards,
Liz.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Homely, comfortable cottage with caring, thoughtful owners.”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Livislay is in an ideal location, which is quiet yet within walking distance of local amenities. The people, who live on Islay are so welcoming and friendly and are keen to ensure that visitors enjoy the island.
The owners of Livislay are no exception and were happy to help in any way during our stay.
We would recommend this accommodation and the lovely Isalnd of Islay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Thank you Isobel.
We are delighted you were happy with Livislay and our beautiful island.
Regards,
Liz.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wandering...
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Oasis”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is a terrific "home away" for your Islay holiday. The kitchen has cooking utensils should you wish to cook and there is a CoOp within walking distance. We chose to eat out because we were out visiting distilleries or exploring nature during our visit. There is a bicycle rental in Port Ellen and a path to the local distilleries. We didn't walk the path because we wanted to explore more remote areas and it would have been lovey although time-consuming to walk to the three Port Ellen distilleries. There is a notebook with local information about things to do as well as restaurant information. The internet worked well. The beds were comfortable and the shower was very good. Livislay has a washer and clothesline for drying. You may need to purchase supplies depending on what has been left by the previous occupants, but there will be at least enough basics to get you started. The house was immaculately clean and there was off-street parking. Terry showed us around upon arrival and was available for any other needs. You will be happy should you choose to stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Livislay.
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review,we really appreciate it
Regards,
Liz.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“VERY GOOD”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Nice house ,nice persons .I recommend for both families or groups of friends who are making tourism on Islay or whisky distilleries tours as we did .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking the time to give Livislay a review.
Much appreciated.
Regards
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing