We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay. ”
Review of Askernish

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Ellen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Askernish
Ranked #5 of 17 Port Ellen B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous place to stay. ”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week with Joy and we couldn't have stayed anywhere nicer. Joy's a perfect hostess full of wonderful stories. She's makes a generous breakfast that will keep you going most of the day. And she has great suggestions of how to spend your days on Islay. Rooms were lovely. Port Ellen is a charming town in a great location. If we are ever back on Islay, we will definitely stay here!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Toby201202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
42
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Ardbeg, Laphroaig, and Bruichladdich. The B&B is on the water, and is very convenient (15 minute walk to Laphroaig, about an hour to Ardbeg).

The rooms are clean, and reasonably large. The owner, Joy, is wonderful, and provides excellent breakfast as well as lots of advice and guidance. The bathrooms are well-equipped and clean.

Overall, this is an excellent B&B, and I will certainly stay here again. The only problem was the wifi upstairs, which kept dropping out. Wifi downstairs was fine. Hopefully this will be fixed soon; other than that little hiccup, everything else was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivekSub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was actually our first B&B experience and Joy set the bar extremely high! Sadly, we only stayed for one night but we will be back.

Things that were great! 1 - Joy is extremely responsive to emails and will give you plenty of information if you ask for it. 2 - The location is perfect. You can't miss it. Look for the palm trees in the front. 3 - One of our bags didn't make the trip with us and long story short was finally delivered the the Islay Airport. Joy called and checked on our bag before we arrived to Askernish and called other times to check on it. She was as concerned about our bag as we were. 4 - Breakfast is great! If you don't leave stuffed, you're doing something wrong! 5 - Askernish itself is a gem. It was an old doctor's office. It is cute inside and out. Joy is constantly making improvements so it will only get better. 6 - Joy. She is a fabulous person. She swears that this gives her a lot of pressure to live up to, but as long as she remains who she is, she has nothing to worry about! 7 - Price cannot be beaten!

Things we could have done better!: Stay longer! It is a small island, but it is so laid back and lovely. You won't regret it!

Things not to do!: 1- Don't try to cram too much in to a short time. 2 - Whatever you do, DO NOT eat at the hotel next door. The service is terrible and the food is worse! Ugh. Just don't do it!

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor in the old surgery. The bathroom door was the pharmacy. This room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at Askernish March 26 & 27, 2014, which I chose based on TripAdvisor reviews as it was our first visit to Islay. The experience certainly lived up to the 5 star rating! The room was spotless, the bed very comfortable and the ensuite bathroom gleaming - with nice large towels! Breakfast was superb and plentiful - we both had the smoked haddock and poached eggs but the other offerings also looked great. Joy is the perfect B&B host, very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area - and cannot do enough for her visitors. I would certainly recommend Askernish - everything about the B&B felt generous, with nothing skimped. Absolutely first class!
We were very disappointed with the mediocre food and appalling service at the Islay Hotel next door - I see that others recommend it, so we may have just been unlucky that night. We found the nearby White Hart was much better, with attentive service and very good food. Just make sure you go to the right section!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We chose this place mainly based on it's reviews, which although the owner, Joy, claims puts her under immense pressure, absolutely lives up to them all! Nothing is too much trouble, the room was really spacious and comfortable and the breakfasts were epic!! Sorry Joy, but this is really no pressure, just keep doing what you do and you'll have many more happy visitors. We stayed 3 nights here and my only wish was that we could have had a couple more!!

Room Tip: We had the large room on the ground floor of the building that is the feature room on Askernish'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed for two nights at Askernish and wish it could have been longer. Ideal location for ferry and exploring the island, particularly visiting whisky distilleries. Joy, the owner was most welcoming and the accomodation and breakfast couldn't be faulted. Islay Hotel next door for good food and drink and can recommend the music there on a Sunday afternoon.

Room Tip: We had the two ground floor rooms, which had been the doctor's consulting room and the waiting r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Pretty much the first building you come across when exiting the ferry (but it's a sleepy town, so no noise concerns). Right next to the pub where you can sample some single malt and scampi. Joy appears to be a great fan of the local produce as well and has a few bottles stored (I never made use of them though for the above reasons). Her breakfasts are wonderful. And she is very helpful and friendly.

She's actively working on even more improvements to the property but I thought it was perfect already. Do stay for a minimum of 3 nights so you can spend a day at each local distillery.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Ellen
11.1 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
No.1 Charlotte Street
No.1 Charlotte Street
#16 of 17 in Port Ellen
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Bowmore House
The Bowmore House
#1 of 13 in Bowmore
312 reviews
8.6 mi away
Dha Urlar Bed and Breakfast
9.6 mi away
An Cuan
An Cuan
#11 of 13 in Bowmore
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Askernish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Askernish

Property: Askernish
Address: Frederick Crescent, Port Ellen PA42 7DJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Ellen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Port Ellen
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Askernish Islay/Port Ellen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing