We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Its convenient, quiet, warm, welcoming, and well...”
other travellers have booked this property
A ‘Chroit (the Croft). Traditional, spacious, and family friendly.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A ‘Chroit (the Croft). Traditional, spacious, and family friendly.
View to house, along Charlotte Street. Spacious kitchen-diner.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
A ‘Chroit (the Croft). Traditional, spacious, and family friendly.
View to house, along Charlotte Street.
Spacious kitchen-diner.
Living room.
Main double bedroom.
Twin single bedroom.
Single bedroom.
Upstairs toiler/bath/shower room. (since been upgraded).
Upstairs landing.
Out buildings for bikes, etc.
Safe, secluded garden at rear.
Mature garden.
View of Port Ellen distillery/maltings from end of lane.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Port Ellen, Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Brett B
Front Royal, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Its convenient, quiet, warm, welcoming, and well stocked.”
Reviewed 16 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

A very fully stocked, house in town, which makes you feel like you are part of the community. The three south distilleries are nearby and so is the Oa, plus its on the route out of town to Bowmore if you happen to need anything else. Betty is wonderful and has all sorts of leads if you want to do any history research on the island (which it is chock full of). You do feel like you are staying at a family house, and as part of the community.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2018
Thank you for these kind words.
Look forward to seeing you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uwe M
1 review
“Best place on Islay to make the peaty experience with the best Islay whisky”
Reviewed 11 September 2017 for a stay in June 2017

it was a wonderful time on Islay and a great pleasure to stay again in this wonderful house. There is very much place for three people in this house. And I think it was not the last time to stay in this house on Islay. From there you can walk the three distilleries path to visit the amazing distilleries on Islay. It's perfect!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2017
Thanks for that great review Uwe, and good to have had you return to us again. We will be calling you a 'local' soon :-)
All the Best, and look forward to seeing you again.
Kenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip G
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great accommodation in perfect location to explore Islay”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We went during the Feis Ile this year and couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Having stayed here the previous year we knew what we were going to get. As last time Betty was very helpful in letting us into the house and was on hand for information about the local area we needed. Spacious house with three bedrooms and decent sized outhouse for storing bikes etc, The location is excellent in Port Ellen close to local amenities and pubs as well as being within 3 miles of the three best distilleries on the Island. I'm sure we'll be back in the future. Unfortunately it is already booked for the Feis Ile next year otherwise we'd be going back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
Cheers Phil. Thanks for taking the time to give us a great review. Hope to see you again soon.
Kenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
germaingu...
Saint-Jean-Bonnefonds, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place to spend holidays”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A great location for this house near the harbour, and so it's easy to take the ferry. The house is very comfy, and it's the ideal place to visit the island with a lot of wild life, and wonderful landscapes. Betty is very nice, friendly and very helpful, and I recommend anyone to rent that house..We go there each time we can ...

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Awe, thanks so much for that Germain. Hope there will be spaces left for you in the future!
All the Best,
Kenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham H
1 review
“Convenient and comfortable”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in May 2017

If you are looking for well located and comfortable accommodation on a budget this place is great. Everything we needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Awe, thanks so much for that Graham. Hope there will be spaces left for you in the future!
All the Best,
Kenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacky C
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home in a great location.”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in July 2016

In the centre of Port Ellen. Close to everything the town has to offer - beach, port, shops, public transport, marina, wildlife trips. Distilleries a short drive or walk away.
The house was thoughtfully equipped and comfortable and we got a great welcome. I was sorry to leave when it was time to go.

Should I ever return to Islay, I would return here if at all possible and would commend it to anyone seeking a self catering holiday, offering excellent value for money on Islay in an instant.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Awe, thanks so much for that Jacky. Hope there will be spaces left for you in the future!
All the Best,
Kenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterpete...
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect home on Islay”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is the perfect house for a self-catered week on Islay. We've stayed here for one week in June for several years now, and hope to come back soon. The owners are very friendly.
Next door is a little shop for groceries for breakfast, and the bus stop is right in front of the door. Three distilleries are in walking distance.
Fully equipped kitchen and living room, and three bedrooms for 5 guests in total.
Very nice here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Awe, thanks so much for that Peter. Hope there will be spaces left for you in the future!
All the Best,
Kenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing