We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ardbeg yer puddin!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Kiln Cafe

The Old Kiln Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ardbeg yer puddin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Great food in fantastic Ardbeg distillery, what's not to like? It can be a little busy depending on time of year but you can book in advance. Prices are very reasonable with very good friendly service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigsneds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    85
    21
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Loved this cafe! We went during the Islay festival and had such a nice meal. Try their sticky toffee pudding, it is to die for!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dodita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddington, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

My wife and I had lunch in the Old Kiln Cafe, we both had the Maltman's Lunch and it was very good. Generous amount of cheese, pickles and fruit and a very good cup of coffee.

Friendly staff, yep, a good place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

This cafe was great and in a beautiful setting. Indoor and outdoor seating to enjoy a wee dram. You can take the tour or just sit and enjoy the scenery.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ardbeglily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Lived up to the hype”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Before visiting, we had read glowing reviews of the Old Kiln Cafe--and based on our lunch experience, the reviews are justified.

Both the crab ciabatta (on a hotdog-shape ciabatta bun--a new twist in my experience--and loaded with big chunks of crab in a light aioli) and the kofta burger were excellent. Fresh ingredients, generous portions, very tasty preparation and presentation. Nothing fancy, mind you; just a satisfying, well-prepared meal.

The cafe seating adjacent to the shop was packed (and noisy), so we ended up in the larger area across the entryway. It was much quieter and we got friendly and attentive service.

We also felt that the price was very reasonable, especially considering the general cost of dining out on Islay and the dearth of other dining options in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Kiln Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Old Kiln Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing