We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to return to !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Ellen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carraigh Fhada House
Ranked #15 of 17 Port Ellen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 September 2011

When one of your goals is 'escaping' the ratrace from the modern western world, this is the place to be! Carraig Fhada is only surrounded by beautifull nature en the calming sounds of the sea! No traffic, sounds of industry, just peace and quiet. The building consist of a private part in which Sally (owner) and her husband are living, and attached a house which is used as B&B. It has three rooms. A twin, a double and a familyroom with a single and double bed. The bathroom is shared by all occupants. The bathroom has both shower and bathtub. Water is nicely warm. All rooms are situated on the first floor and have digital TV, coffee & tea making facilities and wifi is also available. The groundfloor offers a livingroom with sofa's and comfy chairs. A big flatscreen is also available for use. What we liked most is the fact that Sally generously offered to use the well-equiped kitchen. We where able to prepare our own food in the evening which is nice if you're on a budget or don't want the hassle of finding a nice place to eat. (There are plenty, but without a car it's quite a challenge) The kitchen has it all, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, oven, the works! This all comes at a more then reasonable price. Full-cooked breakfast jumpstarts your day. The place is also clean, and the beds are really comfortable! Even for big lads like ourselves! We had the house to ourselves, since we where only guests, but we don't see any drawbacks if you are just looking for a nice reasonably priced place to stay. So, as far as we are concerned; Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms have seaview. The double bedded room is the smallest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

I have stayed at Carraig Fhada many times - at the b&b, in the self catering apartments, I've always had a fantastic trip.
You couldn't get a better location - it's worth the trip along the dirt track (drive slowly)... Total peace and quiet and lovely views across the bay to Port Ellen. Kilnaughton Bay, the magical Singing Sands, and several smaller beaches are all within walking distance. The lighthouse is right next to the accommodation- walk along the rocky path and across the small metal bridge and sit out at the lighthouse - you'll soon forget your troubles!
Rooms are comfortable and very clean, breakfasts are hearty and delicious, the owners are very friendly and welcoming.
It's quite a long (but lovely) walk around to Port Ellen, but this adds to the lovely feeling of being away from it all...
Stay here and you'll experience the true meaning of the saying 'Islay - and it's goodbye to care'

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlldoJabalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Lovely farmhouse on the edge of the sea next to a romantic lighthouse. Sally is very welcoming and is flexible about providing a good breakfast at the time you indicate.(Most places give you a specific time period.) We had a comfortable bed with a nice area for the suitcases. The bathroom was shared with only one other room and was spacious and clean. We loved it because it had both a shower and a bathtub. Harry, her husband, is an artist and his work decorates the home. You can get up at 6 am and look for sea otters playing behind the lighthouse or at the beach nearby. We enjoyed the large sitting room as well. You do need a car to stay here, but it was easy to rent one from DL McKenzie. From the main road near Port Ellen is is about an 8 minute drive and part of the way is on a dirt road. It is about a half hour drive from the ferry at Port Askaig. It is well worth the visit.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
Thank scothiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

After a rough trip we reached this silent (except sound of waves and a view sea-birds) and peaceful place. The room was comfortable and clean besides the excellent full cooked breakfast; I just like this black pudding. You can get useful informations from the owner due to your day-trips. Absolutely recommendable.

Room Tip: ask for room (1st floor, left) --> seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dr_franknfurter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank Rudi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeltreiseStony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AUeberschaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Carraigh Fhada House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carraigh Fhada House

Address: Port Ellen PA42 7AX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Ellen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Port Ellen
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Carraigh Fhada House Islay/Port Ellen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing