We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carraigh Fhada House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Ellen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carraigh Fhada House
Ranked #14 of 16 Port Ellen B&B and Inns
Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed at Carraig Fhada for 3 nights in Aug 28/12. Rooms are spacious with TV and kettle with coffee and tea to enjoy anytime. The beds were comfortable and the view from our room was of the lighthouse and water, gorgeous!
Sally was a terrific hostess. Breakfast was anything you wanted from fruit, cereal, yogurt to a full Scottish breakfast with eggs sausage beans and black pudding. We enjoyed our time at Carraig Fhada

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lille, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Thank's you very much Sally, for your hospitality, your wonderful B&B and your delicious breakfast! It was the best B&B of our trip around Scotland!
The 4 frenchie : Thomas, Camille, Vincent and Odran!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

What a pity we could only stay one night (ferry was fully booked). Loved the place! Just the perfect place to enjoy Islay. The 5 of us could have sit in front of the house for hours. Rooms are simple, breakfast excellent. Thanks Sally for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meli1_ssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

What a find - Sally & Harry have a most wonderful property in a fantastic location, so peaceful, the views where amazing especially the white lighthouse. Don't be put off by the track leading from the road. Sally is a lovely hostess and cooks a great breakfast. We stayed in the self contained unit, because we had a dog, and had the best of both worlds, Sally's breakfasts and the use of a washing machine and didn't have to find somewhere to eat in the evening because we had a well equipped kitchen, Islay is a lovely island if you can drag yourself away from the views around the property. We would definitely recommend to anyone travelling to Islay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank titchUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorhout
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

When one of your goals is 'escaping' the ratrace from the modern western world, this is the place to be! Carraig Fhada is only surrounded by beautifull nature en the calming sounds of the sea! No traffic, sounds of industry, just peace and quiet. The building consist of a private part in which Sally (owner) and her husband are living, and attached a house which is used as B&B. It has three rooms. A twin, a double and a familyroom with a single and double bed. The bathroom is shared by all occupants. The bathroom has both shower and bathtub. Water is nicely warm. All rooms are situated on the first floor and have digital TV, coffee & tea making facilities and wifi is also available. The groundfloor offers a livingroom with sofa's and comfy chairs. A big flatscreen is also available for use. What we liked most is the fact that Sally generously offered to use the well-equiped kitchen. We where able to prepare our own food in the evening which is nice if you're on a budget or don't want the hassle of finding a nice place to eat. (There are plenty, but without a car it's quite a challenge) The kitchen has it all, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, oven, the works! This all comes at a more then reasonable price. Full-cooked breakfast jumpstarts your day. The place is also clean, and the beds are really comfortable! Even for big lads like ourselves! We had the house to ourselves, since we where only guests, but we don't see any drawbacks if you are just looking for a nice reasonably priced place to stay. So, as far as we are concerned; Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms have seaview. The double bedded room is the smallest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

I have stayed at Carraig Fhada many times - at the b&b, in the self catering apartments, I've always had a fantastic trip.
You couldn't get a better location - it's worth the trip along the dirt track (drive slowly)... Total peace and quiet and lovely views across the bay to Port Ellen. Kilnaughton Bay, the magical Singing Sands, and several smaller beaches are all within walking distance. The lighthouse is right next to the accommodation- walk along the rocky path and across the small metal bridge and sit out at the lighthouse - you'll soon forget your troubles!
Rooms are comfortable and very clean, breakfasts are hearty and delicious, the owners are very friendly and welcoming.
It's quite a long (but lovely) walk around to Port Ellen, but this adds to the lovely feeling of being away from it all...
Stay here and you'll experience the true meaning of the saying 'Islay - and it's goodbye to care'

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlldoJabalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Lovely farmhouse on the edge of the sea next to a romantic lighthouse. Sally is very welcoming and is flexible about providing a good breakfast at the time you indicate.(Most places give you a specific time period.) We had a comfortable bed with a nice area for the suitcases. The bathroom was shared with only one other room and was spacious and clean. We loved it because it had both a shower and a bathtub. Harry, her husband, is an artist and his work decorates the home. You can get up at 6 am and look for sea otters playing behind the lighthouse or at the beach nearby. We enjoyed the large sitting room as well. You do need a car to stay here, but it was easy to rent one from DL McKenzie. From the main road near Port Ellen is is about an 8 minute drive and part of the way is on a dirt road. It is about a half hour drive from the ferry at Port Askaig. It is well worth the visit.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank scothiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Ellen hotels
0.0 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Ellen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Carraigh Fhada House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carraigh Fhada House

Property: Carraigh Fhada House
Address: Port Ellen PA42 7AX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Ellen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Ellen
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Carraigh Fhada House Islay/Port Ellen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing