We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday Evening Meal at the Islay Hotel”
Review of The Islay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Islay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Port Ellen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Friday Evening Meal at the Islay Hotel”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My first visit to the Islay Hotel ( Bar & Restaurant) since it's refurbishment re-opening, the bar stocks many single malts; great to see all the Islay malts on sale. The restaurant menu had a really good selection of local produce both land and sea, the food was cooked to perfection, the service front of house team very professional and looked after your every need.
A very big well done to the Hotel Management and their team. This Hotel, bar & its restaurant is a must to try during any visitors stay in Port Ellen, Isle of Islay, I will certainly be back.

Can not comment on rooms as I have not stayed.

Yours Aye

AT CARMICHAEL

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Hi there many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal and our selection of islay malts. We are proud to boast a collection of over one hundred Islay malts and are always on the look out for more. We hope to welcome you in for dinner again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    117
    39
    19
    11
See reviews for
60
165
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were really impressed by the quality of the renovation to this hotel. We booked for 2 nights in November 2013 using a Living Social voucher. We stayed in a Gold room with an amazing super kingsize bed, large bath and double walk-in shower cubicle. Breakfast was delicious and there is a great malt selection at the bar. Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a gold standard room - you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sambababe14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed using your voucher and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Islay Hotel for three nights during our honeymoon in Oct 2013 (Islay, Skye, Elgin and Edinburgh). The room was clean and comfortable, the views were beautiful, the staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was outstanding (especially the Stornoway black pudding!). The restaurant was excellent and the cozy bar was well stocked and a very fun way to end evenings listening to live local music. An added bonus is that the location is an easy and beautiful walk to Lagavulin, Ardbeg and Laphroig! One thing to note... be careful about returning late in the evening after the front door is locked. Although guests are given a key to the front door, I was locked out for a couple hours one night due to the front door lock being jammed (would not have been a problem if I'd had my phone with me, so I can't really fault the Hotel for that).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Many thanks for your positive review. We are pleased to read that we contributed to a good honeymoon, we wish you well for the future and hope to see you again soon. On a final note we do apologise for the jammed door which has now been fixed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oy-Mittelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I booked this break for myself, my partner and my baby daughter after receiving a Livingsocial deal.

We arrived at the hotel and were very pleasantly surprised by the high quality of the room and decor.

The bed was amazing - very big and very comfy.

Breakfast was excellent - the full Scottish set you up nicely for the rest of the day and the Continental breakfast was one of the best I have ever seen.

We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the food and wine was top notch at all times.

Not forgetting the whisky collection - very special indeed!

I wish the owners all the very best as they have created a very special, welcoming establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggsinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed you enjoyed using your voucher. We pride ourselves on a good Scottish breakfast and are very pleased to read that you enjoyed along with our restaurant and wine list. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We booked 3 nights at the Islay Hotel in Port Ellen using a LivingSocial voucher - three nights B&B for £140. Brilliant! We had to upgrade to a platinum room for the weekend we wanted, but that was only an extra £40 a night. It still made it fantastic value.

The hotel is spitting distance from the ferry, but that isn't a distraction. We had a room which overlooked the harbour, which was wonderfully picturesque. The room was large, with a wonderful bathroom (bath and rain shower). We slept like logs the entire time of our stay.

The staff were fantastic. I can't praise them highly enough - friendly, polite and professional. And did I say friendly? I can't thank them enough for making our stay such a pleasure.

The food was very good. We ate two nights in the hotel - the first, we had a complementary glass of prosecco, which went down a treat. The seafood platter was lovely (nice to have lobster included, not for silly money), and the steak was perfectly cooked. Breakfasts covered everything you could possibly want - I highly recommend the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, and the peaty whisky marmalade was scrumptious!

All in all, it was a fabulous base to explore the island. We loved the Islay Hotel, and we will be back. There's so much more to do!

Room Tip: Room 7 has a fantastic view across the harbour and a view across the back garden. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tash13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed using your voucher and enjoyed the views from room 7, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Brilliant hotel with friendly staff & excellent customer care, a warm welcome is guaranteed here.
Our bedroom was large, good housekeeping throughout, kettle with coffee, tea & biscuits in room, a large comfy bed and contemporary bathroom with towels changed daily. Miniature bottle of whisky & chocolates left on arrival - nice touch. We dined in the resaurant throughout our stay, the food was amazingly good, the mussels have to be some of the best we have ever had. They also keep a very good standard of wine. Breakfast with a great all round choice could not be faulted nor could any of the dinning room staff who looked after us during our stay.
This hotel has undergone a huge refurbishment is a credit to the island & deserves to succeed.
If your going to visit lovely Islay give the hotel a try you won't regret it. We had a wonderful time, returned home so chilled out with wonderful memmories of a great stay. Thank you to all the hotell staff & the friendly folk of Islay. Oh & yes we did see the magnificent golden eagles.

Room Tip: It's worth upgrading your room & certainly dine in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goose100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslayHotel, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. We are very pleased to read that you found Islay to be relaxing - as it should be. It is also pleasing to read that you enjoyed the personal touches that we try to offer in our hotel and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We booked last minute on booking.com. It was £180 for a family room. Not bad, a little on the expensive side, but the room size was good. The bathroom was large and the furnishings were very comfortable. Good beds. Restaurant is also a little expensive but good.

Room Tip: Family room is a king and a single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodthistimeofyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslayHotel, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Many thanks for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. The price of a family rooms does account for extra people staying in it and is therefore higher than our standard room rate however we do feel that we offer a quality that can be enjoyed at a reasonable price and overall we were pleased to read that you found your stay to be worth it. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Ellen
11.1 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
27 reviews
10.7 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
254 reviews
11.0 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Glenegedale Guest House
Glenegedale Guest House
#1 of 1 in Glenegedale
518 reviews
9.7 mi away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowmore
80 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islay Hotel

Property: The Islay Hotel
Address: 18 Charlotte Street, Port Ellen PA42 7DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Ellen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Port Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Islay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently rebuilt on the site of the old Islay Hotel, offering 13 excellent bedrooms. From standard rooms with walk-in showers to extra large rooms with Jacuzzi bath and separate shower we can accommodate all requirements. Fantastic restaurant with a great selection of Island landed seafood dishes along side our Game supplied by local estates and Argyll Beef and Lamb. Our bar has one of the best collections of Islay whisky on the Island. The hotel is open all year around and are ideally situated next to Port Ellen Harbour and Ferry terminal. We are the nearest hotel to Laphroig, Lagavulin and Argbeg distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Islay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islay Hotel Port Ellen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing