We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hotel - clean, modern, tastefully done with excellent service.”
Review of The Islay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Islay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Port Ellen B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Superb hotel - clean, modern, tastefully done with excellent service.”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent modern accommodation on an Island where most hotels appear to be fairly dated based on observations over three days .
Food is truly excellent (albeit perhaps menu could be perceived to be a little too complicated depending on whether you are in a pub/ restaurant mood - brilliantly cooked though regardless!)
Bar is interesting & good whiskey menu.
The service & general atmosphere in the restaurant is superb - everything remembered, attentive yet not invasive. Thank you Craig !
All round very good - don't be put off by the location near the ferry port - it's actually picturesque & not really a port - more like a big jetty in a bay & reflective of Island life.
Room 8 sits on its own & is great for privacy, a good view and lots of space.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjuk28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Hi there, many thanks for your kind review. Our hotel was two years old in October of 2013 and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed the standard of hotel we offer. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    116
    39
    19
    11
See reviews for
60
163
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Our first visit hope it is not my last. Food, staff and rooms absolutely brilliant we had a total of six adults one two year old and two under six months. Could not do enough for us would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daftmutt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback in all areas of the hotel, we hope its not your last visit either. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Booked this room at the last minute, the night before arriving, taking advantage of the hotel's "last minute" offers (Platinum room, I believe). We only stayed on 1 night (1 full day on Islay), but this was the best hotel of our 2 week vacation - wished we could stay longer! The hotel was recently renovated, so everything was clean & modern. Our room was huge, and the bathroom was huge and very nice.

We had a late dinner at the attached bar which was very good. Their seafood chowder was exceptional. Full range of beer on tap, and a whole wall full of Scotch. They also had live entrainment playing music until ~ 11pm - they were good and entertaining. Free wifi in the hotel and restaurant/bar.

Our top priorities for our day on Islay was to visit Laphroaig, Ardbeg, and Lagavulin... and the Islay hotel is ideally situated for this, along with catching the ferry back (1 block away).

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Platinum rooms are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Killjoy2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Hi there, many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased to read that you got to take advantage of some of our great late availability offers, which are always worth checking out. We hope to see you back again if you decide to explore the islands other five distilleries, we will happily arrange tour times and transport for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My first visit to the Islay Hotel ( Bar & Restaurant) since it's refurbishment re-opening, the bar stocks many single malts; great to see all the Islay malts on sale. The restaurant menu had a really good selection of local produce both land and sea, the food was cooked to perfection, the service front of house team very professional and looked after your every need.
A very big well done to the Hotel Management and their team. This Hotel, bar & its restaurant is a must to try during any visitors stay in Port Ellen, Isle of Islay, I will certainly be back.

Can not comment on rooms as I have not stayed.

Yours Aye

AT CARMICHAEL

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Hi there many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal and our selection of islay malts. We are proud to boast a collection of over one hundred Islay malts and are always on the look out for more. We hope to welcome you in for dinner again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were really impressed by the quality of the renovation to this hotel. We booked for 2 nights in November 2013 using a Living Social voucher. We stayed in a Gold room with an amazing super kingsize bed, large bath and double walk-in shower cubicle. Breakfast was delicious and there is a great malt selection at the bar. Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a gold standard room - you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sambababe14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed using your voucher and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Islay Hotel for three nights during our honeymoon in Oct 2013 (Islay, Skye, Elgin and Edinburgh). The room was clean and comfortable, the views were beautiful, the staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was outstanding (especially the Stornoway black pudding!). The restaurant was excellent and the cozy bar was well stocked and a very fun way to end evenings listening to live local music. An added bonus is that the location is an easy and beautiful walk to Lagavulin, Ardbeg and Laphroig! One thing to note... be careful about returning late in the evening after the front door is locked. Although guests are given a key to the front door, I was locked out for a couple hours one night due to the front door lock being jammed (would not have been a problem if I'd had my phone with me, so I can't really fault the Hotel for that).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Many thanks for your positive review. We are pleased to read that we contributed to a good honeymoon, we wish you well for the future and hope to see you again soon. On a final note we do apologise for the jammed door which has now been fixed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oy-Mittelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I booked this break for myself, my partner and my baby daughter after receiving a Livingsocial deal.

We arrived at the hotel and were very pleasantly surprised by the high quality of the room and decor.

The bed was amazing - very big and very comfy.

Breakfast was excellent - the full Scottish set you up nicely for the rest of the day and the Continental breakfast was one of the best I have ever seen.

We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the food and wine was top notch at all times.

Not forgetting the whisky collection - very special indeed!

I wish the owners all the very best as they have created a very special, welcoming establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggsinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, General Manager at The Islay Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed you enjoyed using your voucher. We pride ourselves on a good Scottish breakfast and are very pleased to read that you enjoyed along with our restaurant and wine list. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Ellen
11.1 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
10.7 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
9.7 mi away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
4.5 mi away
Glenegedale Guest House
Glenegedale Guest House
#1 of 1 in Glenegedale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
9.6 mi away
An Cuan
An Cuan
#10 of 13 in Bowmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Islay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islay Hotel

Property: The Islay Hotel
Address: 18 Charlotte Street, Port Ellen PA42 7DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Ellen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Port Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Islay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently rebuilt on the site of the old Islay Hotel, offering 13 excellent bedrooms. From standard rooms with walk-in showers to extra large rooms with Jacuzzi bath and separate shower we can accommodate all requirements. Fantastic restaurant with a great selection of Island landed seafood dishes along side our Game supplied by local estates and Argyll Beef and Lamb. Our bar has one of the best collections of Islay whisky on the Island. The hotel is open all year around and are ideally situated next to Port Ellen Harbour and Ferry terminal. We are the nearest hotel to Laphroig, Lagavulin and Argbeg distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Islay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islay Hotel Port Ellen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing