We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little more to say”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Ellen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oystercatcher Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 17 Port Ellen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Following previous reviews there is little more to add. The welcome was very friendly and remained so throughout the stay. The breakfasts were excellent with a good choice. The room was clean though a little cramped especially in the shower and toilet and there was no wardrobe, this let it down a little but it was still an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sealdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

Stayed for 4 days in late august for our whisky tour. Lovely place in an excellent location overlooking the harbour. We were staying in the smallest room but it was cost and has everything inside. Very nicely decorated and you can appreciate how much effort Lynn has put on the house. On one night we ordered a seafood hamper take away and Lynn was so kind as to let us use the breakfast room to have our dinner. She set the table nicely. We bought a bottle of wine and had a dinner on that night and we really could not thank her more for this.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FC207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We ( a group of 3 male adults) stayed here in august 2011. What a fantastic welcome we had. The owners of the guest house, made us feel extremley welcome and " at home ". The breakfast they cooked was top quality. We stayed in a flat, that was a few doors away which was fully equipt with everything that we needed. Set in a beautiful location, on a great island, where everyone is so friendly and welcoming. This is a perfect location for anyone who wishes to have a relaxing time away. We will certainly be returning again soon.

Room Tip: A visit is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelHunter67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The best thing about this place?? Breakfast!!! We traveled throughout Scotland for our honeymoon and stayed here about half way through our vacation. By the time we got here, we were a little tired of the typical scottish fry breakfast. But Lynn offered a great smoked salmon and lox and my husband had the smoked haddock. Not to mention some homemade jams with Laphroaig whiskey. Yum!

The rooms were cozy and nice. It's more homey, with a book shelf and novelty decorations. It's right smack in the middle of Port Ellen, near the Co-op and bars.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjhammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Visited for two days and stayed at the Oystercatcher.
Not going to repeat what others have said other than agree one hundred percent.
What a gem of a B&B and Lynn was a delightful host.
Will recommend to anyone and will have no hesitation in booking again if we return to
the Island.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archibaldbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

This must be the friendliest B and B on the friendliest Island
Lynn couldn't of been more welcoming and her breakfasts are superb
Couple this with lovely rooms a great location friendly bars and restaurants and a brilliant Island we didn't want to go home !

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John-the-admiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

The B&B accommodations were full for the dates we planned to be at Islay so we had booked the Self-catering Ardview Flat which is just 50 mts up the road from Oystercatcher B&B. Next to the Port Ellen Post Office. This split level flat is sort of an annexe to the B&B. Usually doesn't come with breakfast included in the rates but with a bit of extra payment we had Lynn's famous breakfast at the B&B.

The best part of this B&B is the proprietress... Lynn Ross. An amazing woman...gracious, caring, always ready to go the extra mile to help you out and she manages probably the best B&B you can get at Islay.

We reached Islay on a wet windy late afternoon by the Flybe flight from Glasgow, shaken up by the extremely turbulent weather enroute....a roller coaster ride! Lynn had very graciously offered to pick us up from the tiny Islay airport. Within 30 mins of landing we were at our self-catering.

Compact but fully equipped kitchen at the ground level. Carpeted wooden stairs lead up to a living area (complete with a stocked book shelf, desk, TV, sofa etc), a very large toilette and a bed room with two large singles pushed together to make a superking sort of bed. Tastefully furnished. View of the Port Ellen bay from the upper floor. All rooms fitted with electric radiators and ample supply of hot water.

We were there for 2 days and the breakfasts Lynn served at the main B&B had to be the second highlight of our trip after the Laphroaig and Bowmore visits. Perhaps the best breakfasts we had in our 2 weeks in England and Scotland. What really added to the experience is the warmth and caring with which breakfast was served.

See the pics of the accommodation and the breakfast...they convey more than what I can ever write.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArupGhosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oystercatcher Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oystercatcher Bed & Breakfast

Address: 63 Frederick Crescent, Port Ellen PA42 7BD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Ellen
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Port Ellen
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Oystercatcher Bed & Breakfast Islay/Port Ellen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing