We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value food,but watch the wine list !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Ellen
Shrewsbury,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Value food,but watch the wine list !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We didn't stay here, but called in for an evening meal. The fish and chips we would highly recommend.Really fresh fish,not over-battered.Really really good.And sensible prices.
However, watch out how you buy your wine. The wine list prices have been produced by someone who seriously failed his/her O level maths.Three 250 ml glasses were £5 cheaper than a 75 cl bottle.
Crazy pricing, so do watch out. You would normally expect buying a bottle to be slightly cheaper than buying the equivalent amount by the glass. Hey ho, this is Islay !!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0ssHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    26
    17
    23
    23
See reviews for
6
24
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Cigarette butts, food, glass out front. Bedroom windows would not open; used bathroom window for cooling, but cigarette smoke entered thru open window. Phone did not work. Bathroom door did not close/latch. Mattress was poor; friends staying in another room had similar issue with their mattress. Broken tables downstairs.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTORTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Ellen hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

I have to say I chose this as my place to stay because I was intrigued to visit the hotel with my last name (Hart) on Islay. It is old and dated, not much has been upgraded, there is no internet service anywhere, in fact they only have one terminal to accept credit cards, so to pay for dinner you have to go out to the registration desk.
But the staff is very friendly and eager to help you get around the island.
After all when you are coming for the terrific Port Ellen area whiskey you dont really need to fuss with extras at the hotel.
Evening meal in the restaurant was not great, but breakfast was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

Stayed 3 nights during the low season, staff were friendly but difficult to find at times. Breakfast was fantastic- cereal, porridge and full Scottish all on offer.

We ate in twice, food was pub grub with very large portion sizes. Nothing fancy.

The rooms are basic- they lack bedside tables. The wardrobes are just boxes that are open to the room which is rather odd. In my room the curtains didn't open properly, and in another room the door to the bathroom crashed against the sink.

All in all it was ok, although I'd probably try somewhere else if I came again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccaE86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Around the world
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Here's our review, based on our 9B criteria

* Bedroom - good size with TV, and wonderful view over into the harbour.
* Bed - firm mattress, comfy.
* Bathroom - big enough for a bath, great toiletries from the Scottish Fine Soaps company.
* Breakfast - good selection of the usual, with fresh cooked breakfast made to order. Everything tasty apart from the sausages.
* Bar - there is a small bar next to the dining room and also a very traditional hotel lounge, with sofas and armchairs, and TV in the corner - no doubt the same layout as the old days when there were no TVs in bedrooms and the lounge was the focal point of the hotel. There is a separate and wide whisky menu (of course), covering all the Islay variants. There is also a separate pub linked to the hotel next door, so you are well-catered for!
* Bods - generally very friendly, especially the young barman who was keen to discuss the whisky range.
* Budget - reasonable value. We ate dinner there twice, the food was always delicious and fairly priced.
* Back (i.e. would we return?) - Yes, it is well located and we enjoyed our stay.
* Beyond the hotel...we hired bicycles, got dropped off at Kilchoman and were able to also cover Bruichladdich, Bowmore, Laphroaig, Lagavulin and Ardbeg on the same day. Previously we had visited Bunnahabhain and Caol Ila by car, plus taken the ferry to Jura too. The ferry terminal is a short distance away from the hotel (can be seen from the ferry).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickAndPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

We went to the restaurant tonight for a meal to celebrate my sons birthday. From when we went into the cocktail bar until we left the restaurant we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. Our food was served to our table in good time, looking and tasting amazing. Very well priced food and drink in nice surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank greengode454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Went there for dinner on a monday night, waited for about an hour and half before being seated for our order. food was good, but nothing special and lacking vegetables! Staff were friendly and very apologetic.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Ellen
10.6 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Ellen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
9.5 mi away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
4.4 mi away
Glenegedale Guest House
Glenegedale Guest House
#1 of 1 in Glenegedale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
10.9 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#1 of 1 in Bridgend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 1 Charlotte Street, Port Ellen PA42 7DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Ellen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Ellen
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of the village of Port Ellen, our quaint 19 bedroom hotel offers comfortable accommodation complemented by an excellent seasonal menu, and of course a wonderful selection of the Islay malts for which our little island is renowned. Within a stones throw of Port Ellen ferry terminal, a short drive from the island's airport and with easy access to the local bus service, getting to and from the hotel couldn't be easier. A warm highland welcome guaranteed, we look forward to making your stay on the Isle of Malts, an experience to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Islay/Port Ellen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing