We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A traditional Scottish hotel on Islay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of White Hart Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Ellen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Ellen
Maidenhead, England
Level Contributor
182 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A traditional Scottish hotel on Islay”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Expect to pay a premium price on Islay as nearly everything has to be imported. Rooms are categorised as First Class, Saloon Class, Steamer Class and Cabin Class but only the first two are en-suite. I had a Steamer Class single room which was £60 for bed and breakfast and I had a sea view. Actually, the bathroom was just across the corridor which was very convenient and there were fresh towels every day. My only disappointment was that breakfast was completely self-service, including the hot dishes and toast so it was a bit of a cheek to leave a dish for staff tips. Some people are very generous.

Room Tip: For a single room, book Room 6 (Steamer Class) as the bathroom is just across the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shieldsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    26
    17
    23
    23
See reviews for
6
24
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Came tired down from a 5 day camping. Asked if it was posible to get a shower. No prob..Mayby have a rom. No prob. got a little cabin, but bet the hell out of my tent. Nice people. Wery good down to earth food. See you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We just dined here as we couldn't get in to the Islay Hotel but although a little tired looking the food was great. Kids had sausage, beans and chips, adults had haddock and chips. Honestly, the fish was hanging off the plate it was that large and it was perfectly cooked. No room for puddings after that but the restaurant was quite busy and all dishes looked lovely and portions huge.

A great and unexpected feast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suduperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Rooms are functional, beds comfortable. As stated by other reviewers, the hotel is a bit dated.

Beware the noisy interior doors on second floor...that bang as people pass through. Breakfast was nicely done, though a bit institutional. Friendly clerk at check in, but,then, everyone was friendly during the Malt andMusic festival!

Convenient location for tours to lagavulin, laphroig and ardbeg.

Would be my backup choice for next trip if no B and B available.

Room Tip: Away from stairs and breakfast room (it is on second floor...)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catydid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were here for Islay Rugby Sevens and as an oldie prefered a hotel bed to camping!! The Hotel rooms were clean, functional with comfy beds perfect after a days rugby!! The restaurant food was excellent and the breakfast excellent and plenty of it! The staff were brilliant friendly and very attentive. Can't wait till next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRuncie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We visited Port Ellen and were recommended to the White Hart by friends We were not disappointed and eat in the restaurant 4 out of our 5 night stay .
Yes the building is old but with character and great charm.The rooms perhaps dated but clean warm and bright. Most front facing rooms with super views over Port Ellen bay .Staff were most obliging and the service was friendly and efficient .The restaurant is excellent with varied menu and reasonably priced. Good food-- try Hebridean chicken or "chef special " steak pie --perfect meal !
The hotel bar attract local characters all with a tale to tell .Good atmosphere and delicious bar meals served.
We would have no hesitation in recommending the White Hart Hotel and will certainly visit again
Thank you Ishbelle ,twins ,chef and all the staff for a most enjoyable stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert186518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were camping on Islay for the weekend and planned on ending our trip in Port Ellen. However, following a cold reception in Bowmore we ended up heading for Port Ellen a night early and were told that the White Hart Hotel offered space for tents. A quick phone call confirmed that we could camp in the beer garden at the hotel and we cycled on down to Port Ellen. Upon arrival, the hotel told us that we could camp for 2 nights and have hot showers (towels provided) for no charge! They also informed us that due to there being no reservations that we would have to eat elsewhere and they happily gave us several alternatives - we ate at the Islay Hotel which was really good! After dinner we went back to the bar at the White Hart and had a great night playing darts and having a few beers. The next day, following visits to Laphroaig and Lagavulin, we spent the afternoon watching sport at the White Hart Hotel bar and then headed for dinner at the Islay Hotel again before coming back again for another great at the White Hart bar.
Even though we weren't guests at the hotel, the staff were so helpful and warm showers/great camping spot/good beer + whisky were all heavily welcomed by us. Thanks again White Hart Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StewartWilson89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Ellen
10.6 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Ellen
360 reviews
9.5 mi away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowmore
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Glenegedale Guest House
Glenegedale Guest House
#1 of 1 in Glenegedale
497 reviews
10.8 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
118 reviews
10.9 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#1 of 1 in Bridgend
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 1 Charlotte Street, Port Ellen PA42 7DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Ellen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Ellen
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of the village of Port Ellen, our quaint 19 bedroom hotel offers comfortable accommodation complemented by an excellent seasonal menu, and of course a wonderful selection of the Islay malts for which our little island is renowned. Within a stones throw of Port Ellen ferry terminal, a short drive from the island's airport and with easy access to the local bus service, getting to and from the hotel couldn't be easier. A warm highland welcome guaranteed, we look forward to making your stay on the Isle of Malts, an experience to remember. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Islay/Port Ellen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing