We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream come true”
Review of 40 Pier Road

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Ellen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
40 Pier Road
Ranked #8 of 17 Port Ellen B&B and Inns
Northville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A dream come true”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

For years I have wanted to come to Islay. Staying in Port Ellen was a must as it was closest to the 3 places I wanted to visit the most (Ardbeg, Laphroigh, and Lagavulin). Not knowing much about Jim and Eleanor's place, we were very pleased to see how close it was to everything. Since there was 2 couples (4 of us), we had the whole upsatairs (including the kitchen). This make it so nice for us in the evening if we wanted to start happy hour at our place. It also was nice to be able to walk to the Islay Hotel or grocery store without having to drive. Everything about this place was to our liking,
Thank you for making a great memory!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_and_Kari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend on Islay. The location was excellent, straight off the ferry and the first house is Pier Road. The rooms were very spacious and spotlessly clean. Beautifully furnished with a comfortable sitting area with selection of guide books on the area. Large modern Bathroom with shower, plenty of hot water, toiletries and hair dryer. Hospitality tray with tea, coffee chocolate and luxury biscuits. Another bonus is the use of a fully equipped Kitchen situated in between the two bedrooms. Ideal for chilling your wine!

Breakfast was served great with lots of choice fruit juice, cereals, yoghurt, fruit, porridge, cooked breakfast, toast and as much tea and coffee as you liked. We had scrambled egg and salmon on the last morning which was very tasty.

Eleanor and Jim are perfect hosts, their hospitality is second to none! Nothing was too much trouble. They run a very professional business.

We would have no hesitation at all in recommending this accommodation.

To sum it up Pier Road is a superb B & B, in a beautiful location with excellent hosts! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slimelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We had a very nice stay here.
Eleanor and Jim were extremely helpful and friendly and provided us with everything we could possibly want.
We stayed in the Texa suite and it was very large, very modern and bright, comfortable and clean.
The breakfasts were the best we have had, including fresh fruit and homemade bread, and we enjoyed the black pudding, tattie scones and porridge.
We would warmly recommend this place to everyone who travels to Islay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marber71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

40 Pier Rd was a great place to base ourselves for a 3 night stay on Islay. Our room was very large, comfortable and spotlessly clean. There is a shared kitchen between the 2 rooms which is a huge blessing given the lack of food options I'm the area.

Breakfast was tasty and the host friendly and informative. The location is excellent too, just by the pier in Port Ellen. Views from the room out over the bay and a seal frolicking in the docks in front of the house just added to the atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaLaLauraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asseret israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Location is excellent. Easy parking. Home is very clean and tidy. Large rooms. Nice owner ready to help. Lent us a map and tour guide. Recommended places to tour. Generous breakfast. Close to the ferry and terminal.

Room Tip: We slept in a room facing to the street. it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norge
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We had a very nice stay here. Perfect location for us.
The hosts were very friendly and helpful.
The rooms was clean, and the bed was very very comfy. ( I like the bed soft )
I would recommend this place to everyone who travels to Islay.
It located 2 mins walk from the local pub Ardview.

Room Tip: Any roome here would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snorre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This is a lovely B&B. The location is superb. Literally a stones throw from the ferry port! Wonderful views over the bay. Sadly, we only stayed there for one night. It should have been two, but we missed the Kennacraig ferry, due to a puncture on one of our motorbikes! Jim & Eleanor were very understanding and gracious about it, which was much appreciated.
There are some lovely touches here. The Whiskey soap and more in the bathroom! Lovely biscuits, a nice selection of tea, coffee, hot chocolate in the room. What's more, the use of a kitchen, shared with the other room. Definitely a huge bonus.
We will certainly be back to this B&B. Next time we'll spend more time on Islay.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Texa Suite which has the option of making a queen size bed out of two singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CazzMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Ellen
11.1 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
36 reviews
10.7 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
284 reviews
12.8 mi away
Burnside Lodge
Burnside Lodge
#1 of 1 in Portnahaven
40 reviews
9.6 mi away
An Cuan
An Cuan
#11 of 13 in Bowmore
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 40 Pier Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Pier Road

Property: 40 Pier Road
Address: Pier Road 40 Frederick Crescent, Port Ellen PA42 7DJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Port Ellen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Port Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 40 Pier Road 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
40 Pier Road Islay/Port Ellen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing