We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
44
26
14
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
26
14
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room loch roag guest house the owner other guests callanish stones lovely view standing stones easy access stayed for nights private bathroom guest lounge down the road single room breakfast and dinner cycling trip good size
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Loch Roeg is situated in the perfect location for exploring Lewis and Harris. It is in the middle of the island and just a couple of miles away from the Callanish Stones. Donal and the other staff were very friendly and helpful. Although we arrived late on the first night, we were fitted in for dinner for which we were grateful as Lewis does not have an abundance of places to go to eat at. We had the large room on the ground floor with great views and a large bathroom. We had pretty stormy weather during our stay so we couldn't explore everything we wanted. When we return, we would definitely stay at Loch Roeg again.

Room Tip: Ground floor room was large with good views. It was next to the dining area so was a little noisy in the morning but as you have to get up to get breakfast, it wasn't too bad or far to go for breakfast.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MaggieRafalowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Loch Roag is beautifully positioned with views from the dining room over the distant loch. We stayed in the large, downstairs bedroom, which was classed as superior. This was a big room with a large bathroom. Both were clean but the bedroom was in need of a bit of redecorating. It was also cold, despite the time of year, and could, at times be quite noisy.The towels in the bathroom varied in both quantity and quality. Breakfasts were good and we had one evening meal here. However, the meals seemed to be served very much on the whim of the owners. We did not find times written anywhere and were told that breakfast would be served at 8.30. However, on the Saturday evening we were informed that breakfast would be at 9 the following day as it was Sunday, which left us wondering who benefitted most from this - the guests or the staff? Also, evening meals seemed a bit erratic and again, the owners seemed to put these on when it suited. This said, the food was good. It might be a good idea, especially if you are travelling by bike, to book a meal in advance as it is a long way from Loch Roag to the nearest hotel/restaurant. Despite the niggles, Loch Roag is good, especially if you get a loch-view room.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for five nights so we could visit the attractions on Lewis. The B&B was very central allowing us to go North, West or East (more convenient than Stornoway).We had the king sized room which was very spacious. I was a little disappointed that the bed was a little short (I am 6'4") but it was very wide to make up. The ensuite was large and well appointed. We were on the ground floor and there was noise from the first floor with people walking about.
The father & son running the place were a little reserved but helpful. Breakfast was to a good standard. The serving staff were bright and bubbly.
They also do evening meals (which were very good) if you book in advance but not necessarily every night. For evening meals there is a hotel about five miles North which is open 7 days a week (Doune Braes Hotel). Alternatively you can go to Stornoway with more choice - about 14 miles.
All in all a good B&B in a wonderful area of Lewis.

Room Tip: The king size room was very spacious
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Wounded_Galaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Despite arriving around 10pm, we were made welcome by Donald himself. Breakfast each day was delicious and very filling. Every member of the family/staff were exceptionally kind. Our son and his partner luckily were able to be accommodated as a last minute booking and, as they had been roughing it for a number of nights the family were good enough to do their laundry. Very much appreciated. My husband and I stayed for 6 nights and,despite a variety of weather conditions we were comfortable either in our room or the guest lounge if we were tardy in setting off to explore this beautiful though rugged island. We stayed in room 6. Large and spotless. Our son stayed in next building room 1 which though smallish suited them and also had a beautiful guest lounge. Thoroughly recommended establishment.

Room Tip: Room 6 is great. Ground floor large and great for views across the fields over to the loch.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poppybess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights in this great B&B owned by Donald. Very clean and comfortable. Great food - breakfast and evening meals. Donald is an excellent cook and even went the extra mile sourcing us fresh lobster and crayfish served with delicious home made mayonnaise. Staff are lovely too, very friendly. Dad (Neil) jolly and great conversationalist, full of local information. B&B great location, close to Callandish stones but also easy access to Stornaway and the roads to Port Ness and Harris. Very enjoyable stay, Other guests share stories of their travels in dining room at breakfast time and in lounge after dinner. no complaints go enjoy !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 86genuine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews