We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Breasclete!”
other travellers have booked this property
The property (on the left) from the main road
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The property (on the left) from the main road
Taigh Granaidh Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The property (on the left) from the main road
Taigh Granaidh
Lounge
Master Bedroom
Front bedroom
Twin Room
Kitchen / Dinette
Shower Room
Bathroom
House from garden
Front garden coming into its own in early summer
View from lounge
Sunset from croft
View from hills a short walk out the back of the house towards Harris hills
Winter sunset from croft
Callanish Stones (5 minutes by car)
Shingle shore on Loch Roag a short walk from croft
Beach view from Great Bernera
Loch Roag from Breasclete Pier
Dalmore beach in Carloway (10 minutes by car)
Loch Amhister popular for trout fishing (5 minutes by car)
Rear garden
Garden
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Breasclete, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elaine L
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Breasclete!”
Reviewed 7 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Granny's House. Breasclete. Isle of Lewis.

We had a lovely stay in a well equipted and cosy little house. Had everything we needed and more thanks to the welcome pack and delicious homemade pancakes that were there on arrival on a cold wet night!

Beautiful surroundings. Situated near to the Callanish Stones and many other attractions it was a perfect place for travelling to them. The owners also have a Harris tweed loom in adjoining building and it was fascinating to see how it was done!!

We would definitely recommend and hopefully be back! Thanks x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan C
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in lovely Lewis”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The location of Taigh Granaidh is excellent being a short drive from many good tourist attractions. The cottage itself could not be bettered. Extremely comfortable, warm, very well equipped and a joy to come back to everyday. Despite very changeable weather, we had a lovely week. Kenny and Caroline, the owners, were very helpful with Kenny showing us his weaving shed and giving us a practical demonstration of weaving Harris tweed. Caroline provided lovely welcoming touches like milk, wine, butter, eggs and biscuits and we also bought some more eggs from her (totally delicious). We had two dogs with us and they enjoyed the garden and living in the massive kitchen (also meeting Dot and Sheila ) We have stayed in many cottages in Scotland but Taigh Granaidh is certainly the best we have had. We felt quite sad to leave it and would highly recommend this cottage to anyone coming to Lewis.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2017
Thank you. Lovely to meet you. Hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary O
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Taigh Granaidh gives you exactly what you need.”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I stayed here for 2 weeks, July 2017. The house is clean, comfortable, and is in a lovely place. A sunset view of the loch, across the road; a backyard perfect for morning coffee with chickens clucking in the background; and rolling hills behind the house, with cairns atop the summits. Walking those hills each day was the perfect way to train for the West Highland Way. Blackhouse Village is just down the road as are the Callanish Stones and the superb cafe (fresh, simple, delightful fare). But, this is an amazing place for many reasons, the care and nurturing of the land and the house by the owners, Caroline and Kenny, being one of the best They are delightful in themselves. It was fun to watch Caroline's passion for Hebcelt,a music festival which she started years ago and still oversees. (I went: it was wonderful!). And to listen to Kenny talk about his passion for weaving, as he is one of the most accomplished of Harris Tweed's weavers, and to see him in action, truly gives you the full scope of what it means to be an artisan. This was the beginning of a month stay in Scotland for this American, and a better beginning I could not have had. Thank you for such a wonderful experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Lovely to meet you all and to see how much you all enjoyed the area. Hope your walk went well.
All the very best til next time.
Caroline & Kenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CakesforD...
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a perfect location”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Taigh Granaidh had everything you could expect from a holiday cottage and more! Very comfortable and well equipped, with beautiful views of the amazing sunsets. Well situated for exploring the west side of Lewis and also for venturing further afield as desired. The owners were friendly and helpful and the weaving demonstration from Kenny was fascinating. Fresh eggs from the chickens out the back, and a welcome back containing Caroline's really delicious home made pancakes. Definitely recommend as a place to stay in Lewis.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thanks for this, lovely to meet you all and thanks too for being model guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balihoi69
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, comfortable, lovely location.”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great time at 'Granny's'.
Was exactly what we were looking for, all the comforts of home in a great location.
Lovely sunsets in the evening. Set back from the road you get a real feeling of being away and it is nice and quiet.
The owners were lovely too, happy to help us with any questions we had.
When we arrived there were fresh eggs(from the chickens on site), bread, wine and a few other things. which was a lovely surprise.
We would definitely recommend Granny's Home to anyone looking to get away from it all.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2017
Thank you, was lovely to meet you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat D
Courtenay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Cozy, well-equipped cottage. Warm welcome along with a useful pack of milk, butter, cheese, oatcakes, eggs and wine! Good location to explore this wild, rugged, beautiful island. We were blessed with incredible weather with some lovely sunrises and sunsets. Kenny gave us a demonstration of his weaving skills which was a bonus and we went on to tour the mill at Carloway which was very interesting. Lots to see and do and would go back to Taigh Granaidh and Lewis in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cozy, well equipped
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
So lovely to meet you all. You would be welcome back in a heartbeat. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frans G
Kleinbettingen, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feel like home !”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent one wonderful week with our 2 dogs in the house ! Our hosts, Caroline and Kenny, were so kind and always available for us. They did everything which was possible to make our stay the most comfortable and enjoyable holiday we could get. The house was beautifully decorated, perfectly clean, with full equipment inside, and, when we arrived, there was a kind "welcome gift" awaiting us in the kitchen ! A superb privative garden around the house, and, last but not least, the view from the living-room was unique !!!!
So, thank you very much for your hospitality, Caroline and Kenny ! Frans and Betty

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The isle of Harris.
Liked least: The rain :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
It was lovely to meet you all. Very best.
Caroline & Kenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing