We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If you visit the Isle of Lewis and Harris, this...”

Review of An Taigh Clach

'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
180' panorama from the living area Living area and multi fuel stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
112 reviews
'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
180' panorama from the living area
Living area and multi fuel stove
Multifuel stove + a wee dram
Well equipped kitchen
Hallway to bedrooms and shower room
Shower room
Twin room
Double bedroom
Garden & utility shed
Peat - aromatic burning on a cool evening
Peat cutting - back breaking work but worth the effort
Sunset over Garenin - next stop America!
Kite surfing on a long summer's day
Doune Carloway Broch - 2 miles from 'An Taigh Clach'
Wild flowers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 112 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Floridian...
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you visit the Isle of Lewis and Harris, this is where you must stay!”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

An Taigh Clach is not to be missed! This is a home put together with loving care and great taste. The hosts, Val and Calum, are extremely hospitable without being intrusive. They met us on arrival to show us around and made themselves available if needed. All amenities are state of the art, the home is spotless, the views are exquisite and the kitchen had everything you could possibly need including freshly baked scones, breads and a bottle of wine. The location is an easy drive to the "Black Houses", the Callanish stones and the Butt of Lewis. This is a stunning area. The weather was showery when we were there and is was lovely anyway. This was definitely the highest quality and best value accommodation we had in all of Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
213rhunte...
Peebles, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Staying at An Taigh Clach made our holiday on Lewis perfect. We were blessed with great weather but even if it had been poor the house is so beautiful, is in such a great setting and is so well equipped that our stay would still have been comfortable and enjoyable. The welcome from Valerie and Calum was so warm and friendly that we immediately began to relax into our holiday, and they continued to offer just the right amount of advice and assistance throughout our stay. All the little extras (tasty treats waiting for us on arrival, offers of locally caught seafish) added to our enjoyment. This place is very special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful property and location and the friendly welcome
Liked least: Nothing not to like!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamsy17
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage and even more fabulous host!”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned from the most wonderful week away on the breathtaking Isle of Lewis.
The weather wasn't always sunny but we have had the most relaxing week.
Our children are six and 4 so we need to be able to do lots, even when the weather is not great. The cottage is in prime location to explore the island and the Isle of Harris too.
Val, the owner of the cottage, could not have been more attentive or kinder. When we arrived, she had lit the stove and put hot water bottles in the children's beds. There were delicious homemade cakes, chocolates and wine and she had done an 'at cost' shop so the fridge was full. Oh, in the freezer there were joints of lamb from her own croft.
During the week she was always on hand to ask for advice. She sourced crab and live lobster for us to cook. A real treat and experience, especially for our children. They called him Jumpy!
When something went wrong with our car, she was able to offer us contact details of a local garage.
One of the highlights of the holiday was letting the children meet her friendly herd of cows and getting to feed Barney the lamb!
What more can I say? It's a bit of trek to get there, even from Edinburgh, but go!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodester
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Cottage, in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at An Taigh Clach for the second time in May. Val welcomed us when we arrived and was very helpful in giving us directions to nice beaches and Calum was only too keen to share with us the history of his family and the island.

The cottage is finished to a very high standard with everything you would need for your stay, very spacious and has some stunning views of the surrounding area. Calloway is beautiful and an excellent place to 'just get away from it all'.

High recommended. We'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean D
Mwew
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem on the Isle of Lewis”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It far exceeded our expectations. It was a wonderful cottage which contained every thing and more that you would wish for in a holiday cottage. The wood burning stove was perfect for the chilly May evenings, making it very cosy. The kitchen had all the gadgets - coffee machine, microwave and many more. The bedding was crisp and clean, and the bathroom with a spacious shower was spotless, An ideal location for exploring all the island. The owners lived a short distance away, they welcomed us on arrival with fresh scones and a comprehensive brief on the cottage and local facilities. This was truly an outstanding place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage
Liked least: The showery weather!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A-Canny-M...
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Hebridean experience”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the beginning of May and thoroughly enjoyed the experience from start to finish. Valerie welcomed us after a long drive and we immediately felt at home. The stone house is well appointed, comfortable and characterful, with a log and peat burning stove and quality finishes throughout.

It's in a great area too - rich history, heritage, geology, bird life etc.. It's worthwhile travelling both to the north and south of Carloway for the stunning coastline walks, views and ancient sites.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarpDivaC...
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven on the edge of the world”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

If you are seeking peace and quiet far from the "real" world, this is the place! You can't get much farther from your real world life than the far western edge of the Isle of Lewis. But at An Taigh Clach, you are in the middle of the rugged, rocky hills or Lewis with a view of the sea, but you are surrounded by wonderful luxuries and comfort. The house is gorgeous, with walls of windows looking out at the wild land around you. It has every modern comfort you could want, a beautiful modern bathroom and kitchen with every appliance you could need, plenty of heat from electric heaters but also a touch of the past with a peat burning stove - very cozy! The owner, Val, was wonderful, stocking the freezer with lamb from their farm, offering to do our shopping for us to stock the kitchen before our arrival, welcoming us with delicious home-made pastries and bottles of wine. We came wanting peace and solitude and a feeling of being in a very different place and we definitely got exactly that without giving up our modern comforts! Such a lovely place. I strongly recommend it to you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The many windows and wonderful view
Liked least: It was kind of hard to find if I came back after dark
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing