We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful recharging environment”

Review of An Taigh Clach

'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
180' panorama from the living area Living area and multi fuel stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
109 reviews
'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
180' panorama from the living area
Living area and multi fuel stove
Multifuel stove + a wee dram
Well equipped kitchen
Hallway to bedrooms and shower room
Shower room
Twin room
Double bedroom
Garden & utility shed
Peat - aromatic burning on a cool evening
Peat cutting - back breaking work but worth the effort
Sunset over Garenin - next stop America!
Kite surfing on a long summer's day
Doune Carloway Broch - 2 miles from 'An Taigh Clach'
Wild flowers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 109 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
douglas s
penicuik
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful recharging environment”
Reviewed 7 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Our fifth visit to An Taigh Clach. The welcome from both Calum and Valerie was outstanding. The house is very comfortable and well appointed, we love it.
Wonderful to awake to bird song and watch the lambs frolicking over grass covered stones from the comfort of the spacious lounge. Altogether the views are astounding, the colours and light phenomenal. The comfort of a chilled white wine, a good red and a very grand malt on arrival was much appreciated. The home baking did not last long.
We had a glorious week of warm sunshine, the air is soft and the water to drink is sweet.
The beaches of Lewis and Harris are extraordinary and beautiful.
We will be back.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Famil...
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“For us - easily the best cottage in Lewis!”
Reviewed 7 June 2018 for a stay in April 2018

I think this was our 6th stay at An Taigh Clach. It's everything we want from a holiday home - VERY clean, super cozy (with a proper log burner with plenty of logs/peat provided), always a great welcome (with flowers/home baked food/wine/whiskey AND a freezer of local lamb etc!!!) and it's at the center of all our favorite Lewis locations.

Thank you once again Valerie and Calum - we will be back! :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom F
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect home base for exploring Lewis & Harris”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My wife, myself and our two dogs stayed here for one week, mid-September
2017. Our main problem when finding somewhere to stay during holidays are
always the dogs, as many decent-quality lets do not allow pets. This here
is one of the relatively few exceptions in this price and quality range.

This was our first trip to the Outer Hebrides. We've hovewer been to Skye a
few times, so we knew what (and what not) to expect, in general.

The owners, Valerie and Calum, are extremely nice and helpful, always happy
to give assistance and advice, and going out of their way to help. Calum
even taught me how to prepare crab and lobster (which they organised for us
as well). They also provided useful instructions in advance for how to get
here. The place is just over a half-hour drive from the big city, bright
lights (no, not really...) that is Stornoway with all its amenities, in
particular the two large supermarkets - the only ones on the island (there
are some few small shops elsewhere). Notice that most everything is shut on
Sundays.

The house itself is lovely, and relatively recently refurbished. The front
part contains the living room and kitchen, with marvellous views. There are
two comfy sofas, some smaller tables, a dining table, and the kitchen
itself. The latter has oven, hob, washer/dryer, microwave, toaster, kettle,
all the little gadgets and tools you would expect, and more. There are some
basic groceries in the cupboards. I genuinely haven't missed a thing during
my stay there. Heating is via a wood/peat fireplace in the living room
(fuel is provided generously), or alternatively electric heaters on the
walls. Either will heat up the place in no time at all. Much to my
surprise, there's even reasonably fast fibre broadband; quicker than at
home, as it were. There's also a comprehensive little library with maps and
some local interest books, plus some games.

We enjoyed our stay there tremendously. Only thing is I wish we'd planned
for two weeks instead of just one.

The weather this time of the year is best described as variable; be sure to pack one or two good rain coats. It certainly doesn't rain all the time, but a proper shower can soak you good in no time at all. The wellies proved very useful as well. (On the plus side, there are hardly any midges left.) Be sure to book your ferries well in advance.

We've fallen in love with Lewis & Harris, and we will definitely be back - not just to the island, which is just as beautiful but less crowded than Skye, but to this very house, if at all possible - it's the perfect home base for exploring the island!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage, stunning location”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic week at An Taigh Clach, the cottage is lovely and cosy and immaculately clean. Val (the owner) made us very welcome and on arrival we were greeted by a plate of scones and home-made cakes, fresh flowers and bottle of wine, which were such lovely touches. The views are gorgeous and it's off the beaten track which is just what we needed, a real tranquil location, but also central for exploring Lewis and Harris. We went to most beaches on the west coast but the local beach (approx 2 miles away) was voted by the kids (and dog!) as the best! Would highly recommend to anyone wishing to explore the western isles.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F8149TBja...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week up here with our dogs. Val and Calum's hospitality was amazing. We were greeted on arrival with the wood being stove up and running and some home baked goodies, wines and salmon in the freezer - undoubtedly the best welcome anywhere we have been. Val also took time to give us a quick user friendly tour of the house which was great!

The accommodation is first class, from the panoramic views to the fine touches of fresh flowers in and around the house (including the beautifully fresh cuts roses in the bathroom). It is also strategically placed in Carloway: peace and tranquility but within easy reach of the beautiful beaches at Bosta and Uig. An hour's drive also took us to Luskentyre and Seiliebost beaches or half an hour over to Stornoway for some shopping (although the local mills also offer a great range of Harris Tweeds to buy). Although we didn't manage to get down to Scarista beach or Rodel, this gives us a great reason to return to Val and Calum's beautiful place again in the future.

Thanks for an amazing holiday and being great hosts. I would highly recommend An Taigh Clach to anyone wanting to have high quality accommodation coupled with breathtaking scenery.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect location to unwind”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Our 9th visit to this wonderful place and our love for the place does not diminish. We, in fact, booked for two weeks this time and could have easily stayed for 4 weeks. Found some more superb quiet beaches this visit and had the weather for a few beach picnics. Went on a great trip to St Kilda for my birthday present and can you tick that off my bucket list. The addition of the restaurant at nearby 40 North is another great bonus.

Val, Calum and Murdo were as hospitable as always and look forward to our 10th visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevespre...
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“simply the best..”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We frequently rent holiday properties and an taigh clach is the best appointed cottage we have ever rented. it is in a great location for exploring the island. Some highlights for us were:
The home bakes, wine and dram welcome pack along with the friendly and helpful welcome from valerie
The craich with Calum and his insightful guidance on places to go and the history of the islands
The 270 degree panorama with its ever changing view (you`ll spend a lot of time staring out of the window)
The ambience generated by the log/peat burner
Having a dram (or two) watching the sunset and listening to the sheep, cuckoos and corncrakes.
we hope to visit again soon
steve & lena

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing