We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home...”
Review of Blue Pig Studio

Blue Pig Studio
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Carloway
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Home from home...”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Lovely welcoming studio. Jane and Peter are such lovely people. There is always coffee or tea on offer with some home baked cake whilst you can browse the studio and pick up a piece of amazing original art work or jewellery... Or you can just sit outside with your coffee admiring the view... Well worth a visit either to or from the Blackhouse Village...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JReevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    9
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
glasgow scotland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“fantastic hospitality”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

A wonderful visit to the Blue Pig. Hospitality wonderful. Fantastic exhibits and a warm welcome. Great wee fridge outside to stock up on essentials, when shop closed. A must place to visit .

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tiredandhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great wares”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Friendly owner and tons of beautiful locally-made wares to admire and purchase. Also a very friendly cat on site.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank laughinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

Ok, so I am biased.... We visit Lewis every year and love the place. The blue pig studio is on our list, a must as
somewhere to visit. We always get a warm and friendly welcome from. Jane and her husband. They will make soup on a cold day, and tea and scones always seen to be available ! The gAllery is a wonderful mix of hand crafted items, sourced locally together with Jane's mixed media work. There are many very talented artists and craft workers in the area, and this is well represented here. I very much disagree with the comments shown here. For me it really is something very special, and the goods for sale are well priced. This is high quality craft works.... Would you expect it to be cheap ? No way.

Jane is a very talented lady, very warm, a real ray of sunshine. I have spent time in her studio, working with the range of craft materials she has, pure heaven. Craft joy !

Everyone is welcome, do pop in and see them, for me.... Can't Wait for June !

Helpful?
Thank Jessie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This is one of a growing number of studios and art shops on Lewis. It seems to ship much of the stuff in the shop in from other craft studios, and what it makes itself is somewhat eclectic. The main impression however is that it is rather expensive: we found the same items elsewhere in other craft studios on Lewis at considerably smaller prices.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank John_from_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Pig Studio also viewed

Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
 
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
 

Been to Blue Pig Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing