We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extreamly over priced and a very rude owner.”
Review of Doune Braes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doune Braes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carloway
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed here for one night as all B&Bs in the area were full. At £120 a night and £100 deposit we thought it was already quite expensive but hoped for a pleasant stay with a nice double room and a friendly welcome. Unfortunately, when we arrived we were given a very basic room with a shower that only supplied boiling or freezing water and nothing in between. The general staff were very polite but could not help but to offer us a twin room rather than the double we had booked. We asked to speak to the manger who then came out and spoke to us in a very rude manner and suggested we go elsewhere as she'd offered us a solution. We would not recommend this hotel. Extremely over priced and rude management.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carterdickins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douneown, Owner at Doune Braes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

When these two ladies ( also see 'Outrageously overpriced dingy rooms' review) had trouble managing their shower, they were offered a large twin room adjacent to their double bedded room.
They refused this offer and demanded another double bedded room which we were unable to give as they were all taken. We therefore compromised, as they clearly did not want a twin room, and we enabled them to have the use of the shower next door. They seemed to accept this solution & gave no further complaints. We are sorry they did not enjoy their stay, but we did our best to accommodate their wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here for one night on our cycling trip up the island. The room was by far the most expensive of anywhere we stayed on the island, yet it was dingy and unpleasant. The shower didn't work, and the manager was surly and unhelpful when we complained that £120 for a night in a dark and dated room with no shower was extortionate. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirifr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

On a short visit to the West side of Lewis we decided to have dinner in the Doune Braes. We had eaten there six or seven years previously, and had enjoyed our meal then. Sadly the experience was not repeated. First impressions were good, as a friendly waitress showed us to our table and gave us the menus. That was when alarm bells started to ring. The menu showed little sign of imagination, nor of local produce or sea food.
For starter I chose "Shell-on prawns pan fried in garlic". The prawns, when they came, had no shells, were very small, and obviously just out of a packet in the freezer. The main of chicken and chips, whilst acceptable, was again from the freezer to the deep frier. The Haggis was again perfectly acceptable, but overpriced.
This hotel has a beautiful situation, and with the increased amount of tourism locally could have a growing clientèle, but is let down by an uninspiring and overpriced menu. Sadly, I will not return until I hear that things have changed in this respect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank iain789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed for two nights at Doune Braes Hotel at the end of a fortnight trip to Skye and the Outer Hebrides and were very disappointed. This was the most expensive accommodation we had stayed in and the lowest standard.The room we had was very dated and poorly furnished. toiletries provided were disappointing in comparison with other places we had stayed. The towels did not even coordinate, the bedding was tired and needed updating. The corridors smelt stale and were not very inviting.
The food was also a disappointment to us. It was more expensive than other hotels we had eaten in, portions were small and the local fish and meat that the hotel boasts to serve in its adverts was difficult to find on the menu.
We will look for alternative accommodation when we return to Lewis.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fab_rhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Our third visit and we stayed in our favourite Broch Suite which has had a complete makeover since last summer. It is very nice with lounge, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom and not much dearer than a double room. The staff are very friendly and knowledgable and always have time for a chat. On arrival we were greeted by Max a loveable sheepdog and a whole family of ducks and ducklings who spend the day on the small locken in front of the hotel.
The food was really good and mainly locally sourced, lovely meat and shellfish and scottish type food, my first try of deep fried haggis balls which I actually liked!. Breakfast was really good and set you up for the day.
The restaurant was welcoming and comfortable with no sense of being rushed in any way.
All in all a very nice three days and we will certainly be back again.

Room Tip: Choose the Broch Suite for a very peaceful stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picman7096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here when my ferry from stornoway was cancelled. The hotel used to be a school. The hotel needs updating - the decor is very outdated. My room was cold and I couldn't figure out how to turn on the heat. In order to take a shower I had to open a window to let the steam escape - otherwise I would have set off the fire alarm. The menu is blah.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Very friendly staff. Food good except for the very watery porridge - avoid. The bedroom was clean but having a very slopping roof both in the main bedroom and the bathroom felt a bit claustrophobic and you had to keep bending to avoid hitting your head. Thin walls and a very dingy corridor did not do the hotel justice. We booked through Hebredian Hop Scotch a vey good tour company and so all the ferries and hotels were prepaid. Upon leaving the hotel we were asked to pay the remainder of our bill We explained that we were paid up in full and also had handed in our paperwork. We were booked in under a different name. It all felt a bit disorganised.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carloway
14.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
303 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
293 reviews
15 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
346 reviews
14.9 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
112 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#6 of 24 in Stornoway
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doune Braes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doune Braes Hotel

Address: Carloway HS2 9AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Carloway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carloway
Price Range: £146 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Doune Braes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Doune Braes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Doune Braes
Doune Braes Hotel Carloway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing