We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hebridean home from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Doune Braes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Doune Braes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carloway
Kincardine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Hebridean home from home!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Doune Braes Hotel twice recently. As a regular visitor on the Island, I decided to stay at the Doune Braes Hotel after many enjoyable experiences there, as an evening guest in their restaurant and bar. I was not disappointed. A friend and I checked into the Hotel for 3 nights initially this August. The owner of the hotel greeted us personally with a very warm welcome. We stayed in a 'more than' comfortable twin room with an generous size en suite bathroom. My friend made the booking, and we were delighted to find that they had managed to accommodate us both exactly in a room with a bath and shower as requested. The rooms were serviced daily by very efficient and friendly staff and the standard of hygiene was excellent. The Doune Braes offers a home from home charm that creates a super relaxed atmosphere for guests.

The staff were all very friendly at Doune Braes, Bar staff to Housekeepers, and I was charmed that each one greeted us by name. I was so impressed by this and I think the friendly atmosphere helped encourage us to stay an extra two days!

The Doune Braes, not only offers great accommodation but it also boasts an excellent restaurant and a small Bar frequented by locals and tourists alike. For us Doune Braes created the perfect base for any visit to the west side of Lewis. The restaurant is comfortable and warm and boasts an impressive menu with a substantial vegetarian option. There is truly something for everyone on the menu, but if you are looking for something special just ask the staff about their daily specials! We wanted to experience all that we could of the local seafood, and the Chefs were delighted to to oblige! As an added bonus try the breakfast at Doune Braes! Simply perfect!

The Bar at Doune Braes is very friendly and typical of Hebridean hospitality. As a Whisky Ambassador I was particularly impressed by their stock of Malt Whisky but also enjoyed my introduction to Trawler Rum. (A local favorite) If you enjoy Island culture and hospitality, then you wont be disappointed by the Bar at Doune Braes. On any given visit I have been pleasantly greeted by staff and locals alike. Walkers, backpackers and local crofters all mix well in the warm surroundings and the staff go out of their way to make you feel at home.

My overall impression of Doune Braes is that it is a perfectly managed family run Hotel. Perfect for any stay on the west side of the Island. The owner works visibly hard to ensure that everyone is comfortable and I am already planning my next trip back to Doune Braes.

Thank you to Eileen and all her staff for making our stay so memorable....I cant wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh1fife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    43
    32
    20
    17
See reviews for
28
54
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had a meal here 3 years ago and it was so bad that we vowed never to return. However, friends invited us to dinner and had booked the Doune Braes so we didn't like to pass comment and hoped for a better experience ... unfortunately it was just as bad! Now when a table is booked for four people there's a bit of a clue ... they would like to eat together. Not so at Doune Braes, our meals were not delivered together which meant the early meals had to be eaten or they would have gone cold whilst waiting for the other meals. We tried to ignore the poor service which we could have passed if only the meals had been enjoyable but only one of the four meals was acceptable. Needless to say, we will never return, there are not a huge number of venues on the island but this has to be the very worst we've experienced.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucindaLucile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carloway hotels

Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We visited the hotel for a meal while staying in the area. It was like going back in time, both in terms of decor and menu choices. The staff were very friendly if not a tad slow. We picked safe options on the menu (i.e. fish and chips) and it was nice. Given there isn't much in the locality they have a brilliant opportunity to modernise the restaurant and menu.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TT_Daventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed here for one night as all B&Bs in the area were full. At £120 a night and £100 deposit we thought it was already quite expensive but hoped for a pleasant stay with a nice double room and a friendly welcome. Unfortunately, when we arrived we were given a very basic room with a shower that only supplied boiling or freezing water and nothing in between. The general staff were very polite but could not help but to offer us a twin room rather than the double we had booked. We asked to speak to the manger who then came out and spoke to us in a very rude manner and suggested we go elsewhere as she'd offered us a solution. We would not recommend this hotel. Extremely over priced and rude management.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carterdickins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douneown, Owner at Doune Braes Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
When these two ladies ( also see 'Outrageously overpriced dingy rooms' review) had trouble managing their shower, they were offered a large twin room adjacent to their double bedded room.
They refused this offer and demanded another double bedded room which we were unable to give as they were all taken. We therefore compromised, as they clearly did not want a twin room, and we enabled them to have the use of the shower next door. They seemed to accept this solution & gave no further complaints. We are sorry they did not enjoy their stay, but we did our best to accommodate their wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here for one night on our cycling trip up the island. The room was by far the most expensive of anywhere we stayed on the island, yet it was dingy and unpleasant. The shower didn't work, and the manager was surly and unhelpful when we complained that £120 for a night in a dark and dated room with no shower was extortionate. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirifr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

On a short visit to the West side of Lewis we decided to have dinner in the Doune Braes. We had eaten there six or seven years previously, and had enjoyed our meal then. Sadly the experience was not repeated. First impressions were good, as a friendly waitress showed us to our table and gave us the menus. That was when alarm bells started to ring. The menu showed little sign of imagination, nor of local produce or sea food.
For starter I chose "Shell-on prawns pan fried in garlic". The prawns, when they came, had no shells, were very small, and obviously just out of a packet in the freezer. The main of chicken and chips, whilst acceptable, was again from the freezer to the deep frier. The Haggis was again perfectly acceptable, but overpriced.
This hotel has a beautiful situation, and with the increased amount of tourism locally could have a growing clientèle, but is let down by an uninspiring and overpriced menu. Sadly, I will not return until I hear that things have changed in this respect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank iain789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhu, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed for two nights at Doune Braes Hotel at the end of a fortnight trip to Skye and the Outer Hebrides and were very disappointed. This was the most expensive accommodation we had stayed in and the lowest standard.The room we had was very dated and poorly furnished. toiletries provided were disappointing in comparison with other places we had stayed. The towels did not even coordinate, the bedding was tired and needed updating. The corridors smelt stale and were not very inviting.
The food was also a disappointment to us. It was more expensive than other hotels we had eaten in, portions were small and the local fish and meat that the hotel boasts to serve in its adverts was difficult to find on the menu.
We will look for alternative accommodation when we return to Lewis.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fab_rhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carloway
14.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
183 reviews
14.6 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
289 reviews
14.9 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
254 reviews
9.7 mi away
Uig Lodge
Uig Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timsgarry
9 reviews
16.7 mi away
Borve Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doune Braes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doune Braes Hotel

Property: Doune Braes Hotel
Address: Carloway HS2 9AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Carloway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carloway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Doune Braes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Doune Braes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Doune Braes
Doune Braes Hotel Carloway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing