We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cosy Family Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Kitchen
Damore beach
Cliffs at back of croft
Blackhouse village
Blackhouse village
Surfing beach near house
View from house
Cafe in village
Sunset at Dalbeag beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jennyeave...
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Cosy Family Cottage”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage is located on the West coast of Lewis, just North of Callanish standing stones and around 30 minutes from Stornoway.

It is an updated 1950's cottage situated a 5 minute walk from the Gearannan Blackhouse Village. This also makes it incredibly easy to find! Just follow the signs for the blackhouse village until you are a little way past the lovely Blue Pig shop and you'll find it.

Outside the house is a small enclosed garden area. Perfect for children to run off any excess energy or to admire the views over the surrounding area.

The kitchen is beautifully modern with all the kitchen and utility amenities that you could want. The living room looks out over the beautiful village and fields, has plenty of books and games if you need them and a cosy open fire to keep you warm on autumn nights.

There are three bedrooms, two twin rooms and one double, all very clean and nicely furnished. There is a single bathroom at the back of the cottage with electric shower above the bath. The radiators are on a timer and give out an amazing amount of heat so it's unlikely to feel cold whilst you are staying at 27 Garenin. Our boys were always happy to come 'home' to their holiday cottage after a long day out.

The Blackhouse Village is only a 5 minute walk down toward the coast and the perfect place for a little explore of traditional houses in Lewis.

Whilst staying at the cottage we visited most of the main areas of Lewis and nowhere was more than a 45 minute drive away. The cottage is definitely in a great central location to visit the island. I also loved how friendly all the locals are, stopping to chat when you're walking through the village.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Thanks for your review and I agree Garenin is a lovely friendly place,which has drawn me back all my life.
The house is warm and the central heating amazingly effective, which I think is really important in Lewis especially when people are out and about so much.
I'm glad you found it central for visiting other places. I always think it is in a good part of the island with quite a lot to visit in the vicinity.
We are always trying to build up our stock of games and toys. my daughter has just passed on lots of children's books.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 10 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Very clean and nice house at a wonderfull location on the isle of lewis. Thank you for this Home away from home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
So glad you enjoyed the house and found it satisfactory for a group of 6.
Trying to make it a home from home is what we are trying to achieve and we like to maintain standards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmfraseru...
Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visit with pals”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Extremely comfortable and warm house. Well equipped kitchen with everything you would need to cook a variety of meals. Immaculately clean with lovely sheets and towels. Very cosy with central heating and a coal fire. It felt very much like staying in someone's own home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2017
I like everything to be well organised for guests as people should be able to relax and enjoy their holiday so that it is a real home from home.
Thanks very much for the positive review - makes all the hard work worthwhile
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egg58
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Super cottage great location”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the craft house for five nights in Sept. The location is perfect for seeing the sights of the Isle of Lewis. It was clean and cozy and had everything we needed. You can walk to a Blackhouse village and a small beach plus you have easy access to the west coast path. Additionallyi It is only a short drive to the Callanish Stones ,again, it was perfect for what we had wanted to do.
The cottage is in a somewhat remote location so we stocked up on groceries in Stornoway before we arrived .
If you are looking for a snug base to explore the west coast of Lewis this is perfection.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
Delighted to hear that the house met your expectations. I think it is a good base to explore the island with many attractions nearby and it is great to have this confirmed by visitors. We like to ensure the house is a comfortable base to return to at the end of a long day sightseeing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galluscat...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely house in beautiful area”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Easy to book the house and it was exactly as described on the site. Property was homely with great kitchen and very effective heating system. There were books and games and a lovely open fire. Views were spectacular and secure garden great for kids or dogs. There are sheep in the neighbouring croft but fortunately the fence in the garden is substantial. For those with dogs its a three min walk through the croft to open moorland at the back where there were no sheep. Neighbours proved to be friendly and we loved our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sense of peace and warmth in the house.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2016
I'm so glad you found the house exactly as described. I try to be as accurate as possible as people can be prepared for their holiday and have a much more enjoyable stay.it is a great place for walking with easy access to the common grazing land and on over to the beach at Dalmore.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom R
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Island Paradise for a Fortnight.”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our second time at this croft house. Great location with a great view over a loch onto the hills south on the island. Fabulous wildlife abounds, otters in the bay, eagles and sea eagles passing by, fantastic walking and climbing nearby and we had almost two weeks of wonderful weather. Definitely will go back. Relaxing at night with the fire on and talking about the day's activities made each day active but restful, and with very little TV watching. We even saw the Northern Lights out the back door, me for the first time in 29 years and for the other three, for their first time ever. Simply wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location and the open fire and an amazing night of the Northern Lights
Liked least: There were no sheep next door thsi time to keep Enzo our dog transfixed
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
Quite a few guests have seen the Northern Lights this year and wonderful sunsets are common. 4 seasons in one day as they say. The island is a definite must for those who love walking and exploring nature. A very elemental place to take you away from the stresses of modern life.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel P
Cilleyville, New Hampshire, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great stay in a nice home.”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Catriona really makes this house feel like a home. She was easy to communicate with and gave us great directions.
My kids enjoyed the unique kitchen chairs and I really enjoyed the electric blankets.
The neighbors were nice and we enjoyed watching the sheep. The bookcase was full of interesting books and we really enjoyed the view. The appliances worked and the house was well stocked.
The house was close to such amazing scenery and it really felt good to come "home" after a day of sightseeing. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and homey feel.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
I'm glad you found the house homely. We try to make sure it is comfortable and not just a standard rental house. I also try to ensure that the house retains its old features but its really important to have good modern appliances or a holiday becomes hard work. The books seem to be popular with many of them about the island and its history as well as some that are a "good read"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing