We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Worth it!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tigh-na-Greine

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relaxing at the fire with a cup of tea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Relaxing at the fire with a cup of tea
Walking the Postman path from Urgha to Renigidale, Harris
Two's company - Life on the edge
Surfing on the beach at Dalmore
Carloway sheep taking in the view of Loch Roag
Time for a dip
Do we have to go home already?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Andrew R
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth it!”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely reception from Isobel, cared that we were happy. Location excellent for a stroll or to look for birds. We saw cuckoos, heron and heard a corncrake. Excellent base to explore the rest of Lewis and Harris.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked it all and so did the other 3 people
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ljones13
Corner Brook, Canada
2 reviews
“Just loved everything about this cottage!”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our vacation stay at Tigh-na-Greine was perfect. The fact that the owners are available to help with any issue (there were none) and are friendly and informative, offering their knowledge of the area is a bonus. The cottage itself has all you need and more. It has a relaxing atmosphere, a lovely, quiet location, in which you can go for walks and see local sights. It is very easy to get anywhere on Lewis and Harris from Carloway also. The local shore is stunning as is anywhere you travel in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Carloway and ending our days in this cozy, comfortable cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage location offered us easy access to many areas of the island. Including a wonderful take away restaurant 40 North, which kept us fed very well.
Liked least: Have nothing negative to say.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeblake...
Otley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and cosy home from home”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely cottage. We arrived in a gale and Isobel welcomed us with a tray of tea and homemade cake and also had both the log burners going which was such a lovely treat on an awful day. The cottage is so comfortable and warm. The kitchen has everything you would need. The sofas and chairs in the sitting room are really comfy and the bathroom is modern with a fabulous shower! Isobel also let us store our bikes in the shed which was really helpful as many places don't have bike storage. The location is lovely, only a walk away from the Blackhouse village and a short drive to Callanish and the Broch. It's a great area for exploring the island as nothing is too far away. We would certainly come back here. Thank you Isobel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable lounge
Liked least: No tumble drier
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fra0ich
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“House set in a beautiful location surrounded by stunning scenery”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A very comfortable house, well appointed with everything you need to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible whilst staying there. On arrival met with a tray set for tea with a delicious cake. The house is very clean and tidy and is warm and welcoming. Nicely decorated throughout. We had a very relaxing holiday. Highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: It was just so cosy and relaxing to stay there
Liked least: that we were unable to stay longer; our holiday too short.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Ralst...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and unwind”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A lovely self catering cottage, in a great location. Situated ten minute walk away from Gearrannan Blackhouse Village . Great place to base yourself if you are a keen walker with two great coastal walks heading south or north at Gearrannan. The cottage is lovely, has everything you need with two log / coal burners which make it nice a cosy when relaxing at night. The owner is very welcoming and we really enjoyed our stay. There is also a nice church across the road with Sunday services. There is also a great take-away / deli about 15 mins drive away called 40 north. We'd come back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“well equipped and comfortable”
Reviewed 20 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a short week in May 2016. The owner provided a warm welcome from booking right up to our arrival and during our stay : fires laid, tea tray ready complete with cake!

The cottage is very comfortable and very well equipped - great kitchen with everything you could need. After several days of glorious weather, the temperature dipped so it was lovely to take the chill off with the wood burner.
For this trip, it was a perfect location - having explored Harris on previous trips we wanted to discover the west side of Lewis so was ideal. For Harris Tweed lovers, local weavers are a stones throw away and we had a couple great picnics on Lewis's fabulous beaches using the picnic bag from the cottage.
Information about local food outlets is provided to ensure we had all we needed to relax after a day in the car in this very peaceful part of the Outer Hebrides.
It would be lovely to return sometime...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage, idyllic location, and friendly reception.”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I was looking for a quiet retreat for the week with my 2 daughters (age 11 & 14) and we found exactly what we were looking for here. Our welcome was warm and friendly and the cottage had everything we needed. Its a good space, with the most well equipped kitchen I've ever seen! The beds were extremely comfortable and good sized with firm mattress so we all slept well. Location was quiet (about 45 mins drive from Stornoway) and close to some of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. Whilst we spent time sight seeing, we really enjoyed visiting the local beach just 5 minutes drive away. Also, whilst we stocked up on food just in case, there was really no need as plenty of restaurants within a short drive and a place called 40 North which, although described as a takeaway, had the most amazing selection of home cooked fresh food I have ever seen and we could have ordered our lunch from there and collected every day as they had a vast choice of healthy options. We were also delighted to find a wide selection of board games to keep us busy in the evenings (we had promised ourselves to get away from TV, phones, lap tops etc) so this was an added bonus. Would definitely recommend this particular cottage as we were so well catered for. My only word of caution is do no not expect to get a mobile signal - come prepared with change for the pay phone. However there is good wifi access so you can still send email and access social media from the cottage- I just chose not to share that info with the kids!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Local beach - spectacular waves and clean sand. No litter or cafe.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing