We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One week vacation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tigh-na-Greine

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Jonathan...
2 reviews
“One week vacation”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Lovely home and rooms, loved our stay. Great location for Lewis and the Beaches. Great walks around and peace and quiet. No problems with the house and we settled in straight away. Loved the views from it and nice wee garden too!

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Extraordi...
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A cosy cottage with a helpful and friendly host - very well situated for exploring the West coast of Lewis. We would love to return one day.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinderhil...
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect, cosy hideaway with every convenience and comfort.”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Tigh-na-Greine is a neat and well cared for cottage set in its own bird-loving garden with views over the little brook that feeds the loch, and the neighbouring, rolling hills.

We arrived exhausted, but left completely refreshed. Here we found warmth, comfort, peace and quiet, but with everything well appointed and just as listed in the details for us to enjoy our time reading, watching films, walking and resting.

With two wood burning stoves and a very efficient heating system, we were always warm. But just in case Isobel had thoughtfully provided hot water bottles, and rugs in all rooms. We were warm-as-toast. After wet walks the washing machine coped with all we put into it, and boots etc dried quickly.

Our beds were comfortable with excellent mattresses and linen. The kitchen offered all the equipment we could wish for and more. The whole house was pristine clean and easy to maintain.

As a weaver, I found many places of interest, and left with a car filled with yarns and fabric which I purchased from local weavers and the Calloway Mill who were kind enough to make time to show us all around their business.

As a walker, there were a myriad of coastal walks, a never-to-be-forgotten trip to the Callenish Stones, and breathtaking places to explore with beaches that can never be beaten, anywhere in the world, for their cleanliness, beautiful white sand and clean blue waters.

When we return we will be a bit more organised about bringing some food as there were few places we found to eat out, nor great choices of food to buy except in Stornoway. However, we did find some gems, among them scallops fresher than the day and HUGE! Bought those direct from the fishermen on the quay.

Date of stay: September 2015
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2017
I
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Passport6...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great holiday rental”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the cottage in September - 3 adults and 2 wee dogs - and despite mixed weather had a great time.
The location is great for all the tourist sites on the west of Lewis, down to Harris and also very handy for the back road across to Stornaway. And you can walk down to the beach good for waling of dinner and exercising dogs.
The cottage is well equipped (my sister-in-law loved the kitchen) and very comfortable. The owner is friendly and left us a delicious cake. When it rained we put on the fire and were very cosy!
If you don't want to cook there is a really good "take away" a few miles up the road but order in advance - its more good home cooking than fast food.
Happy to recommend this as a great holiday stay.

Date of stay: September 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the property
Liked least: THe dining area off the kitchen with no view out.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrew R
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth it!”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely reception from Isobel, cared that we were happy. Location excellent for a stroll or to look for birds. We saw cuckoos, heron and heard a corncrake. Excellent base to explore the rest of Lewis and Harris.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked it all and so did the other 3 people
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ljones13
Corner Brook, Canada
2 reviews
“Just loved everything about this cottage!”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our vacation stay at Tigh-na-Greine was perfect. The fact that the owners are available to help with any issue (there were none) and are friendly and informative, offering their knowledge of the area is a bonus. The cottage itself has all you need and more. It has a relaxing atmosphere, a lovely, quiet location, in which you can go for walks and see local sights. It is very easy to get anywhere on Lewis and Harris from Carloway also. The local shore is stunning as is anywhere you travel in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Carloway and ending our days in this cozy, comfortable cottage.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage location offered us easy access to many areas of the island. Including a wonderful take away restaurant 40 North, which kept us fed very well.
Liked least: Have nothing negative to say.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.