We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cottage with History on the doorstep”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Roag's End Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jayne B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cottage with History on the doorstep”
Reviewed 18 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Light and bright well appointed cottage with everything you need for a comfortable stay- a nice touch in providing eye masks for those wanting a lie in! Ideally located for the historical sites of Calanais and the blackhouses at Na Gearrannan and Arnol.
We were primarily there for the bird watching and the help and advice on the best spots provided by the owner was really helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
Thank you for the lovely comments. Not sure what more we could do to get five stars if you had everything you wanted, in an ideal location and kindly acknowledge that we went the extra mile to make your holiday special.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenAbdn
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in great location”
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely week in this cottage. It was our first time visiting Lewis and we definitely picked the best location for exploring the particularly beautiful west coast of the island. The cottage itself was tastefully renovated and very comfortable, with the helpful owners resident on the island.
The Blue Pig gallery is nearby and well worth a visit (one of Jane's lovely prints is now on our wall!), also the Morven Gallery which serves delicious cakes. Talking of cakes...Uig Community centre also serves fabulous cakes, go here after a trip to the adjoining museum which is really interesting.
The beaches are fabulous. Whilst we made the trip to Luskentyre beach on Harris because we felt we couldn't visit the island without seeing it, we actually preferred the smaller, beautiful beaches on the west coast of Lewis - Dal Mhor (not too far from Roag's End) & Bosta were favourites.
All in all a great holiday, made especially so by choosing Roag's End Cottage as our base.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jimmcwhin...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great stay at Roag's End Cottage”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our second visit. Location is great 5 mins from Dalmore beach. Cottage is just great, beautifully renovated. Mark and Lindsay are extremely helpful and we had great week again. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odyssey53...
1 review
“ideal location, perfect base for visiting all the places of interest.”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

the cottage has been sympathetically restored to a very high standard and the owners have provided everything you could possibly need for your stay.
The information folder in the cottage provides details and directions to all local places of interest, there are three beautiful beaches within a 5 to 10 minutes drive .
Unobtrusive hosts but contactable if needed,Mark was friendly and knew the islands so well that we saw far more of Lewis and Harris that we would have if we had only relied on guide books

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john M
1 review
“Roags End”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Good warm accommodation. A good point to discover the Northwest coast of Lewis. Enjoyed discovering the Blue Pig and spent a lovely afternoon drinking tea and eating rock cakes discussing art. The prehistoric Broch 2 miles down the road at Dun Carloway is a must see.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in July 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing