We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our FAVORITE place in all of Scotland!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Galson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Galson Farm Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 South Galson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had booked Galson Farm for 2 nights based on their excellent reviews. We were not disappointed! The entire property is lovely; the house and rooms spotlessly clean, and fresh smelling, the furnishings unique and charming, beds most comfortable. Our rooms were well appointed and even included a welcoming tea tray and treats. Hazel and David could not have been better hosts. They were never intrusive, and always helpful with suggestions of things to see and do. David patiently entertained us on our last night answering all of our questions regarding the history of the house, the region, explained what peat is, and made us feel most welcome. We enjoyed the animals, walking down to the sea, and the meals were fantastic! Breakfasts were generous and cooked to our requests; our evening meal was the most delicious lamb, grown right on the farm. We watched David bring in freshly dug potatoes and really enjoyed all of our dining there. We were a 3 generation family of 6 and could not recommend a place more highly. Huge thanks to David and Hazel for making us feel so welcome in such a beautiful location.

Room Tip: ALL of the rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

We booked two nights at the guest house for our family trip to Scotland. When we arrived, we were immediately put off by the unfortunate smell of the guest house and lack of cleanliness. Our beds were comfortable enough, but the owners were not especially friendly, especially the wife of the husband and wife team that run the bed and breakfast. Breakfast in the morning was okay, but nothing great.

We ended up having to cancel our second night at the last minute because of a necessary change in travel plans and were not treated well by the owners. Although we did not ask for or expect a refund, they claimed to have refunded us (we aren't sure if they did or not yet) and they quite rudely asked us to leave as soon as possible. Overall, we were very unimpressed!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balancethescales, Owner at Galson Farm Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Sadly this review is poor reflection on those who wrote it, and fairplay was sadly lacking in their words and actions.As for imaginary smells,or uncleanliness,this was well out of order,llook at previous reviews.Doubts were cast as to whether they received a full refund which are groundless,because they were charged for exactly a one night stay,and their deposit was set against this.Our charges are set out clearly on our website,two rooms at £86 for a single night stay,and a deposit of £96 plus final payment of £76 equals exactly that,and fully verifiable before rushing to cast slurs in print
Arriving back at 4-30 pm they announced they would not be staying the second night since they had not booked a return ferry crossing and would queue for the overnight freight ferry,they would pack and could they pay the bill straightaway and leave.They were clearly told that they had not been charged for the second night or any part of.
Having packed bags into the car,they proceeded to occupy the rooms,take showers,make drinks,use the internet,presumably to wait until 9m that evening ,when they would go to the ferry.At 7pm,they were asked to vacate the rooms they had not paid for,to enable them to be cleaned and remade in the hope they could be re-let that evening,at which point daughter threw a tantrum and stormed out,presumably this response is her doing,and hence the reference to Hazel being unwelcoming.At no time did they indicate that they wished to pay and stay in the rooms.
We attempted to be as fair as possible,and felt we had gone a long way to understanding their situation.They were welcome to use our guest lounges to wait for the ferry,but they preferred instead to stay in "the unclean and smelly " rooms.We welcome constructive criticism,and like most in our position,try to go the extra mile,but nasty diatribe so lacking in foundation or fact ill becomes the author.As always we are saddened to hear of a guest not enjoying their time spent with us,despite our best intentions both parties are unhappy with this situation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

What a charming place to stay with its diverse collection of pictures, ornaments and animals. The room we occupied had a king-size bed that could be mistaken for a football pitch. Our room had everything that we required including a small fridge for our use. We took both breakfast and evening meals at the farm and the food was excellent and satisfying. There are two lounges for guests to use and this is where tea / coffee is served after an evening meal. David and Hazel are great hosts. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottish_Wanderer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed at Galson Farm for one night - very nice location although we didn't have the best weather to enjoy the coastal views. Rooms are clean and comfortable with a small fridge if needed. We ate at the farm in the evening and the meal was tasty with fresh produce picked within the last hour or so. Breakfast was very good and the owners are friendly

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 in the guest house during a cycling trip through the islands. Having stayed in 7 different B&Bs/guest houses this was by far the best value (and not the most expensive by any means). The evening meal was excellent and sharing the table with other couples made for a convivial evening. We enjoyed a pleasant stroll though the field to the beach after dinner and before breakfast. Our twin room had plenty of space and a generous sized bathroom. Most unusually for us we intend to return when we can spend longer here. Despite being incredibly busy David always seemed to have time talk to us, even made a pot of tea when we returned for our bags despite that fact he had cows to milk!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if that is important to you. But remember you may be there in a westerly gale - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeGodfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in early April. Galson Farm was our first stop on a two week trip starting in Lewis and going right down to Barra. The farm is ideally located to see the stunning scenery of North Lewis.

David and Hazel are charming hosts and incredibly hard working running the B&B, Post Office and the working farm. We arrived during the lambing season and we privileged to see the new born lambs and be introduced to their other animals. The accommodation is delightful and the breakfasts and dinners are both imaginative and plentiful.

Highly recommended, we will visit again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stayed at this friendly and welcoming hostel which is also attached to a B&B and would highly recommend it. The nearest shop is a couple of miles away so go well stocked if you are intending to self cater.

When I arrived I'd had a couple of rather wet nights in my tent and was very grateful to the owner who offered me a place to dry out my gear and stow my bike. The location is wonderful for cycling and walking and the trip to the Butt of Lewis a few miles to the north is well worth the effort whether by car or under your own steam.

I had intended to stay a couple of nights but ended up staying more as the hostel was very cosy, in a great location by the coast and also sold the most wonderful local beer.

It is worth noting that the bunk accommodation is mixed but the bathroom facilities although shared are excellent and the kitchen is well equipped.

All in all I had a very enjoyable stay at Garenin and met some really friendly fellow travellers there from all over Europe.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balancethescales, Owner at Galson Farm Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you for your kind words.Somewhat confusingly you have have the correct location but under the name of a different establishment some twenty miles distant.You are forgiven,since both are unique and share the same sense of Hebridean heritage and hospitality.The fact you stayed longer than planned shows you enjoyed your stay,which is very pleasing to hear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Galson Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galson Farm Guest House

Address: South Galson HS2 0SH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > South Galson
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Galson
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional character Hebridean Farmhouse set within the crofting community of South Galson on the West coast of the Isle of Lewis. Views towards the Atlantic Ocean & rugged coastline to the lighthouse at the Butt of Lewis. 4 individual bedrooms with en-suite. Relax in our T.V lounge or the peaceful reading room & watch the ocean. Wake up to enjoy our freshly cooked breakfast. Perfect location for wildlife,walks, weather watching and exploring the island. 30 mins from Stornoway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Galson Farm Guest House South Galson, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing