We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Lewis Gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Galson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Galson Farm Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 South Galson B&B and Inns
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“West Lewis Gem”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed at Galson Farm for 4 nights and have to rate this as the best place to stay if you are exploring the west coast of Lewis. David and Hazel are wonderful hosts and the cooked breakfasts are a sight to behold. The house is nicely appointed and close to the shore, where you can go for a stunning walk. No doubt I'll be staying there again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank broadsea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    12
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Thanks so much to David and Hazel for an all too short stay at Galson Farm. We will forever remember our early morning shore walk, full of ocean bird life, long views, the belted Galloways, coffee in the sitting rooms. Breakfast and dinner were superb with home grown lettuce and meat. And fresh laundry to get us through our travels was greatly appreciated.
Susan and Hanspeter Weber

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank hpweber50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cimarron, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had booked Galson Farm for 2 nights based on their excellent reviews. We were not disappointed! The entire property is lovely; the house and rooms spotlessly clean, and fresh smelling, the furnishings unique and charming, beds most comfortable. Our rooms were well appointed and even included a welcoming tea tray and treats. Hazel and David could not have been better hosts. They were never intrusive, and always helpful with suggestions of things to see and do. David patiently entertained us on our last night answering all of our questions regarding the history of the house, the region, explained what peat is, and made us feel most welcome. We enjoyed the animals, walking down to the sea, and the meals were fantastic! Breakfasts were generous and cooked to our requests; our evening meal was the most delicious lamb, grown right on the farm. We watched David bring in freshly dug potatoes and really enjoyed all of our dining there. We were a 3 generation family of 6 and could not recommend a place more highly. Huge thanks to David and Hazel for making us feel so welcome in such a beautiful location.

Room Tip: ALL of the rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We booked two nights at the guest house for our family trip to Scotland. When we arrived, we were immediately put off by the unfortunate smell of the guest house and lack of cleanliness. Our beds were comfortable enough, but the owners were not especially friendly, especially the wife of the husband and wife team that run the bed and breakfast. Breakfast in the morning was okay, but nothing great.

We ended up having to cancel our second night at the last minute because of a necessary change in travel plans and were not treated well by the owners. Although we did not ask for or expect a refund, they claimed to have refunded us (we aren't sure if they did or not yet) and they quite rudely asked us to leave as soon as possible. Overall, we were very unimpressed!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balancethescales, Owner at Galson Farm Guest House, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Sadly this review is poor reflection on those who wrote it, and fairplay was sadly lacking in their words and actions.As for imaginary smells,or uncleanliness,this was well out of order,llook at previous reviews.Doubts were cast as to whether they received a full refund which are groundless,because they were charged for exactly a one night stay,and their deposit was set against this.Our charges are set out clearly on our website,two rooms at £86 for a single night stay,and a deposit of £96 plus final payment of £76 equals exactly that,and fully verifiable before rushing to cast slurs in print
Arriving back at 4-30 pm they announced they would not be staying the second night since they had not booked a return ferry crossing and would queue for the overnight freight ferry,they would pack and could they pay the bill straightaway and leave.They were clearly told that they had not been charged for the second night or any part of.
Having packed bags into the car,they proceeded to occupy the rooms,take showers,make drinks,use the internet,presumably to wait until 9m that evening ,when they would go to the ferry.At 7pm,they were asked to vacate the rooms they had not paid for,to enable them to be cleaned and remade in the hope they could be re-let that evening,at which point daughter threw a tantrum and stormed out,presumably this response is her doing,and hence the reference to Hazel being unwelcoming.At no time did they indicate that they wished to pay and stay in the rooms.
We attempted to be as fair as possible,and felt we had gone a long way to understanding their situation.They were welcome to use our guest lounges to wait for the ferry,but they preferred instead to stay in "the unclean and smelly " rooms.We welcome constructive criticism,and like most in our position,try to go the extra mile,but nasty diatribe so lacking in foundation or fact ill becomes the author.As always we are saddened to hear of a guest not enjoying their time spent with us,despite our best intentions both parties are unhappy with this situation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

What a charming place to stay with its diverse collection of pictures, ornaments and animals. The room we occupied had a king-size bed that could be mistaken for a football pitch. Our room had everything that we required including a small fridge for our use. We took both breakfast and evening meals at the farm and the food was excellent and satisfying. There are two lounges for guests to use and this is where tea / coffee is served after an evening meal. David and Hazel are great hosts. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottish_Wanderer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed at Galson Farm for one night - very nice location although we didn't have the best weather to enjoy the coastal views. Rooms are clean and comfortable with a small fridge if needed. We ate at the farm in the evening and the meal was tasty with fresh produce picked within the last hour or so. Breakfast was very good and the owners are friendly

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 in the guest house during a cycling trip through the islands. Having stayed in 7 different B&Bs/guest houses this was by far the best value (and not the most expensive by any means). The evening meal was excellent and sharing the table with other couples made for a convivial evening. We enjoyed a pleasant stroll though the field to the beach after dinner and before breakfast. Our twin room had plenty of space and a generous sized bathroom. Most unusually for us we intend to return when we can spend longer here. Despite being incredibly busy David always seemed to have time talk to us, even made a pot of tea when we returned for our bags despite that fact he had cows to milk!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if that is important to you. But remember you may be there in a westerly gale - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeGodfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Galson
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Borve Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Broad Bay House
Broad Bay House
#4 of 58 in Isle of Lewis
275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Uig Lodge
Uig Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timsgarry
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jannel Bed and Breakfast
Jannel Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 24 in Stornoway
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galson Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galson Farm Guest House

Property: Galson Farm Guest House
Address: South Galson HS2 0SH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > South Galson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Galson
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Galson Farm Guest House South Galson, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing