We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's very good!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Galson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Galson Farm Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 South Galson B&B and Inns
Bucks
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It's very good!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for one night at Galson Farm, in a twin room, which had a good bathroom and an electric shower.

The property has 2 good guest lounges and the whole is well presented.

There are no convenient restaurants locally so we dined at the farm - excellent meal with home reared lamb (superb). The farm has a licence and has a good, reasonably priced selection of wines and beers.

Breakfast is ordered the night before and mine was excellent!!!!!!!

The farm also serves as the local Post Office.

Enjoyed our stay, would stay again if in the area.

We stayed on a Sunday, it is worth remembering that the island 'shuts up shop' and goes to Church, we had to backtrack to Stornoway to find a petrol station open.

Well worth visiting the sandy beach at Port Ness and the But of Lewis a short drive from Galson farm.

MJG123

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    10
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We only had time to stay one night but I would love to have stayed a week. The house is gorgeous, the room was lovely, the three course dinner and then breakfast the next morning was absolutely delicious. David and Hazel are lovely hosts, even welcoming us with cups of tea and coffee and David's homemade fruit slice. The walk down to the sea gives breathtaking views and a chance to visit Stanley the donkey and his mate Bru. If we ever make it to Lewis again, we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay at Galson Farm House, a welcome bit of luxury after cycling and hosteling our way around the islands. David and Hazel made us feel right at home and Hazel cooked us a lovely candle-lit three course dinner! David's homemade apple tart was amazing. After dinner we did the short walk to the beach and made a fuss of the donkey and horse. Worlds away from our life in London but so peaceful. The place is very homely, with a lovely lounge overlooking the sea. Thank you so much for a lovely evening and a yummy brekkie to set us on our way!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryonywalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
258 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed at Galson Farm in Lewis recently, after a break of some 14 years! In general, the place had changed very little, although the bedroom we were in - with a king size bed - had changed around a bit, with the bed facing in a different direction and somehow much more space than we remembered. Hazel and David made us most welcome! We met Hazel grooming her donkey Stanley down the road towards the sea, whilst further down the road, we met David feeding the cows!
The room was absolutely great, plenty of room, a couple of armchairs and a coffee table! Great big bath towels, loads of hot water when you needed it and a very comfortable king-sized bed.
Dinner was first class, with salmon and vegetables, followed by rhubarb crumble and custard - brilliant! All well cooked by Hazel and served by David - and very good it was too!
Breakfast was equally good and really set us up for the day, with excellent porridge, some scrambled egg, bacon and tomato and lots of toast - although there was lots more to choose from.
A little bit of novelty value, apart from all the animals, was the Galson post office in the front porch. It has been there since the previous owners in about 2000 and much be one of the smallest post offices we have ever come across, which David presides over, 'just like the real thing'!!!
It was all really good and we thoroughly enjoyed our return to Galson after such a long time. We will certainly be back again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Make sure you book in plenty of time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tankerman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed at Galson Farm for 4 nights and have to rate this as the best place to stay if you are exploring the west coast of Lewis. David and Hazel are wonderful hosts and the cooked breakfasts are a sight to behold. The house is nicely appointed and close to the shore, where you can go for a stunning walk. No doubt I'll be staying there again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank broadsea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Thanks so much to David and Hazel for an all too short stay at Galson Farm. We will forever remember our early morning shore walk, full of ocean bird life, long views, the belted Galloways, coffee in the sitting rooms. Breakfast and dinner were superb with home grown lettuce and meat. And fresh laundry to get us through our travels was greatly appreciated.
Susan and Hanspeter Weber

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank hpweber50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cimarron, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had booked Galson Farm for 2 nights based on their excellent reviews. We were not disappointed! The entire property is lovely; the house and rooms spotlessly clean, and fresh smelling, the furnishings unique and charming, beds most comfortable. Our rooms were well appointed and even included a welcoming tea tray and treats. Hazel and David could not have been better hosts. They were never intrusive, and always helpful with suggestions of things to see and do. David patiently entertained us on our last night answering all of our questions regarding the history of the house, the region, explained what peat is, and made us feel most welcome. We enjoyed the animals, walking down to the sea, and the meals were fantastic! Breakfasts were generous and cooked to our requests; our evening meal was the most delicious lamb, grown right on the farm. We watched David bring in freshly dug potatoes and really enjoyed all of our dining there. We were a 3 generation family of 6 and could not recommend a place more highly. Huge thanks to David and Hazel for making us feel so welcome in such a beautiful location.

Room Tip: ALL of the rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Galson
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Uig Lodge
Uig Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timsgarry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Broad Bay House
Broad Bay House
#4 of 57 in Isle of Lewis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jannel Bed and Breakfast
Jannel Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 24 in Stornoway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cuanna House
Cuanna House
#8 of 24 in Stornoway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solas Guest House
Solas Guest House
#4 of 24 in Stornoway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galson Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galson Farm Guest House

Property: Galson Farm Guest House
Address: South Galson HS2 0SH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > South Galson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Galson
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Galson Farm Guest House South Galson, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing