We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't be better”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old croft house from our house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Old croft house from our house
Ground floor king-size bedroom
Bedroom 3. Twin bedded room.
Bedroom 2. Twin room on upper floor with washand basin.
Bedroom 1 Upper floor with king size bed and wash basin
Bedroom 1 upper floor with king size bed and wash basin
Some of our Scottish Blackface sheep with the dog. We live on a working croft.
Aerial view of the village of  Back with Back and  Gress beaches.
This is crofting now
Short back and sides
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RugbyScot...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Don't be misled by the name "Old" Croft House. This is a beautifully constructed new property with all modern facilities and situated in a lovely quiet spot. Jan and Callum live close by and made us very welcome. It's a great place for a large family or a group of friends, with large bedrooms and an additional sitting room upstairs. Back is in an ideal situation just a few miles from Stornoway with wonderful beaches close by at Tolsta.

We had a great time and hope to go back to Back!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet.
Liked least: Going home.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Thank you for visiting the Old Croft House and for the great review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Back in the near future. There are lots more parts of the Island waiting to be explored by you.
Kindest regards, Jan and Callum
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmdScotla...
scotland
1 review
“Great accommodation”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just returned from another fabulous break at the old croft house. A friendly welcome by the owners, who have provided a fabulous base to explore the island. Their knowledge of the area and hints for places to visit was very useful. House has everything you could ask for, including well equipped modern kitchen, comfortable beds and cosy lounge with real coal fire. Lovely touch of fresh flowers. Will definitely be returning.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for the great review. It was a pleasure to have you and your lovely family staying at Old Croft House and we look forward to weloming you back in the future. Don't leave it too long to book, as travellers are already looking at holidays for 2017. Kindest Regards. Jan and Callum
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavcamp
stranraer
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Old Croft House with my 2 children and my parents. House was in great location, clean, spacious for 6 of us, well equipped, comfortable, homely feel, kitchen was well stocked with local produce. Greated with a Warm welcome from Jan & Callum. We will defiantly be back. Highly recommend anyone looking to stay on the island to book here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Thanks very much, Elaine. it was a pleasure having you and your family and we are so glad you all enjoyed our beautiful Island.
Kindest Regards, Jan and Callum
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing