We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of Hebridean Hospitality at its very very best!”
Review of Seaside Villa B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stornoway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaside Villa B&B
Ranked #13 of 24 Stornoway B&B and Inns
Scottish Borders
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“A haven of Hebridean Hospitality at its very very best!”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This was a return trip to stay with Margaret and Bill Fraser at Seaside Villa. I am a registered tour guide and tour agent and travel throughout Scotland so I know quality accommodation when I find it. On my last visit Margaret taught me some more gaelic so I managed to order my fantastic breakfast in gaelic. Don't worry they speak English too!
The house is extremely comfortable, super showers, comfy beds and breakfast is filling and you can try local produce. There are local craft products if you wish to buy something to take home at extremely reasonable prices, hand knitted sweaters, harris tweed bags and brooches and some delightful small watercolours.The view from the breakfast room is over to the water and you can access the beach for a walk. Although there are televisions in the bedrooms there is also a welcoming lounge with big leather sofas and a larger television and if you want to meet the locals, Margaret and Bill are great company, full of local information and stories. It is much better to stay here than some impersonal hotel. I can't wait until my next visit. Enjoy! You will return again and again.

Room Tip: book early to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackfaceewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    15
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
40
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We were greated like we were long lost friends and treated to a very good breakfast after a nice quiet stay. The hosts were very helpful with the local attractions

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLScott57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We had an awful stay at Seaside Villa and shall never return. The owner/manageress was verging on rude our whole stay and was totally unapproachable. The room was such a let down, never 4 star standard - it was cramped and had an excuse for an en-suite. Standards of cleanliness should always be high or at least acceptable - pubic hairs in sanitary ware and stains in the toilet along with rubbish under the bed is not acceptable! Our room lacked sound proofing and every noise in the house could be heard throughout the night - leading to a bad sleep. Breakfast was a rushed affair and the cooked meats/egg were greasy - I felt sick afterwards. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hot-reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

This is the best B&B I've ever stayed in. The rooms are pleasant, well decorated and very homely. The food is great with a vast choice for breakfast, many cereals, including possidge, several different fruits, juice,and almost anything you want as a cooked breakfast. It really is a just ask and everything is there. It feels like being at home with no work to do.

Room Tip: So friendly and welcoming
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readingpoppiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2011

If only I had seen this one on the first trip to the Hebrides, a wonderful place to stay, Margaret and Bill were excellent hosts. The location suited the purpose perfectly, with the
added bonus of being pet freindly too!
Beautiful and clean accomodation with delicious breakfasts every morning,and lovely views from the breakfast room.
A perfect place to stay wether on bussiness or leisure.
Thank you so much Margaret and Bill. xx

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutdip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Quaint little villa with only two rooms. Lots of knick-knacks everyone made us feel we really were in someone's home as an honoured quest. Margaret was the ideal host who provided plenty of breakfast and lots of local insights. Room was clean and tidy. If we'd had more time we would have loved to stay here longer.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lanarkshire
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Stayed here a few years ago and couldn't wait to book up again for a return visit. Margaret Fraser is the best host you could hope for and can't do enough for you. The rooms are clean and comfortable and whilst the guest house is not in Stornoway itself it's not far away in the car. It is very reasonably priced and I really wouldn't want to stay anywhere else when visiting Lewis: Gle mhath!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weechooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stornoway hotels
0.0 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#5 of 24 in Stornoway
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cuanna House
Cuanna House
#8 of 24 in Stornoway
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Villa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Villa B&B

Property: Seaside Villa B&B
Address: | Back, Stornoway HS2 0LQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stornoway
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Seaside Villa B&B Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing