We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely, comfortable island accommodation”
Review of Seaside Villa B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stornoway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaside Villa B&B
Ranked #13 of 24 Stornoway B&B and Inns
Scottish Borders
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Homely, comfortable island accommodation”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stay at Seaside Villa regulary as I am always assured a warm welcome from Margaret and Bill;a very comfortable bed and delicious breakfast to keep you going. My latest visit was no exception.If you want to embrace the culture and people of Lewis a stay at Seaside Villa is a must. You can hear gaelic being spoken, and try speaking it yourself with Margaret's help, and also buy locally made crafts like Harris Tweed bags and warm woolly hand knitted sweaters and pretty scarfs which make excellent gifts if not for yourself. The Frasers are excellent hosts as they welcome you into their home, and it is like staying with your favourite aunt and uncle.
There is a lovely beach just over the road for a stroll and you are only a few minutes drive from Stornoway.Seaside Villa is Island Hospitality at its very best. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackfaceewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    15
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
40
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Hills, CA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We found Seaside Villa B&B after our friends stayed there last year and what a find! Margaret and Bill immediately made us feel more like family than guests. Our room was tidy and sparkling clean and we appreciated the cake & biscuits Margaret left in our room for afternoon tea. After two nights of lovely dinners out and a long day of hiking we opted for a night in with a light picnic meal. Margaret welcomed us to eat in the lovely breakfast room and chilled our bottle of wine so it was ready when we were. The locally crafted goods Margaret had for sale were beautiful and with friends expecting a new baby at home I couldn't resist buying a beautiful 'matinee jacket' that was knitted by Margaret and Bill's daughter next door. The warmth and hospitality extended made those three days some of the most memorable of our trip. Thanks so much, we look forward to seeing you on our next trip to Scotland!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat&Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Margaret Fraser is your host at this B&B about 15 mins or so out of Stornoway. She made us very welcome and made it clear we could come and go as we pleased. A welcome aspect often conspicuous by it's absence! We had a twin room as ordered, with a Velux window looking out to sea. All facilities were there, tea and coffee making biccies etc, with the only other room being our own lovely bathroom straight across the landing. Breakfast was fine, with the Stornoway black pudding consumed with glee (my partner had a much less substantial start than me, but will probably live longer because of it!)
We were here for 2 nights following the Music festival and enjoyed exploring the Island for the extra 2 days to enable us to synchronise ferry, flights etc for our return. As we needed to be off very early we were provided with a packed lunch as we would miss our breakfast.
So thank you Margaret, you provide a grand service!

Room Tip: request twin room or family room as needed, this is a home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Margaret our host couldn't do enough to make our visit truly memorable,from wonderful breakfast to baking a cake for us,together with a wonderful sense of humour,we cannot recommend her homely establishment more highly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

It is always a treat to stay at Seaside Villa. Margaret and Bill are a very welcoming hebridean couple and their home is warm and very comfortable. Breakfast is fantastic and will really set you up for the day with local produce like Stornoway blackpudding.There is a lovely beach just at the other side of the road which is great for a walk to explore and find interesting shells and stones.Margaret also has a selection of locally crafted items like sweaters, scarves and tweed bags at reasonable prices which make great gifts.What more could you ask for! A great place to stay to explore Lewis!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackfaceewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We recently stayed at Seaside Villa on our tour of the Scottish islands and highlands and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We totally agree with all the positive comments that have been written. Thank you to Margaret and Bill for such a lovely few days.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVSSouthCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

A very welcoming and friendly B&B...our room was a bit on the small side but comfortable...our friends had the upstairs room which was very spacious but only velux windows so no view of the lovely beach opposite the house...Excellent breakfast with good choice and nothing was a problem for Margaret and her husband Bill...Gave us all the information we wanted on the area and even supplied us with good Restaurants in Stornoway itself...A bit out of Stornoway but not too far and you wouldn't want to be right in Stornoway anyway...would certainly return.

Room Tip: If you want space go for the upstairs room unless you want the view go for the front room which is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janrobone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stornoway hotels
0.0 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#4 of 24 in Stornoway
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cuanna House
Cuanna House
#8 of 24 in Stornoway
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Villa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Villa B&B

Property: Seaside Villa B&B
Address: | Back, Stornoway HS2 0LQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stornoway
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Seaside Villa B&B Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing