We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in the Hebrides and breathtaking service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of An Lanntair

An Lanntair
Ranked #7 of 40 Restaurants in Stornoway
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An Lanntair is open from 10am Monday to Saturday for Breakfast, lunch, dinners, snacks and drinks. We have daily menu celebrating local food such as fresh seafood and black pudding. We also have vegetarian and gluten free options. Through the day AN Lanntair is perfect for families and friends to meet in a warm and welcoming atmosphere with a beautiful view over Stornoway Harbour. In the evening you can enjoy our cocktail menu and evening meals before or after a live show or cinema screening.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best place in the Hebrides and breathtaking service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Me and my boyfriend came to Stornoway for a couple of days. We were astonished by the peerless quality of this restaurant...so that we even came back a second time!
The food was excellent and the choice of dishes a la carte was rather unique and impressively surprising. The location is exclusive, with a wonderful view on the laguna and all the romance of the ferries leaving from the port.
But, above all, a mention must be made about the staff: the waitress who we had the lucky chance to meet was the best we could desire in a cold April night. Kind, well-mannered, careful, welcoming, sympathetic and charming (we won't forget her flowery ornaments), Alana made up the exquisite atmosphere that we are still keeping in our memories as a warm tresure.
What a pleasure was also to take contact with Bosun, the manager of this unrivalled sea-side venue!
Thank you An Lanntair!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiegoZuppinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    109
    32
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Love it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We probably visit Lanntair at least once a week, sometimes more, when we are at our Island home and just love it . There've been a few reshuffles in the last month or so and when ever that happens it takes a while for things to settle down, but they have. The food is good, it doesn't pretend to be cordon bleu so if that's what you're looking for you may be disappointed but the food they serve is imaginative and delicious and the price is good. The view over the bay is tremendous and the staff are friendly and helpful, particularly Suzie and Debbie. We're back in Wales at the moment but look forward to returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LucindaLucile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Pleasant setting, good meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

An Lanntair's restaurant has a fine view over Stornoway harbour. The food was good though not exceptional and portions quite generous. Service was maybe a wee bit slow given that it was not a particularly busy evening. Not as good as other Stornoway restaurants we ate in but a perfectly good choice. Be warned though that they stop serving prompt at 8.30 p.m so be sure to get there before then if you don't want to be turned away hungry.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mwfr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Great menu for both lunch and dinner. There is also a great wee bar with a shortened menu also selling teas, coffee, cakes & scones. Very helpful & friendly staff. Nice surroundings. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place - now even better with more vegetarian options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

In my previous review I said how much I like An Lanntair as a place, and that the standard of the food was definitely high, but complained about the lack of choice for vegetarians - there was only one main dish on the menu which made it hard if you were a vegetarian couple and didn't want to order two of the same dish.

Since I've been here a good while now, I thought it was time to revisit the review. I've got to know quite a few of the staff since then, and spent many hours in An Lanntair, and my opinion of the place in general has only got better. It's a great venue all round, nice and relaxed and a good place to spend an evening, whether you're eating a meal, watching a show, or just having a drink with friends.

Perhaps more relevantly for me, I've also had a chat with the chef, and am pleased to report that there are now more veggie choices on the menu. Not that I can claim sole (or any!) credit for this, but he had noticed my review and so it's great to know that constructive feedback can sometimes influence things :)

I would still make a plea for more options for veggies (particular the bar snacks and sandwiches), but they are travelling in the right direction. I know that we're not a very common species in the Hebrides, but we do exist, and meat-eaters are allowed to eat our food too, so it's an extra choice for everyone...

I should close by saying that my carnivorous friends have good things to say too, so I'd thoroughly recommend An Lanntair all round.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StornowayR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed An Lanntair also viewed

Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 

Been to An Lanntair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing