We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch in Stornoway (Soup and a Sandwich)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of An Lanntair

An Lanntair
Ranked #6 of 40 Restaurants in Stornoway
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An Lanntair is open from 10am Monday to Saturday for Breakfast, lunch, dinners, snacks and drinks. We have daily menu celebrating local food such as fresh seafood and black pudding. We also have vegetarian and gluten free options. Through the day AN Lanntair is perfect for families and friends to meet in a warm and welcoming atmosphere with a beautiful view over Stornoway Harbour. In the evening you can enjoy our cocktail menu and evening meals before or after a live show or cinema screening.
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lunch in Stornoway (Soup and a Sandwich)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Yes another restaurant that needs more staff during the summer period, waited 40 minutes on the food and 20 to be served.

Be aware of the potato and leek soup, it contains no or minute traces of leek, and is classified as vegetarian but made with a lamb stock.

Also be aware if you order the soup and sandwich from above there is no side salad.

Sandwich was ok, but requires the salad.

Staff over run and require help when it is busy during peak times and the holiday period.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fawkirk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    108
    32
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best place in the Hebrides and breathtaking service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Me and my boyfriend came to Stornoway for a couple of days. We were astonished by the peerless quality of this restaurant...so that we even came back a second time!
The food was excellent and the choice of dishes a la carte was rather unique and impressively surprising. The location is exclusive, with a wonderful view on the laguna and all the romance of the ferries leaving from the port.
But, above all, a mention must be made about the staff: the waitress who we had the lucky chance to meet was the best we could desire in a cold April night. Kind, well-mannered, careful, welcoming, sympathetic and charming (we won't forget her flowery ornaments), Alana made up the exquisite atmosphere that we are still keeping in our memories as a warm tresure.
What a pleasure was also to take contact with Bosun, the manager of this unrivalled sea-side venue!
Thank you An Lanntair!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DiegoZuppinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Love it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We probably visit Lanntair at least once a week, sometimes more, when we are at our Island home and just love it . There've been a few reshuffles in the last month or so and when ever that happens it takes a while for things to settle down, but they have. The food is good, it doesn't pretend to be cordon bleu so if that's what you're looking for you may be disappointed but the food they serve is imaginative and delicious and the price is good. The view over the bay is tremendous and the staff are friendly and helpful, particularly Suzie and Debbie. We're back in Wales at the moment but look forward to returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LucindaLucile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Pleasant setting, good meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

An Lanntair's restaurant has a fine view over Stornoway harbour. The food was good though not exceptional and portions quite generous. Service was maybe a wee bit slow given that it was not a particularly busy evening. Not as good as other Stornoway restaurants we ate in but a perfectly good choice. Be warned though that they stop serving prompt at 8.30 p.m so be sure to get there before then if you don't want to be turned away hungry.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mwfr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Great menu for both lunch and dinner. There is also a great wee bar with a shortened menu also selling teas, coffee, cakes & scones. Very helpful & friendly staff. Nice surroundings. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed An Lanntair also viewed

Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 

Been to An Lanntair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing