We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B'n'B in Scotland!”
Review of Hal O' the Wynd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hal O' the Wynd
Ranked #6 of 24 Stornoway B&B and Inns
Prague
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best B'n'B in Scotland!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Second visit to scotland, second 14 days of travelling and bnb's, and Hal O' the Wynd is the best one I've ever stayed in. Travelled with my boyfriend and sister, got a great spacious room with really comfy beds and great furnishing. The bathroom was very stylish, beautifully designed and operated perfectly. There was enough hot water for the three of us to defrost after a very cold day. The owners are very friendly, welcoming and hospitable people, so the breakfasts were a real treat. Apart from the delicious cooked breakfast (perfectly poached eggs, yum!), variety of fresh fruit and a choice of gluten-free cereals, a little chat with the smiling owners was a great start of the day.

Thank you once again for a great time!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quakiquak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    30
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
50
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed three nights and arrived on a cold wet day and were welcomed into a warm, comfortable room, looking out over the harbour. When the weather improved the next day it was a pleasant sight with the morning sun coming in the window. It was a short walk into town for an evening meal; we found two good restaurants five minutes walk away. Tesco was handy for buying lunch time snacks. Free on road parking right outside. I was most impressed that a minor problem with the shower mentioned at breakfast was fixed by the time we returned in the afternoon. All round the owners Ali and Shona gave a very attentive and friendly service. Given a nice day in Stornoway don't miss walking round the grounds of Lews Castle for the trees and views.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed three nights. The room was comfortable and warm with views over the outer harbour. The location is perfect for the ferry terminal and the town. Ali and Shona are very good hosts, the breakfasts were perfect, all in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieb204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Many thanks to Shona and Ali who made us so welcome. Superb place to stay. We would thoroughly recommend staying here. Very easy access to Stornoway town centre and the Ferry Terminal. Excellent breakfast set us up for the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Recommended without reservation. The accommodation was lovely, warm, comfortable, great view and very convenient location. Outstanding was the warmth, friendliness and generosity of our hosts, Shona and Ali. They made us so welcome and helped us with all kinds of useful advice for our impending move to these isles. I'm sure we'll see you again. Many thanks, Lionne & John

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed here one night as we toured round from Ullapool to Lewis, Harris and Skye. Its right next to the ferry terminal so couldn't be easier to find. Comfortable room at the top with a shared bathroom which was fine for one night (you forget how much you take a bathroom for granted) There are plans to give each of these rooms their own ensuite. Lovely breakfast and morning chat with the owner

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shonaf186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shielbridge
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Very clean and tidy , stayed 10 nights, breakfast first class , Although booed en-suite , I got room with bathroom next door , excellent view of harbour, Hosts friendly , and wi fi free which was a welcome change

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nissangun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
15.0 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hal O' the Wynd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hal O' the Wynd

Property: Hal O' the Wynd
Address: 2 Newton Street, Stornoway HS1 2RE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stornoway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hal O' the Wynd 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yards from the Ferry terminal and Town CentreThe Guest House was built in 1854 and is popular for its friendly welcome and relaxed atmosphere.We are located opposite the ferry terminal directly across the road from the terminal entrance/exit on Newton Street, Stornoway.The house has three large ensuite and two large standard bedrooms. All rooms have a sea view and panoramic views of Lews Castle grounds and beyond to Arnish point. It also has a well laid out dining room. All rooms are centrally heated with individual thermostatic control; Freeview and secure free Wi-fi available in all rooms as well as tea and coffee making facilities.The town centre is just a few minutes walk, we are located very close to the bus station which boasts an excellent service to all major attractions on the island. The Western Isles tourist office is located on Cromwell Street in the centre of Stornoway, where you can find information on all the local events and festivals, tours, etc. There are local car hire firms which can be booked from the guest house and delivered to the door, we can also arrange for guided tours of the island.We have a private rear garden which you may use for a barbecue to taste our local fresh seafood, perhaps with a bottle of fine wine.Whatever you decide to do on your holiday, we will try to make it a pleasant and happy one to remember and hope you enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hal O' the Wynd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hal O' The Wynd Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing