We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
Review of Hal O' the Wynd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hal O' the Wynd
Ranked #6 of 24 Stornoway B&B and Inns
scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights - absolutely lovely. Rooms are spotless & well equipped. Ate in their wee cafe each evening - best fish & chips ever. Slept really wel. Breakfast was lovely. Owners are very friendly & welcoming. Weather was pretty awful but we were warm & cosy & well fed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    30
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
50
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hulhumale
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This guest house is very old building and very appealing from the outside as well as maintained to exewllent standard inside. The rooms are very clean and lovley white bedding with Harris tweed extras. Carpets are tartan throughout and has very nautical theme. Will return only to this place when next visit Stornoway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mOLLY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Germany, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Beautiful and warm place to stay. Very polite, helpful young waitress in cafe. We love Ali's tartan trousers so Scottish, funny man, we want trousers same when we come be back AGAIN!!! We love all foods, breakfast, lunches and dinners, all amazing. Very quick serving, no wait long.

Room Tip: All room have excellent sea views. Just amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My husband and I stayed in this b&b for two nights in april. This is one of the best b&b I have stayed in, the owner's are very freindly and welcoming. We stayed in a very large room facing the water. Its just facing the ferry port so very central. The room was very clean with large shower room, and the bed was very comfortable, so if you ever decide to visit lewis and harris which you should because the scenery is amazin, I would recommend you stay in the Hal o'Wynd you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bird67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is our second time at Hal O the Wynd. It is very handy for the ferry, and coming in at 8.30pm only a hop along the street, and easy parking. Shona and Ali are very friendly hosts and the banter is good. We liked the Harris Tweed touches in the rooms - cushions and throws. Subdued tartan carpets in coordnating tones give a very Scottish feel without being OTT. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms very clean. Breakfast was well cooked and we especially liked the black pudding. It was good to be able to get an early evening meal as the dining room is now also a daytime cafe and short menu of meals till around 7.30pm.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both first fllor, front rooms. Each can accommodate 3 people. Room 2 is above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUMA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My first ever visit to Isle of Lewis started rather disappointingly, and I was glum due to best-laid plans going awry. And agley, as Rabbie Burns wisely said.

A lucky find in Stornoway changed all that.

Shona answered the door of her guest house Hal O' The Wynd, with a big welcome smile.

Here's me stranded and in need of a room, my plaintive enquiry went.......

No booking, no phone call....just a knock on the door in the gloaming; but she kindly took me in.

Soon I was cheered up :- warm & happy in a lovely room overlooking the harbour- perfect!

Beautiful maritime - themed decor abounded: models sculpures & colours mixed well with tartan

Wearing tartan myself ( kilted ) it seemed a good omen to find more of the same inside.

Unbelievably cosy feeling pervaded all the guest house rooms.....even the bathrooms.

I slept like a babe after a hearty dinner and a guid blether with some folk in the Criterion Bar uptown, over a Navy Rum or two.

Breakfast was served up in Hal O The Wynd's cafe-dining room, which has a homely housey-feel, embellished with more gorgeous artefacts and stunning period maritime motif wallpaper. Stylish and fascinating.

I was served a SECOND breakfast as well, Al saying that all the blethering had made my first one go cold on its plate! Jings- two full brekkies in quick succession.......then Shona's signature lunch of battered Haddock Chips Mushy peas buttered bread and pots of tea at 12.30.......help ma boab. Fed like a fighting Cock.

You need to try this Hal dish- she is rightly proud of it. Tatties are hand-peeled, then cut into chips by her, fried carefully, served up filling a monster portion fish-shaped porcelain plate which is then topped by a massive haddock fillet in the sort of puffy crunchy batter that Michelin chefs aspire to. She guards her secret recipe for the batter very very seriously. No wonder. Mushy peas and tartare sauce with big bangs of flavour & veggy chunks in it- more like a pate or past with real body and bite. These sides are served in wee porcelain pots beside the fish.
Best to forgo breakfast if you expect to be having this hearty plateful midday!!

More charming antiques are dotted around the dining room; barometers, lovely old wooden-cased wall clocks with their kindly ticking & mesmeric pedulums subtly imbuing atmospheric bliss; an aural recipe for relaxed dining.

But the star display for me was the proper hand-made wooden model Fleetwood trawler on the mantlepiece, lit up by glowing fairy lights as if in an Atlantic wraith - a flurry of sea-scend foam: all wave and heave. Beautiful.

Soon the place was alive with customers keen to sample the home-made food, fish and chips, baking and proper tea, made with loose leaves in filter pots. Yum.
Unfailingly each person was greeted warmly by the owners, seated and provided with refreshment in jig-time. I spoke to every person who came in; from kids to couples to octogenarians; all enjoying their food & keen to get a wee bit chat.

Talking with Shona and Al the owners, one can feel their genuine warmth and dedication which ensures any visitor a memorable stay, even when travelling alone like myself.

It was so much fun being in there chatting to the locals, visitors and owners, that I really wanted to stay on, but a plane was waiting......so after a short ride to the airport in Shona's Dad's taxi, it was farewell Hal O The Wynd, as I waved down from the skies above.

Take some time out, go to Lewis and stay at Hal O The Wynd.......a true jewel of the Isles.

Room Tip: easy- just ask Shona; mine was perfect-overlooking harbour, quiet and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAPNGEOFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We needed a place to stay for one night in Stornoway as we had the early ferry to the mainland first thing. Hal o the wynd was perfectly situated and turned out to be a very very nice place indeed. Great room, very clean and tidy, great amenities and the host, Ali, couldn't have been more helpful. He sorted us out with a 6am breakfast which was delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stornoway
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
15.0 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hal O' the Wynd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hal O' the Wynd

Property: Hal O' the Wynd
Address: 2 Newton Street, Stornoway HS1 2RE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stornoway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hal O' the Wynd 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yards from the Ferry terminal and Town CentreThe Guest House was built in 1854 and is popular for its friendly welcome and relaxed atmosphere.We are located opposite the ferry terminal directly across the road from the terminal entrance/exit on Newton Street, Stornoway.The house has three large ensuite and two large standard bedrooms. All rooms have a sea view and panoramic views of Lews Castle grounds and beyond to Arnish point. It also has a well laid out dining room. All rooms are centrally heated with individual thermostatic control; Freeview and secure free Wi-fi available in all rooms as well as tea and coffee making facilities.The town centre is just a few minutes walk, we are located very close to the bus station which boasts an excellent service to all major attractions on the island. The Western Isles tourist office is located on Cromwell Street in the centre of Stornoway, where you can find information on all the local events and festivals, tours, etc. There are local car hire firms which can be booked from the guest house and delivered to the door, we can also arrange for guided tours of the island.We have a private rear garden which you may use for a barbecue to taste our local fresh seafood, perhaps with a bottle of fine wine.Whatever you decide to do on your holiday, we will try to make it a pleasant and happy one to remember and hope you enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hal O' the Wynd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hal O' The Wynd Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing