We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have hoped for a better hostel!”
Review of Heb Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stornoway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heb Hostel
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Clean, good facilities, nice and friendly, FREE BREAKFAST! Couldn't have hoped for a better start to our holiday! Would definitely go back. We stayed in 2 other hostels whilst visiting the Outer Hebrides and this was the best by quite a stretch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Central spot. Spacious rooms. Hot showers. Free breakfast: bread, cereal, coffee, tea etc... Very good value for money. Helpful staff. Only downside is parking but ample space nearby and crime is not really an issue here.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agincourt69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Christine and all the other staff are amazing. They keep the place very clean, are so welcoming, and full of information. It was quiet when I visited so the dorms were not completely full, which did not make balancing the bathroom difficult. However, I can see when the hostel is full and it is completely booked by a tour with everyone leaving at the sametime how it can be a bit frustrating, but this just require better coordination on the part of those staying in the dorm. It is also important that this is a hostel - not a hotel.

The women's dorm has quite the bathroom, which was very impressive. It had a seperate bath tub that was very tempting after coming back to the hostel after a long day of walking cold and wet. The whole hostel is warm and home-y, and one of my favourite hostels I've ever been to. There is a lovely coal fire in the evening. Laundry facilities and drying room out back. The kitchen is well equipped and more like one you have at home not an industrial type you find at some hostels. If the hostel is full and many are using the kitchen it may feel a bit small. Breakfast is included - toast, cereal, porridge, coffee, tea, etc. Nice location in Stornoway.

Room Tip: If you're female go for the female room - great bathroom! Male and female rooms are upstairs wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globalgal90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I love this hostel. This is the 4th time I've stayed there and it never fails to impress. Christine and her team keep this place unbelievably clean and make every effort to make you feel welcome. The female dorm is spacious and has the most amazing bathroom. Yes the kitchen may be small but that just encourages people to cook there only and then head to the common room to socialise. The people who use the hostel are always really nice which I think perpetuates the already friendly atmosphere. There is a reason why this place is always really busy, people will come back to quality. Thanks again Christine

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rovingscot27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed here as part of a group. Wasn't exactly impressed. There were 29 of us travelling around, split into 3 rooms....10 to a room is not my idea of fun (especially when I'm paying more here than in some places where it's a 4 bed room)
only 4 toilets and 3 showers exist in the entire building, so they are always in demand.
the kitchen is very small, and gets crowded very quickly. The beakfast was basic to say the least.
Free wifi was one redeaming feature, as was the tv and dvd collection
with 10 people to a room, it stants to reason that you want to leave the wondows open at night, but with the slightest breeze the windows and shutters bang like crazy
Would have had a very different experience if there hadn't been a group of us staying there

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieSunshine84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

One of the most friendliest places I have ever stayed. The lady owner Christine couldn't be more helpful and went out of our way to help us when we stayed. The place is very clean with lots of bathrooms and room to move around in. Christine will help you out what ever way she can. If you want a stress free stay then you need to stay here! Close to everything as well

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayley_chunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We were booked into the Heb Hostel and were pleasantly surprised. I have stayed in a hostel before and it was an experience I never wanted to repeat so I was dubious of how it would be.

When we had arrived Christine was friendly and very helpful. the Hostel is just 5 minutes walk from the ferry and is in the town so there are shops and bars nearby.

The rooms are cleaned everyday and they could not have done anymore to make our stay better. Stornoway is a beautiful place and Heb Hostel has everything you want at a low cost. It would be great if you are travelling yourself too as you could meet others there.

Only downside is the bars do shut early, 930-1030pm.

I would definitely recommend Heb to anyone :)

Room Tip: Go into the town and purchase Stornoway black pudding yum!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CGrant1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stornoway hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#6 of 24 in Stornoway
191 reviews
1 mi away
Woodside Guest House
Woodside Guest House
#7 of 24 in Stornoway
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heb Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heb Hostel

Address: 25 Kenneth Street, Stornoway HS1 2DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Stornoway
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heb Hostel is a family run backpackers hostel in the centre of Stornoway, heart of the Outer Hebrides. Ideally situated close to the Stornoway-Ullapool ferry and main bus-station makes it a convenient stop/stay for travellers visiting the tranquil Western Isles. We offer 4 star accommodation at reasonable prices, close to all local amenities and our facilities include: cosy common room with peat fire; fully equipped kitchen; free self-service breakfast; comfy hand crafted beds; laundry; secure cycle shed; internet access and free wifi; hot showers; free bed linen; garden and BBQ area. We look forward to welcoming you here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heb Hostel Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing