We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
95
20
5
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
20
5
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomfree breakfastthe ownerfamily roomdrying roombrilliant atmosphereinternet accesswell equipped kitchenbus stationfelt like homecentral locationouter hebridestop floorlewis and harrisdormchristinetosh
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I've been staying at the Heb every summer since 2005. Christine runs a fabulous Inn. Located in the heart of beautiful downtown Stornoway, it's close to all the Pubs and the ferry and bus terminals are at the end of the street. It is a very busy Hostel during the summer so reservations are a must, especially during the Hebridian Fest in July. She also has a standing agreement with the Haggis Tour Co. so it is always very busy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRTHEMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Clean, good facilities, nice and friendly, FREE BREAKFAST! Couldn't have hoped for a better start to our holiday! Would definitely go back. We stayed in 2 other hostels whilst visiting the Outer Hebrides and this was the best by quite a stretch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Central spot. Spacious rooms. Hot showers. Free breakfast: bread, cereal, coffee, tea etc... Very good value for money. Helpful staff. Only downside is parking but ample space nearby and crime is not really an issue here.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agincourt69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Christine and all the other staff are amazing. They keep the place very clean, are so welcoming, and full of information. It was quiet when I visited so the dorms were not completely full, which did not make balancing the bathroom difficult. However, I can see when the hostel is full and it is completely booked by a tour with everyone leaving at the sametime how it can be a bit frustrating, but this just require better coordination on the part of those staying in the dorm. It is also important that this is a hostel - not a hotel.

The women's dorm has quite the bathroom, which was very impressive. It had a seperate bath tub that was very tempting after coming back to the hostel after a long day of walking cold and wet. The whole hostel is warm and home-y, and one of my favourite hostels I've ever been to. There is a lovely coal fire in the evening. Laundry facilities and drying room out back. The kitchen is well equipped and more like one you have at home not an industrial type you find at some hostels. If the hostel is full and many are using the kitchen it may feel a bit small. Breakfast is included - toast, cereal, porridge, coffee, tea, etc. Nice location in Stornoway.

Room Tip: If you're female go for the female room - great bathroom! Male and female rooms are upstairs with the mixed dorm downstairs.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globalgal90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I love this hostel. This is the 4th time I've stayed there and it never fails to impress. Christine and her team keep this place unbelievably clean and make every effort to make you feel welcome. The female dorm is spacious and has the most amazing bathroom. Yes the kitchen may be small but that just encourages people to cook there only and then head to the common room to socialise. The people who use the hostel are always really nice which I think perpetuates the already friendly atmosphere. There is a reason why this place is always really busy, people will come back to quality. Thanks again Christine

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rovingscot27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews