We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hostel that thinks of everything...”
Review of Heb Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stornoway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heb Hostel
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had one night in Stornoway to dry out from a cycle tour of the Hebrides before we left early the next morning and Heb Hostel was the perfect place for us to stay. There was a drying room in an outbuilding which was perfect for all of our wet kit, a secure shed to put our beloved bikes in and luxurious bathrooms which were a welcome surprise. We bought dinner at Tesco which is a mere stone's throw away and enjoyed great company and board games in the cosy livingroom that evening.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuala D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights, the nicest hostel I've stayed in, en suite was fantastic and rooms exceptionally clean! What a bargain for 18 pounds a night! The location of the hostel couldn't have been more central, the perfect stornoway stop!

Room Tip: female dorm is definitely the best one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed there for 5 days in January and it was the best choice ever! I was in the female dorm and it even had an en-suite (private) bathroom with 2 basins, toilet, bathtub, shower and even hairdryer. In the morning there is breakfast included (up to a certain hour), with toasts and cereal or the Scottish porridge. All the people who run the hostel were really nice and helpful in every way. I can only recommend this hostel to everyone thinking of travelling to Lewis!

Room Tip: Female only dorm. It makes you feel like if you were in a hotel instead of a hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judit F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Thank you so very much Christine and Jean - you made my (unexpectedly early) arrival in Stornoway so very welcome and comfortable. Lovely place run by lovely people. My bed was ever so comfortable - and the en suite bathroom - well - it was amazing. Very well equipped and centrally located - you could arrive here with just the clothes on your back and comfortable see your way through a day or so... though a toothbrush is always advisable!!

Room Tip: I stayed in the ladies only dorm - wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josiehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A superb family run hostel with lots of charm and atmosphere. Well equipt with lots of space, especially the dorms. It really does feel chilled out and relaxing almost bohemian. Jodie (I think it was Jodie) was especially helpful in locating areas she thought would be good to photograph around the islands. It makes a big difference finding somewhere thats warm, comfy and clean, its all of those. The price is unbeatable too. Loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Im not normaly a hostel person but the Heb Hostel has converted me. Christine and Jodie do everything they can to make you feel like you are at home with friendly smiles and a welcoming atmosphere.The sleeping areas are ideal, the common room is cauldron of fun and laughter and it is situated in a very central location. This place is the definition of 'value for money'.

Room Tip: Dont be put off by the room across from the common room, the heavy door and thick walls make for a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottHElgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Heb Hostel is very well located, just a couple of blocks from Stornoway's ferry terminal and bus station. It's therefore also handy for the town centre, which will be really impressive if you've spent much time in the rest of the Outer Hebrides!

Christine, the owner, is very welcoming. The other staff are good, too, and keep the place nice and clean.

The Heb is in good decorative order, and breakfast is included in the price. The kitchen is fine but rather small, which can be a problem if many people want to use it at the same time. The shortage of bathrooms is legendary, but do remember that there's another one in the laundry block, across the garden. Not many people seem to know that.

Also, while you're here, you must try the Stornoway black pudding. It really is the best!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HibernophileBT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stornoway hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#5 of 24 in Stornoway
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heb Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heb Hostel

Address: 25 Kenneth Street, Stornoway HS1 2DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Stornoway
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heb Hostel is a family run backpackers hostel in the centre of Stornoway, heart of the Outer Hebrides. Ideally situated close to the Stornoway-Ullapool ferry and main bus-station makes it a convenient stop/stay for travellers visiting the tranquil Western Isles. We offer 4 star accommodation at reasonable prices, close to all local amenities and our facilities include: cosy common room with peat fire; fully equipped kitchen; free self-service breakfast; comfy hand crafted beds; laundry; secure cycle shed; internet access and free wifi; hot showers; free bed linen; garden and BBQ area. We look forward to welcoming you here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heb Hostel Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing