We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything there you need, but far off”
Review of Laxdale Bunkhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stornoway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laxdale Bunkhouse
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Laxdale is mainly a campsite together with a 16-bed-bunkhouse, and I was at the bunkhouse for two nights during the Hebridean Celtic Festival in July 2010. The bunkhouse consists of 4 bedrooms sleeping four each, one bathroom with shower and toilet, one extra toilet, one extra shower, a kitchen, a living room and a drying room. All rooms are in one building, but there is no corridor connecting everything, thus all the doors leading directly outside. But there are porch roofs, so normally you can change between the rooms without getting wet.

The kitchen is very well equipped with two fridges, two stoves, and also everything else in really sufficient quantity. If the bathrooms are not enough, you can also use the bathrooms of the campsite, where is also a washing machine and a drying machine. The bedrooms are very, very small, but in an ingenious way so arranged (with curtains and enough height also in the lower bunkbeds) that you don't really feel cramped. Leisure time you cannot really spend there, but kitchen and living room are cosy and big enough. And in the bedrooms there are lockers where a normal backpack easily fits into. But, as the bedroom door is heading directly outside, you hear the people outside chattering and especially creaking through the gravel.

The staff is nice, and the bunkhouse is very clean.

The biggest disadvantage I felt is the location. From the Stornoway harbour and bus station you walk nearly half an hour. There are busses, but they are not going too often, especially in the evening. So, if you want to spend your holidays in Stornoway, you are too far off at Laxdale. But if you want to experience the remoteness of the Outer Hebrides, you are by far too close. In Laxdale itself there is not much to see and do. And the price is with 15 Pounds too high.

So, altogether, I would prefer Hebhostel, if I wanted to stay at Stornoway, but if Hebhostel is fully booked or if I would just look for a nice place to stay and read some books or something like that, Laxdale bunkhouse is fully convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littlespecter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 55 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2009

Very laid back, welcoming but not intrusive if there are 3 or 4 of you you get a room to yourself. Its tiny but it doesn't matter . You have everything you need. Curtains alongside each Bunk bed. Good for family bonding-once in the room you can't get away from each other. Useful in todays times when a lot of families don't spend much time in close contact. Or if you have a teenager you want to keep an eye on. Nice Kitchen and Lounge.
Slept well.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank NickyBrighton_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2008

I stayed at the Laxdale bunkhouse for 3 nights and have to say the bunkhouse is excellent. There are 4 rooms each with 4 beds a fully equiped kitchen, cokers microwaves and a large TV room

Place is in great location being only a 5 minute drive from Stornoway town centre. Place is spotlessly clean

Cost was £12 per night

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smc4761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Dureentje87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antiloperibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stornoway hotels
1.1 mi away
B&B Ferndale
B&B Ferndale
#7 of 8 in Stornoway
1 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
295 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
347 reviews
1.4 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#5 of 21 in Stornoway
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laxdale Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laxdale Bunkhouse

Address: 6 Laxdale Lane, Stornoway HS2 0DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis > Stornoway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Stornoway
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Laxdale Bunkhouse Stornoway, Isle Of Lewis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing